Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.623 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(154 reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 154 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
151 out of 154(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 92 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SIRMLP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very easy to set up and use. A robust and effective piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mac6565
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I like it

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is the first clip in pedal I've used and its really good.
I cannot compare it with other one's, but I could compare it against standard pedals and say i do get more speed with the road pedal, which is nice. When comparing them to a bunch of bananas I would have to say that bananas win on potasium and lose on overall effectiveness as a cycle pedal.
I have tipped sideways at a stop on my bike twice so far using these road pedals, but everywhere I have looked and read informs me that it is a right of passage to do that and pretty much inevitable when switching to cleats, so not a negative.
Light and easy to clip in and out of despite my previous comments. I got the white colour which I didn't mean to but I'm glad I did - because they look about as cool as a pedal can look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meggo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cleats in with price

Posted24 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The pedals are the best price available however the best bit you get cleats includedin the price, awesome value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lulufc
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value and simple

Posted21 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Bought these as my first clipless pedals despite many people recommending MTB pedals instead. I absolutely love them. took a while at first to practise getting my foot in, but now is nice and simple and pedal hangs well when not in use to make it simple to push toe in first. Excellent value, especially when they come with cleats as well. Very Happy!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charlieox1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Spot on!

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great price, great service, especially when the pedals come with a set of cleats
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StevieB84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great clipless pedals for newbies

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, great price
Cons: Heavy
Since these were my first clipless pedal I thought I'd have a horrible time adjusting to them. I was pleasantly surprised. I had a few set up issues, which were entirely down to me rather than the product, but once those were sorted I was well away. The increase in power transfer is hugely noticeable, even for a rookie - this benefit far outweighs (excuse the pun) the downside that they are quite a lot heavier than the clipped/strapped pedals that I removed.
All in all, great entry level pedals. Will probably look to upgrade to a lighter variety in time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mick969
Country:Spain
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great buy

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Would recommend any (OE) buys from Evans. Easy to fit the pedal and comfortable on the sole of the foot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Karen123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Preston

Looks good

Posted10 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Obtained in white and they look great with my white road bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ThebusyB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these as an introduction to clipped in cycling and so far they have not disappointed. I have ridden with these pedals for over 300 miles including 1 trip of over 100 miles. Providing you unclip at the bottom of the pedal stroke they separate with ease and reattach with a nice click.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike284
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano pedals

Posted25 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Light weight easy on off great value great service no problems good quality products
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bauer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

RS540 SPD SL PEDALS

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good low cost pedal i use for winter.Quaity is good but slightly on the heavy side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlexJB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value

Posted23 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Quality product and excellent value, as the cleats are nearly this price on there own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erskine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Value for money

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Simple clipless entry level system for road use, spreads the load nicely over the ball of the foot more than the SPD system. Easy in, Easy out, Shimano proven quality. Absolute bargain for the price. Fast delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Riggs61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

Posted10 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bottom end product but works just as well as the more expensive ones. I use these on my comutor bike and the only difference is a few extra grams.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wlima
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Good value and quality

Posted09 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this pedals for my commuting/winter bike. They are similar to the Ultegra pedals which I bought a few years ago for my summer bike but much cheaper. They come with light reflectors which can be installed under the pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dan1414
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality for the price you pay

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The pedals are easy to attach and have an easily adjustable bolt that allows clipping in to be made easier or harder depending on preference. They work really well with the cleats provided. The pedals show little sign of wear. The pedals are slightly heavier than expected but still a vast improvement on normal pedals. The performance increase these pedals give you is noticeable straight away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JAD11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Tough pedals

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent entry level SPD pedals. Have taken a pounding on daily 40 mile commute with plenty of traffic lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THBan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality purchase at an excellent price

Posted31 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The price of this item was very competitive compared to other bike shops in the local area.
Evans were happy to fit the product to my bike, which is excellent service.
The item was delivered very promptly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lindhe71
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

OE product at low cost

Posted25 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
When I couldn't remove my pedals from a rented bike at the Asian Road Biking Tour I had to buy new. After surfing the web I found best price on OE product here
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeff20144

high cost performance

Posted19 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A little bit heavy but very comfortable and good quality, it should be a good choice if you have limited budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>