Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.629 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 175 reviews
5 Stars
118
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
172 out of 175Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
It was bought:Online

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
As this was my first pair of clippless pedals,it was a bit hard to get used to it,but now works perfect.They are easy to use,they have a modern and crisp design,plus a great value for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what it says on the tin

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very happy with my purchase. The pedals were cheap and perform their task perfectly. They aren't particularly light, but that's no surprise given they are an entry level product. I would recommend them as a first clip-in pedal, or for use on commuter/winter bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StephenMit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great pedals

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
I found these pedals really easy to use.
They are a breeze compared to MTB pedals that I've been using for the past 4 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warren600
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good pedals (and cleats) for a bargain price

Posted16 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I couldn't fault these pedals for the price and I'm finding the included floating cleats more comfortable than my previous fixed cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drockydog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quality clip in peddle

Posted14 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I had never used clip in peddles before and I have found these very easy to use. Also you are able to ride the bike without using the clips as the peddles are a nice size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AntonyN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for the price

Posted11 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I have no problems with this product. Excellent price including cleats.
Recommend highly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
slipd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano quality as you'd expect.

Posted06 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
No problems, used them for a while now and I find them to be great on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nobby95
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great first time pedal

Posted06 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Nice and easy to fit,very comfortable ride light and easy to use, I would recommend these to any person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
c0sie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Perfect product, perfect price

Posted22 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
My first clip-in pedals, perfect for the price. Takes a while getting used to clipping in and out but the product is perfect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nellyneil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent pedals from a great company

Posted21 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Shimano products are always great value combined with great quality too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catsprint
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedals and even more so regarding the price.

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Decided to try clipless pedals and noticed these were on offer so I purchased them.
For my standard of cycling I found them to be perfectly adequate and excellent value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
barrychuckle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good bit of starter-level kit at a decent price

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy enough to fit (once i realised that the left pedal tightens counter clockwise..) and decent first clipless pedals. Supplied reflectors are a bit flimsy though, one snapped off in the first week after i tried to clip back in at traffic lights and got the pedal upside down when pressing my shoe on to it.
That said, you don't buy pedals for their reflectors. You buy them becuse they do a job, and that they do. Good secure clip in, easy to adjust the tension for level of difficulty to clip out and for the posers they don't look bad either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rory2009
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy and comfortable to use

Posted28 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Having just changed my pedal system, I found these pedals easy to adjust, more reliable in riding, easier to clip in an out and easy to adjust settings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Daniel7529
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good starter pedal

Posted27 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Being new to road cycling these are my first clips pedals. They have a nice finish and have a high quality feel to them. Easy to use and adjust, they make a great 'starter' pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pm1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light, good quality, cheap

Posted26 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
light, good quality, cheap. Basically what i needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flickerama
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Just the job

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Does the job, no reason not to get these if you need some pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ladybird007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect

Posted20 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product that was easy to fit and easy to use whilst on my road bike. I liked having the choice of black or white.
Guys on line were very helpful when contacting them to match compatibility with my bike and shoes.
I've not had a problem since using them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tid13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simlpe to fit, simple to adjust, simple to use

Posted11 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
First experience with this kind of clip in pedal, and these have been super easy to get used to. Good instructions, for fitting pedals and for fitting cleats to shoes, and even came with optional reflectors to put on them which was an added bonus at this time of year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jonny5Stars
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

Works fine.

Posted07 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Does the job fine. Harder to use than MTB SPDs but more comfortable after long rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aarono92
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good

Posted07 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I havnt used many clip on pedals before but these were so easy to get used to and install. Making my cycling easier and cercure
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>