Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.621 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(211 reviews) 211
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 211 reviews
5 Stars
141
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
207 out of 211Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 111 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great entry level pedals.

Posted22 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
take a bit getting used to as I am used to double sided (Crank Bros egg beaters for MTB)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great first clipless pedals

Posted17 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
As my first clipless pedals and having nothing to compare to, they are ok, nothing to complain about. For some reason for the right pedal I found easier to unclip the other way (by turning the heel inside rather than outside from the bike). Overall good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Macclesfield

Great product at a reasonable price

Posted17 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pedals work very well and are sold at a great price. I also bought new shoes to match. For my first ride I made no adjustment to the tension at all and they were fine, although my left foot was a little loose. This was easily corrected and I particularly liked the tension indicator. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals

Posted11 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Got these to put on my winter/hill climbing bike. Good value, lightweight, easy to clean and a wide fitting. I have wide feet so more comfy that narrower version which I use for racing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Cost efficient

Posted26 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: tight
I have bought the same as 6 years ago as the old one start to 'click'. Bit tight, maybe because new. I have slipped few times on high traffic crossroads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quaity pedals

Posted24 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent pedals that match the colour-scheme of my new bike perfectly !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for money

Posted11 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I'm new to road cycling and bought the white version as my first clip less pedals, and I'm really impressed!
Been out a few times so far and only have the spring on the loosest setting until I get more confident/competent at unclipping my shoes!!
They seem really light (but have nothing to compare to) and look the business, so very pleased with my purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

inexpensive but just what I needed

Posted23 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit, easy to use, can't fault them especially at the price I paid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good practical pedals

Posted19 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to use and reliable pedals. Good offer on Internet and staff are always helpful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Posted16 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are easy to fit clip less pedals that come with a set of cleats. They can be adjusted easily in terms of the tension required to release them.
The tricky stage is setting up your cleats correctly on your shoes. Fortunately I have an expert in the family who smoothed this process out for me and they didn't require any further adjustment, however be prepared to tinker to get the fit right.
My advice is to practice releasing your shoes from the pedals in a safe place first and then once on the road release one of your shoes well before getting to a road hazard (i.e. roundabout/junction etc) so that you are ready to put your foot down if required. Do this until you are really confident with releasing your shoes or be prepared to fall over a few times!
I believe the OE tag in the product description means Original Equipment. They are the same pedal but it just means they come in a plastic bag rather than an off the shelf box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Standard clipless pedals at a good price

Posted14 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I use this model Shimano pedlas all the time and have never had any issues clipping in or out.
Only negative is they scuff quite easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Excellent Value Clipless Pedals

Posted12 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought a road bike so got some clipless pedals for it. These were a quality cheap pair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano SPD-SL R540

Posted11 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, easy to adjust
Excellent pedals, durable, look great, light enough.
The variation in spring tension is nice, so if they do wear down a bit, you can put higher tension on the spring to adjust this. Easy to adjust as well
What else could you want?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

LEGIT

Posted11 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
this product is legit. does what I need it to do and is really cheap!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Very good price

Posted05 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was looking for some cheap SPD-SL pedals for my old 7 speed road bike. The 7 speed is the bike I take if I know I'll have to lock it up unattended to some lamp post. Therefore I didn't want to folk out for an expensive set of pedals. These pedals are a bargain as they come with yellow cleats, which I've bought in the past for £18 on their own. They're easy to clip in and out of. I can't really tell the difference between these and the more expensive ones on my other bikes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a good solid pedal

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
arrived very promptly . very pleased with them . a good value pedal that I would recommend .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant first every clipless pedal

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: cleats wear easy
These pedals are brilliant, easy to install, lightweight and a great place to start with clipless pedals.
The only con is the cleats wear so easy although this could be down to my use of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good power transfer

Posted29 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I had a mountain clipless pedal on my Specialized Allez but when I tried this road pedal on the same bike, my average speed increases 1mph, very good power transfer. The weight is actually lighter than the mountain pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Great features

Posted18 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great price in the sale for an excellent product - no complaints
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

great pedals

Posted15 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great pedals great look great performance and good on my pocket
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>