Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(164 reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 164 reviews
5 Stars
125
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
164 out of 164Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good value for money

Posted25 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
My first SPD pedals, and I don't think ill ever need to replace them. Its light weight, sturdy and well built. Very comfortable and a great first time SPD pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great product and good value

Posted25 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Took some getting used but then I am new to clip ins!
Easy to adjust the settings, small and lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted22 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
do the job at a reasonable price ! easy fit and great quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

double sided spd pedal

Posted14 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
i was having trouble with the one sided pedals they wasn't falling right.Had a chat withe Evans bike shop they recommended the shimano m520 (OE)
far better more solid transfer between shoe and pedal also got my self a pair of new cycling shoes muddy fox
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

No frills, just function.

Posted13 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
For the price - could be purchased as a great entry level pedal for those trying clip less for the first time.
If you want something lightweight - spend a little more money.
I've been putting these to use on my road bike for years now (this is my second pair). The only reason I have a second pair is because i own two bikes. They feel solid and as though they will easily outlive the bike.
I have yet to purchase full road bike pedals and cleats as I do a lot of walking around in my bike shoes for work and I pair the cleats for these pedals with lightweight mountain bike shoes.
This way i can walk as normal and do not wear out the cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect and inexpensive for my daily commuter

Posted10 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought to add to my Road bike, to make the daily commute in MTB shoes, for £17 why pay more.. Unless you are serious about saving weight for racing, these are perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Easy to use, great price

Posted08 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Bought these to replace the standard flat pedals which were useless in the wet - feet kept slipping off.
Have used SPD-SL in the past but wanted to walk around a bit so road shoes (and therefore pedals) were out !
Easy to fit (thanks to Youtube) and although not light are sturdy and stable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value and functional

Posted03 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Replacement for similar worn out after market part.
Speedy service and great value functional product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Shimano M520 SPD pedals

Posted01 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
I use these pedals on all my bikes; road, folder, tandem & mountain and have never had a problem with them. It means I can use whichever shoe/bike combination I like without changing anything. The pedals come at a good price point yet they are good quality and rugged. I am not shy of giving them a good work out either and none have broken or worn badly since 2006 when I first started using this mode type, and I put quite a few miles on my bikes. For the weight conscious they are not particularly heavy either. OK, for pure road work I am sure the SPD SLs do a better job and are more in keeping with the peloton but are typically more expensive and not for the type of ride I do anyway. If you are considering your first foray into clip-ins give them a try!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

Posted25 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pedals are brilliant. Very easy to clip in and out , no problems what so ever. Very happy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great Pedals especially being double sided

Posted24 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have just bought these for my second bike after having had them on another bike for a few weeks.
They are great, being double sided gives you twice the chance of cleating in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Norwich

Bargain!

Posted24 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great item, good price.."..such a shame I've since chipped them from having a few Clipless Moment!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

excellent

Posted24 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
great quality and value SPD pedals. brought these to go onto my cannondale caad10 2015 model not had any issues with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

These do the job

Posted21 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
No complaints whatsoever, don't even notice them. Easy to fit and adjust too. Excellent price to top it all off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted13 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great product, I cant compare this to others as this is the first clipless pedal I have used. They work brilliantly, very sturdy and have take a couple of falls well.
Brilliant for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value and quality product

Posted07 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
It helped enormously to replace the plastic clip pedals for decent SPD's
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value clipless

Posted06 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is my second set of M520s. Excellent for commuting as well as mountain bikes. I especially like the multi-directional cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent pedal

Posted02 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
This was my first SPD pedal. Works brilliantly, with the tension loosened off it makes it really easy to click in and out. Got it even cheaper with some Tesco clubcard vouchers too!
Only down side is they are slightly heavy (I don't really notice), but a lightweight option is available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Clapham

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent price for the pedals. Purchased online, arrived the next day and even the store couldnt believe the price I got for the pedals. Excellent purchase, service etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Great pedals, great value for money.

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
At this price you really couldn't ask for more.
Proper workhorse. They might not be the lightest but they won't disappoint in terms of reliability.
The 3 colour choice is a nice touch too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>