Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.73 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
89 out of 89(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mfj197
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals, great price, and bonus from Evans!

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've been using a set of these for the last five years on my commuter bike. They've never failed me through all manner of conditions. One pedal started creaking after a couple of years but a squirt of WD40 solved that. There's absolutely no reason to spend more, and seeing these OE ones for a great price I bought a pair for my replacement bike. They are bagged rather than in boxes but still new, and as a bonus they were fitted with Shimano SM-PD22 pedal adaptors / reflectors! I think I'll keep those on over winter for the reflectors on the commute.
Great service, thanks Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lennon72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great pedals

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great pedals easy to use quality would recommend them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kappyuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is easy to fit and use straight away

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Couldn't be simpler to fit. Didn't even have to adjust the cleat settings, snap in and out easily. Robust and great price too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Retired62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great first clipless pedals

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good quality at great price. Easy to use for first ttime clipless pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DespicableGru
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Does what it says on the tin

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
buy at sale prices and there's nothing to compare it with unless the 540's have been reduced aswell.
For about £20 they perform fantastically for commuting - off road - touring or road riding (especially if you want to walk around normally when you get off!)
this is my 3rd set on my commuter, tried others like Time Atac but always end up back with these (well except for one set of 540's in the middle)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
foozie80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Very good value pedal

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent value pedal, would suggest the tension on pedal to be strong
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Pedles

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These pedles have been on my mtb and my vintage road bike and they are faultless perfect riding on and off road adjustable clipping all round great,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BMCgamalgubbe
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
These pedals just work! The best thing about them - you do not notice them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Derekhb1005
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for the price

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
For the price they are a must for either road or off road...quite light as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Szabi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy fit - good adjustment

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
My first SPD pedal. Very easy to mount and adjust. OE was in Shimano box and was new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Charliebuoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Simple design, easy to use

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is the first time i have used clipped pedals, so have no reference point to compare the types. However i am a convert, for minimal effort you get more power from your legs. Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great product

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great product, very cheap to buy and does the job perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TG73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great starter SPD pedals.

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
For a first time SPD user I was very happy with these pedals easy to adjust so you can get out in a hurry (so far no embarrassing falls) and good price so if you find there not for you they don't break the bank.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
George89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality, unbelievable price!

PostedJune 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Planned on reusing current pedals for new bike but after seeing the price of these decided to purchase. Great quality, really pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darius
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top product

PostedJune 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Well worth buying and cleats come with the product. Good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rob22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for money

PostedJune 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit (the instructions over complicate it), great pair of level entry pedals for mountain bikes. Couldn't be happier with them for the price i paid. Would recommend to anyone wanting to move into clip ons
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nev77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great value, light weight dual-sided pedals. No trouble clipping in or out. Not much else to say!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PaulB01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great value

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I've had these pedals before and very pleased with the quality. The only criticism is the weight but then at this price there has to be some compromise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nic009
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

They do what's on the tin but at half the cost!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have used clip in pedals previously but having purchased a new bike I thought I should get some more.
These are perfect, quick and easy to put on the bike and fit the cleats in my shoes perfectly. They are breaking in nicely and I haven't fallen off once!
Amazing cost for what they are and in comparison to what I have seen them in my local bike shops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rafi1712
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for spd beginners

PostedMay 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
If u wanna change from flat pedals into SPDs this is a good choice. Not expensive, easy to install and easy in use. No problem with clip in and off. Im using them on mountain bike and had no problems so far. Screws on both sides let u adjust strength of the spring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>