Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.626 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(187 reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 187 reviews
5 Stars
127
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
183 out of 187Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KRJHARRISON
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

First Road Bike Pedals

Posted21 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are my first road bike pedals so SPDs are new to me. All-in-all I have found them excellent, great for clipping in/out for a newbie, the tension adjustment on the pedal allows for easy clipping and can increase as your confidence/ability grows.
Once you get used to these pedals (couple of rides) you wont look back to flats. Bargain price too! Colour options a bonus.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stumac027
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal and well priced

Posted20 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
An ideal starter pedal for those starting out on their road bikes. Simple to use and well priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job!

Posted06 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Standard road pedals for SPD Cleats, no problems with them whatsoever, not as light as the ultegra or dura ace pedals, but for the money they are, its all you need, 10/10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ahoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great product

Posted05 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
As a novice rider I switched to these on a recommendation and the difference is unbelievable.
Bought from Evans York thanks again guys, I set them up by turning to the least residence, I have found clipping in and out so easy compared to previous cleats and pedals.
Well recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PagesPete
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect, simple, easy

Posted28 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I bought these pedals to fit to my new bike, having fitted a pair to my previous bike about 1 year ago.
Nothing flash they just do the job.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bowman4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First Clip in pedals I have brought, Excellent!

Posted27 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
These are the first clip in pedals I have brought and I would highly recommend them. Easy to fit and adjust. Few rides in and loving them
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samuel1989
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great introduction pedal

Posted02 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Perfect pedal for a beginner. Cheap and reliable. Lightweight and easy to use. Perfect
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dmarsha8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Excellent entry level clip in pedal

Posted24 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent quality pedal for very reasonable price, I would highly recommend these pedals for anybody starting off with clip in pedals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Commuter15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice pedals for Summer rides

Posted23 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: lacks reflectors
Nice pedals but they lack reflectors and can't be used at night in the uk. Good for commuting to work in the summer but will need to revert to my old pedals in the winter. Make sure the shoes, cleats and pedals are compatible before you purchase by contacting the store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
previta
Country:Hungary
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Not bad, still not as good as expected

Posted20 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: slipping surface
I changed from Shimano SPD to SPD-SL after buying a new road shoe instead of my old MTB shoe. The road shoe has a nylon sole which the SPD's 'teeth' started to destroy as the winding force is significant when clipping out. Once I met the situation, when the SPD clip stayed still, while the shoe turned and it did not detach. It was really a tough situation. Then I decided to change for SPD-SL which is fixed with 3 screws, so it has no chance to move separately from the shoe. This clip is not bad, still has some disadvantages: it is one sided, when turns around not always easy to propel back in upright position, the surface is polished shiny and slipping, so almost impossible to roll the pedal without properly clipping in. It is not at all easy to sit back, properly clip in and restart rolling on an 8-10% climb; at least not for me. On flat terrain it is not issue and is getting better on the climbs with routine over time. Otherwise the manufacturing quality is flawless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robbieroadracer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Does what they are supposed to do.

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Easy to fit. Look smart & will buy another pair for my daughters bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mobydick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
My entrance into road cycling. Pedal and clip installed well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
It was bought:Online

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
As this was my first pair of clippless pedals,it was a bit hard to get used to it,but now works perfect.They are easy to use,they have a modern and crisp design,plus a great value for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what it says on the tin

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very happy with my purchase. The pedals were cheap and perform their task perfectly. They aren't particularly light, but that's no surprise given they are an entry level product. I would recommend them as a first clip-in pedal, or for use on commuter/winter bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StephenMit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great pedals

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
I found these pedals really easy to use.
They are a breeze compared to MTB pedals that I've been using for the past 4 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warren600
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good pedals (and cleats) for a bargain price

Posted16 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I couldn't fault these pedals for the price and I'm finding the included floating cleats more comfortable than my previous fixed cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drockydog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quality clip in peddle

Posted14 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I had never used clip in peddles before and I have found these very easy to use. Also you are able to ride the bike without using the clips as the peddles are a nice size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AntonyN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for the price

Posted11 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I have no problems with this product. Excellent price including cleats.
Recommend highly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
slipd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano quality as you'd expect.

Posted06 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
No problems, used them for a while now and I find them to be great on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nobby95
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great first time pedal

Posted06 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Nice and easy to fit,very comfortable ride light and easy to use, I would recommend these to any person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>