Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.735 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 102 reviews
5 Stars
75
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
102 out of 102(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taylorman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

i recommend this product great price.

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product for the price,got them on both bikes now and with top and bottom clip ins,makes life easier when pulling of from junctions,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wrayster

Great product at a great price!

Posted30 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these for around £15, they are OE (original equipment) and I'm not sure how they differ from the £30 versions but they seem genuine to me. Supplied with cleats, I'm using them on a road bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GWT74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bargain

Posted20 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Quality product at a good price. Nice finishing touch in white for my new cx bike.
Well done Evans
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vomil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Simple and effective.

Posted13 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Have always used flat pedals with toe clips previously. Bought a new road bike and decide to buy cleated shoes and SPD pedals. I like the minimimalist look of these although I was a little concerned they may too small to be comfortable. It turns out they are simple, effective and comfortable too, (although that may also be down to the construction of the shoes).
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
aruss14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality for the price

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Compatible with a huge selection of shoes, great price and quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boggs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

simple to use

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
bought for my cross bike and they work excellently until clogged with mud but then that is 100% expected and for any commuter getting used to cleated shoes that you can walk in they are brilliant.
love catching the OE sales :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spikey808
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product & price

Posted06 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm new to SPD pedals so didn't want to spend too much only to find I didn't like being fixed to my bike! Pedals were perfect, no problems fitting or using them (except the odd comedy moment!) so I'd 100% recommend them. Just bought a new bike, so I'll be ordering another pair very soon!
Probably a bit heavier than some other, more expensive, models but, of all places, adding a few extra grams to the pedals makes little difference to the ride.
Don't let the "OE" discount put you off. These are brand new, never fitted and came with full instructions etc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nick0103883
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value pedals.

Posted03 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The pedals are fairly easy to put on and use, and they also allow you to cycle in normal shoes if you want to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Des220
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality low price

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are an excellent value petal and very good quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
davec12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

brought for my dad

Posted31 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My dad already has these pedals on his bike, but a new bike meant new pedals. Can't fault the value and quality of these pedals. He likes that you can clip in on both sides when lots of stopping and starting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gibbymtbr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano spd pedals

Posted25 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, just a good budget pedal.
Cons: not found any yet.
Great pedals at a great price and they come with the cleats. The pedals
themselves do what they're supposed to do and do it well.Some people
have commented that the paint rubbed off, since they're mtb pedals I would expect that.So if you're on a tight budget then these will do just fine.
I also bought a pair of Shimano SM-SH56 multi directional cleats to go with them and kept the stock one as spares.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spankey89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value spd pedal.

Posted19 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Got these on sale because I didn't know if my fused ankle would work spd's! Brilliant work great tried them on my road bike and Mtb why pay more perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Viajero
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First SPD pedals

Posted29 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought two couples of these SPD pedals for my wife and myself. We loved them and I can't think about riding without them anymore! My only regret is not to have them before. Our performance is better and the pain on our knees is over. Also M520's price is great at Evans Cycles!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mfj197
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals, great price, and bonus from Evans!

Posted25 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've been using a set of these for the last five years on my commuter bike. They've never failed me through all manner of conditions. One pedal started creaking after a couple of years but a squirt of WD40 solved that. There's absolutely no reason to spend more, and seeing these OE ones for a great price I bought a pair for my replacement bike. They are bagged rather than in boxes but still new, and as a bonus they were fitted with Shimano SM-PD22 pedal adaptors / reflectors! I think I'll keep those on over winter for the reflectors on the commute.
Great service, thanks Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lennon72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great pedals

Posted21 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great pedals easy to use quality would recommend them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kappyuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is easy to fit and use straight away

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Couldn't be simpler to fit. Didn't even have to adjust the cleat settings, snap in and out easily. Robust and great price too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Retired62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great first clipless pedals

Posted31 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good quality at great price. Easy to use for first ttime clipless pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DespicableGru
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Does what it says on the tin

Posted24 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
buy at sale prices and there's nothing to compare it with unless the 540's have been reduced aswell.
For about £20 they perform fantastically for commuting - off road - touring or road riding (especially if you want to walk around normally when you get off!)
this is my 3rd set on my commuter, tried others like Time Atac but always end up back with these (well except for one set of 540's in the middle)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
foozie80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Very good value pedal

Posted11 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent value pedal, would suggest the tension on pedal to be strong
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Pedles

Posted04 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These pedles have been on my mtb and my vintage road bike and they are faultless perfect riding on and off road adjustable clipping all round great,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>