Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.608 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 143 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
140 out of 143(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlexJB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Quality product and excellent value, as the cleats are nearly this price on there own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erskine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Value for money

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Simple clipless entry level system for road use, spreads the load nicely over the ball of the foot more than the SPD system. Easy in, Easy out, Shimano proven quality. Absolute bargain for the price. Fast delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Riggs61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bottom end product but works just as well as the more expensive ones. I use these on my comutor bike and the only difference is a few extra grams.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wlima
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Good value and quality

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this pedals for my commuting/winter bike. They are similar to the Ultegra pedals which I bought a few years ago for my summer bike but much cheaper. They come with light reflectors which can be installed under the pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dan1414
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality for the price you pay

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The pedals are easy to attach and have an easily adjustable bolt that allows clipping in to be made easier or harder depending on preference. They work really well with the cleats provided. The pedals show little sign of wear. The pedals are slightly heavier than expected but still a vast improvement on normal pedals. The performance increase these pedals give you is noticeable straight away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JAD11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Tough pedals

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent entry level SPD pedals. Have taken a pounding on daily 40 mile commute with plenty of traffic lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THBan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality purchase at an excellent price

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The price of this item was very competitive compared to other bike shops in the local area.
Evans were happy to fit the product to my bike, which is excellent service.
The item was delivered very promptly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lindhe71
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

OE product at low cost

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
When I couldn't remove my pedals from a rented bike at the Asian Road Biking Tour I had to buy new. After surfing the web I found best price on OE product here
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeff20144

high cost performance

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A little bit heavy but very comfortable and good quality, it should be a good choice if you have limited budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
koorbwerdna
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Clean and easy

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My first crack at SPD pedals and this budget pair work a treat. Together with Shimano shoes it's like you're one with the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pricy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant tool

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
This is a reliable and easy to use product, that I recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JeffreyX
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good budget pedal

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
I was on a budget so I went for the cheapest pedal available. It definitely functions well but sometimes the click of the shoe is not loud and satisfying enough to know that you have clipped in. For its price it is decent value but if you have more money to spend, buy a higher end pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Builtforcomfort
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great price

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having never used cleats before I was hesitant to buy an expensive set of pedals. These were very keenly priced. I have found them positive when placing my foot on them and release quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnW1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Excellent Value

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Ok, I'm new to cycling (properly!) so have nothing to compare these pedals with. However, they are excellent value for money and seem ideal as an entry level pedal and an introduction to cleats! I find them easy to live with and am amazed how much difference cleats make to my riding. You can't go wrong for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pc47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

First SPD-SL pedals

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Moving from the over-toe straps to these was a great decision! Once you've figured out how to clip in and out of them without making a fool of yourself (which you will do a few times) the benefit these provide is huge. Definitely recommend, and the price is virtually unbeatable too
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Malcolm23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to use
Bought as upgrade to double sided SPDs for road bike. Very lightweight, easy to fit and easy to use.
Pedal hangs vertically when not in use so easy to "stab" in cleat when starting to cycle.
Yellow cleats easy to fit and give comfortable float without being too loose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dion
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pedals

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Really easy to clip in and out, total value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrucieSnr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value buy

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am enjoying my new pedals, very stable comfortable and firm under foot. Easy to connect into and release at those troublesome lights and junctions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rossi88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to install and use.

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pedals are really easy to install and the guys in store kindly fitted my cleats for me. Once on the bike the pedals were so easy to get used to. Simple installation and use and a very well made product! Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Parksy24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good pedals

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are my first set of pedals, for my first ever road bike. Therefore, I can't compare them against any other pedals.
However, they seem a very good pedal and I would recommend them to anyone starting out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>