Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.604 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 134 reviews
5 Stars
89
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
131 out of 134(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 84 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
koorbwerdna
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Clean and easy

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My first crack at SPD pedals and this budget pair work a treat. Together with Shimano shoes it's like you're one with the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pricy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant tool

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
This is a reliable and easy to use product, that I recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JeffreyX
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good budget pedal

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
I was on a budget so I went for the cheapest pedal available. It definitely functions well but sometimes the click of the shoe is not loud and satisfying enough to know that you have clipped in. For its price it is decent value but if you have more money to spend, buy a higher end pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Builtforcomfort
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great price

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having never used cleats before I was hesitant to buy an expensive set of pedals. These were very keenly priced. I have found them positive when placing my foot on them and release quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Excellent Value

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Ok, I'm new to cycling (properly!) so have nothing to compare these pedals with. However, they are excellent value for money and seem ideal as an entry level pedal and an introduction to cleats! I find them easy to live with and am amazed how much difference cleats make to my riding. You can't go wrong for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pc47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

First SPD-SL pedals

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Moving from the over-toe straps to these was a great decision! Once you've figured out how to clip in and out of them without making a fool of yourself (which you will do a few times) the benefit these provide is huge. Definitely recommend, and the price is virtually unbeatable too
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Malcolm23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to use
Bought as upgrade to double sided SPDs for road bike. Very lightweight, easy to fit and easy to use.
Pedal hangs vertically when not in use so easy to "stab" in cleat when starting to cycle.
Yellow cleats easy to fit and give comfortable float without being too loose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dion
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pedals

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Really easy to clip in and out, total value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrucieSnr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value buy

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am enjoying my new pedals, very stable comfortable and firm under foot. Easy to connect into and release at those troublesome lights and junctions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rossi88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to install and use.

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pedals are really easy to install and the guys in store kindly fitted my cleats for me. Once on the bike the pedals were so easy to get used to. Simple installation and use and a very well made product! Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Parksy24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good pedals

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are my first set of pedals, for my first ever road bike. Therefore, I can't compare them against any other pedals.
However, they seem a very good pedal and I would recommend them to anyone starting out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GJones31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great kit- exceptional value

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I recently upgraded to clip in road shoes. (Shimano R078) these pedals are perfect for my use, currently doing between 50-55 miles per ride. They are simple to get used to as long as you practice a little before heading out on main roads. The cleat set comes with the pedals which is an added bonus. Currently, the pedal and cleat set in the sale at less than £20.00 is cheaper than buying a cleat set alone. I will be purchasing another set as a spare!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SpiderJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent road pedal

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Works perfectly fine. First SPD-SL pedals, so nothing to compare it to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Annievd

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Simple and easy to fit. Looks great. First pair of clip in pedals, once you get the hang of getting foot out (didn't take long) they are great and can feel the difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geoff2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

good value, comfortable

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is the second pair of these pedals I have purchased and fitted then to my other bike, the price is good, easy access and a good platform, I have had no problems with the other set that have been used in al weathers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChrisfromPonty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Easy to use for the novice cyclist.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I find these pedals very easy to clip in and out of. They are also big enough to use without being clipped in, as I live on a hill and need to get some momentum up before I can coast to enable me to clip my second foot in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harveyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedal

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Inexpensive and easy to use.
Comes with yellow cleats with plenty of float.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very easy to use

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Found this item easy to fit using set-up instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mulloir6711
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value pedals with cleets.

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The go-to pedal for value and performance. Not to be missed at this price (£21) The cleets alone can cost you £12. Bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
actoni99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

great value

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
really good starter clip in pedal and buying the oe version makes them a really good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>