Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.633 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 120 reviews
5 Stars
82
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
118 out of 120(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geoff2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

good value, comfortable

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is the second pair of these pedals I have purchased and fitted then to my other bike, the price is good, easy access and a good platform, I have had no problems with the other set that have been used in al weathers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChrisfromPonty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Easy to use for the novice cyclist.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I find these pedals very easy to clip in and out of. They are also big enough to use without being clipped in, as I live on a hill and need to get some momentum up before I can coast to enable me to clip my second foot in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harveyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedal

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Inexpensive and easy to use.
Comes with yellow cleats with plenty of float.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very easy to use

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Found this item easy to fit using set-up instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mulloir6711
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value pedals with cleets.

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The go-to pedal for value and performance. Not to be missed at this price (£21) The cleets alone can cost you £12. Bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
actoni99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

great value

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
really good starter clip in pedal and buying the oe version makes them a really good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyclonePhil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money pedal

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
This is my 2nd purchase of the Shimano R540 SPD pedals as I am fitting them to my new Raod bike, I find them reliable and easy to get in and out of.
They look good and are great value for money, as usual an excellent service also from Evans.
I would recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simmo123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

great pedals

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
New pedals for a new bike. Work well, easy to fit. Probably not the best but do the job. Came wrapped in bubble wrap but no loss amid saved about 1/3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheGoose
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good quality pedals with a nice finish. As they come with cleats this is an excellent value item for someone needing both items.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris97
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Durable and simplistic.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, durable
I've owned this pedal for around 3 months now. Piled nearly a thousand miles on these pedals, and boy do they still perform fantastically. These were my first clipless pedals. The installation is very easy, each pedal designed for a certain side (left and right side) and aptly engraved is a L and an R on a specific pedal. The learning curve is incredibly fast with clipless pedals, it's rather normal to fall off so don't you worry.
The difference between normal pedals is incomprehensible, everything's more efficient and easier. I plan to upgrade around December-ish time, when it's appropriate to ask for even more bike gear related presents :).
In conclusion, these pedals are a joy to use and i'd argue they're essential for cycles over 10-ish miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SeanSeanSean
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

First set of clipless pedals - no negatives!

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The summary says it all. I haven't used clipless pedals before, so far (a month in), I can't find fault with them. Easy to install and adjust, straightforward to use, fairly simple to clip in and out of.
Time will tell how durable they are, but at the price they are I don't think there could be many complaints.
Some pretty good service in the Waterloo Cut store as well, plenty of time taken over my questions and then some price matching (on another item) too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grah
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First time i have used SPD pedals good stater set ,but must practice getting you foot on and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LanternRougeNY
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What more is there to say?

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Like many others, apparently, before me I have bought these as a first entry into clipping in. I had had a pair of Shimano shoes bought in a sale lurking in the cupboard and finally bit the bullet when the flat pedals I had been using gave up their bearings on one side. A good online price from a reliable supplier settled the matter. As everyone recommends, practice a bit before venturing into more hazardous situations where rapid unclipping might be required (and some generally good anticipation as always helps here). Despite not feeling much fitter or faster my Strava sector PBs seem to have improved, so maybe this is more efficient pedalling as promised. I'll maybe go for some a few grammes lighter when I have lost a few more kilos...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teedubya13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Robust, simple and good looking product. Can't go wrong with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
teamginger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic deal

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Got these cheap as chips and as my first foray into riding clipless they seem pretty perfect to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
greg1010
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good pedal easy to fit

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
i bought this pair of pedals for my son as he has just started to ride, he likes them and for the price they are a good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vinders1664

Great value pedals

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got theses at the sale price when changing from MTB pedals. They have been great on the road and much more stable from what I was used to using. I would recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LFC383
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Idea for those wishing to try clipless pedals

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: scratch easily
This is my first time using clipless pedals and was looking for a cheapish pair to try and if I didn't like it wouldn't break the bank. Have been impressed with the easy of being able to click in and out of the pedals, I have had one fall which was my fault due to not unclipping early enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sirpeterj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value as Evans have these at just £21.49

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Originally had intended to buy just a replacement set of cleats but saw these on the Evans web site as pedal and cleats for the bargain price of £21.49 with free P&P and thought at that price I might as well get them as it is always handy to have a spare set of pedals, just in case.
All my bikes are fitted with 105 pedals but these fit and work perfectly well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bez2007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Got these for my first road bike, bargain price in sale from Evans, used click and collect service which was seamless (as usual) cleats included, just a case of getting used to clipping in and out now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>