Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.62 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
106 out of 108(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 68 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LanternRougeNY
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What more is there to say?

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Like many others, apparently, before me I have bought these as a first entry into clipping in. I had had a pair of Shimano shoes bought in a sale lurking in the cupboard and finally bit the bullet when the flat pedals I had been using gave up their bearings on one side. A good online price from a reliable supplier settled the matter. As everyone recommends, practice a bit before venturing into more hazardous situations where rapid unclipping might be required (and some generally good anticipation as always helps here). Despite not feeling much fitter or faster my Strava sector PBs seem to have improved, so maybe this is more efficient pedalling as promised. I'll maybe go for some a few grammes lighter when I have lost a few more kilos...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teedubya13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Robust, simple and good looking product. Can't go wrong with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
teamginger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic deal

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Got these cheap as chips and as my first foray into riding clipless they seem pretty perfect to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
greg1010
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good pedal easy to fit

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
i bought this pair of pedals for my son as he has just started to ride, he likes them and for the price they are a good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vinders1664

Great value pedals

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got theses at the sale price when changing from MTB pedals. They have been great on the road and much more stable from what I was used to using. I would recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LFC383
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Idea for those wishing to try clipless pedals

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: scratch easily
This is my first time using clipless pedals and was looking for a cheapish pair to try and if I didn't like it wouldn't break the bank. Have been impressed with the easy of being able to click in and out of the pedals, I have had one fall which was my fault due to not unclipping early enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sirpeterj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value as Evans have these at just £21.49

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Originally had intended to buy just a replacement set of cleats but saw these on the Evans web site as pedal and cleats for the bargain price of £21.49 with free P&P and thought at that price I might as well get them as it is always handy to have a spare set of pedals, just in case.
All my bikes are fitted with 105 pedals but these fit and work perfectly well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bez2007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Got these for my first road bike, bargain price in sale from Evans, used click and collect service which was seamless (as usual) cleats included, just a case of getting used to clipping in and out now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LilB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

great price

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I've been looking for some new pedals for ages and these came along just at the right time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fahad

Excellent

PostedJune 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This product is a definite buy, great build quality and easy to use!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pete2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good everyday use pedal

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good value pedal easy to use if just trying clip ins
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
diegoluisj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Very good experience overall.
I would recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LorenzoB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First clip-in pedals

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Excellent value for money. I bought these when I decided to go for clip-in pedals and they have been serving me well so far. I did about 200 miles so far without any issue. They are very easy to get used to and I haven't had any problem disengaging my foot when I wanted to do so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slugsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good cheap pedal

PostedJune 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Ideal for my first pair of cleated pedals, comes with cleats. pedals have a good tension adjuster to make it easy or hard as you like to remove the shoe from the pedal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camelb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

extremely good value at offer price

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very pleased. Came boxed which I wasn't expecting.
Bought these pedals for my 'rain' bike, as I have shimano ultegra on my best bike, but these are a quarter of the price. Also half the cost of same item in the high street. Almost worth buying for the cleats alone!
I guess they won't last as long as the higher spec versions but we'll see...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rich1115
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

First Clipless Pedals

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pedals are my first clip less pedals, the build quality is good and the enclosed instructions are clear and easy to follow, I have used them a few times so far and as yet have not forgotten to unclip as I stop, I was give good advice in store to loosen off the tension on the clip so it is easier to unclip until you are a bit more confident with them. It was good to have a choice of colour so you can get some that are in keeping with the look of your bike. Overall very pleased, and very good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Adagiophil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Another Shimano success

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great, well made pedal that is simple to fit and use.
The tension adjustment screw allows the beginner the chance to customise the setting and make locking in and out so much easier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrNiceGuy
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than i tought!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Got it for 20+ euros and what can i say, perfect for the price, and confortable to pedal even without the road shoes. great deal.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great stuff - supercheap...

PostedJune 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very nice looking pedals and easy to learn to use. It takes some time for adjusting, so you dont pedal wrong. Cleats included so the price is outstanding!
Great buy!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beaker117
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just great

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Clip in tension adjustable. Robust alloy. Not composite so should hang in there a bit longer. Excellent value. Broad contact plate minimises long ride discomfort. Good reloable clip in/out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>