Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.622 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 196 reviews
5 Stars
132
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
192 out of 196Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 103 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a good solid pedal

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
arrived very promptly . very pleased with them . a good value pedal that I would recommend .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant first every clipless pedal

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: cleats wear easy
These pedals are brilliant, easy to install, lightweight and a great place to start with clipless pedals.
The only con is the cleats wear so easy although this could be down to my use of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good power transfer

Posted29 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I had a mountain clipless pedal on my Specialized Allez but when I tried this road pedal on the same bike, my average speed increases 1mph, very good power transfer. The weight is actually lighter than the mountain pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Great features

Posted18 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great price in the sale for an excellent product - no complaints
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

great pedals

Posted15 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great pedals great look great performance and good on my pocket
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

very good value for money

Posted14 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
(commuter riding 100-150 miles a week on touring bike, all year round)
Just bought these again, my previous pair having lasted over 7 years. Given how little they cost, and the complete lack of servicing, they were very good value-for-money. I use them with the yellow cleats, which offer plenty of float. The cleats always seem expensive for what they are (dunno).
By the way, unless you have watchmaker-like patience and accuracy, forget about servicing them - the bearings are tiny.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bargain

Posted11 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are a great buy for an entry level pedal, glad I followed the general advise in the reviews. A Happy punter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy lock and release, great discount by Evans

Posted08 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Good looking easy to use spd for the first time, u can use them with regular shoe too. Best price at Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Beginner SPD Pedals

Posted04 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
As a beginner cyclist, these were my first clipless pedals.
Installation was very easy and straight forward.
Pedals are comfortable and easy to clip out of.
No negatives after 2 rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

First Road Bike Pedals

Posted21 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are my first road bike pedals so SPDs are new to me. All-in-all I have found them excellent, great for clipping in/out for a newbie, the tension adjustment on the pedal allows for easy clipping and can increase as your confidence/ability grows.
Once you get used to these pedals (couple of rides) you wont look back to flats. Bargain price too! Colour options a bonus.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal and well priced

Posted20 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
An ideal starter pedal for those starting out on their road bikes. Simple to use and well priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job!

Posted06 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Standard road pedals for SPD Cleats, no problems with them whatsoever, not as light as the ultegra or dura ace pedals, but for the money they are, its all you need, 10/10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great product

Posted05 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
As a novice rider I switched to these on a recommendation and the difference is unbelievable.
Bought from Evans York thanks again guys, I set them up by turning to the least residence, I have found clipping in and out so easy compared to previous cleats and pedals.
Well recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect, simple, easy

Posted28 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I bought these pedals to fit to my new bike, having fitted a pair to my previous bike about 1 year ago.
Nothing flash they just do the job.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First Clip in pedals I have brought, Excellent!

Posted27 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
These are the first clip in pedals I have brought and I would highly recommend them. Easy to fit and adjust. Few rides in and loving them
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great introduction pedal

Posted02 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Perfect pedal for a beginner. Cheap and reliable. Lightweight and easy to use. Perfect
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Excellent entry level clip in pedal

Posted24 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent quality pedal for very reasonable price, I would highly recommend these pedals for anybody starting off with clip in pedals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice pedals for Summer rides

Posted23 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: lacks reflectors
Nice pedals but they lack reflectors and can't be used at night in the uk. Good for commuting to work in the summer but will need to revert to my old pedals in the winter. Make sure the shoes, cleats and pedals are compatible before you purchase by contacting the store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:Hungary
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Not bad, still not as good as expected

Posted20 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: slipping surface
I changed from Shimano SPD to SPD-SL after buying a new road shoe instead of my old MTB shoe. The road shoe has a nylon sole which the SPD's 'teeth' started to destroy as the winding force is significant when clipping out. Once I met the situation, when the SPD clip stayed still, while the shoe turned and it did not detach. It was really a tough situation. Then I decided to change for SPD-SL which is fixed with 3 screws, so it has no chance to move separately from the shoe. This clip is not bad, still has some disadvantages: it is one sided, when turns around not always easy to propel back in upright position, the surface is polished shiny and slipping, so almost impossible to roll the pedal without properly clipping in. It is not at all easy to sit back, properly clip in and restart rolling on an 8-10% climb; at least not for me. On flat terrain it is not issue and is getting better on the climbs with routine over time. Otherwise the manufacturing quality is flawless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Does what they are supposed to do.

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Easy to fit. Look smart & will buy another pair for my daughters bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>