Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)

Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 134 reviews
5 Stars
99
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
134 out of 134Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pete123456
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good pedals. Good value, easy to set up and easy to use. I now have 3 pairs. (2 of which on a tandem)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikola
Country:Belarus
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the best combination

Posted17 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
the best combination of price and quality, durability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
John5311
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value pedals

Posted04 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is my second pair of these pedals as I got another mtb. They are robust and I have tested this on every spin with my almost fatal attraction to rocks and terra firma track stands!
They may not be the lightest pedals but they are excellent value and I prefer to loose the additional weight by riding my bike more and spending the extra cash on beer. Beer dringking = weight gain = more cycling which is a vicious circle I enjoy more than the emptyness of staring at carbon fibre when broke and thirsty...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
McBarnes
South Downs
 
Please wait while more information about McBarnes is loaded.
Additional information about McBarnes could not be loaded.
Posted 22 April 2015
Quality review. I also enjoy the same vicious circle. ;0)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sam84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good inexpensive pedals

Posted31 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I find these great SPDs, and use them on all my bikes. No doubt higher-end pedals are lighter and have some performance advantages, but I find these perfectly satisfactory, and at £15 or so a pair I prefer to replace them when they stop working well than to spend more and to keep using them when the mechanism is worn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KtheRev
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Excellent value

Posted30 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This is the second pair I have bought, one pair on my Genesis road bike and the latest on my Specialized hybrid. They function faultlessly and are very robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stuartb1969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top quality at a good price

Posted27 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is the second set of these I have purchased. The other set is still going strong but on another bike. You can't fault the build quality or ease of use. At this price they are a bargain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mmichael81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent value for money

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Nice looking pedals without the high end price tag. I have a set of these on both bikes now and rate them highly. Easy to get used to for beginners using cleats, very smooth and good looking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mahead
Country:Finland
It was bought:Online

Just excellent

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
What I can say? Cheap, does what it is supposed without any flaws yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paula2015
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

simple to start using clipless pedals

Posted13 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Never having used this kind of pedal, this was a great introduction. One evening of practice with my new shoes on and had it sussed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
curphs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great value for money and a smooth action

Posted10 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The pedals are good value for money and are a really smooth ride
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
keith58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Entry level pedals

Posted01 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
These pedals excellent value for money, very smooth bearings and easy to adjust. The only downside is the weight which is not an issue when I carry more than several pounds of fat on my backside. In short if your new to this type of pedal and want a sturdy pedal, you can't go too far wrong with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
orkneyman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic pedal

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought these for my fixie as I already have a pair that are lasting well on my commuter, even on salty, winter Orkney roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ken1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Outstanding!!

Posted22 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Remarkable to find a pedal of this quality for such a low price! Excellent quality for the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lennymck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great product

Posted15 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great and cheap product which save the rider time, and will fit most shoes, can't praise this enough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mike8888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent value

Posted12 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
good value, good delivery. Setting them up was tricky but that was probaly my lack of experieinmce with cleats. Seem to work ok now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
John1968
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Always does what it says on tin

Posted11 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Great pedals for the money.This is now my fourth pair and have had them on all the bikes I've had be it road or mountain. They are not the lightest but do the job well. Nice clipping in action in either mud or dry. Can't recommend these enough if you want a work horse pedal that will just keep doing what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SaraB
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does the job!

Posted08 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Standard SPD pedal - to replace one with pedal surround - was tad worried it would be harder getting in/out but really was a doddle.
Evans had the best price at time so snapped up a bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rale
Country:Serbia and Montenegro
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best value for many.

Posted08 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A classic double sided SPD pedal, one of the best value pedals out there for any type of riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raptorboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Value

Posted07 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Theses are a nice set of pedals, just what you need on the commuting bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M520 SPD Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geevee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great clip in for 1st timers or nervous.

Posted05 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Introduction clip in pedals, double sided, helps make it easier to clip in.
Also easy to adjust tension.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>