Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.63 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 127 reviews
5 Stars
86
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
125 out of 127(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dion
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pedals

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Really easy to clip in and out, total value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrucieSnr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value buy

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am enjoying my new pedals, very stable comfortable and firm under foot. Easy to connect into and release at those troublesome lights and junctions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rossi88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to install and use.

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pedals are really easy to install and the guys in store kindly fitted my cleats for me. Once on the bike the pedals were so easy to get used to. Simple installation and use and a very well made product! Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Parksy24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good pedals

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are my first set of pedals, for my first ever road bike. Therefore, I can't compare them against any other pedals.
However, they seem a very good pedal and I would recommend them to anyone starting out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GJones31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great kit- exceptional value

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I recently upgraded to clip in road shoes. (Shimano R078) these pedals are perfect for my use, currently doing between 50-55 miles per ride. They are simple to get used to as long as you practice a little before heading out on main roads. The cleat set comes with the pedals which is an added bonus. Currently, the pedal and cleat set in the sale at less than £20.00 is cheaper than buying a cleat set alone. I will be purchasing another set as a spare!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SpiderJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent road pedal

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Works perfectly fine. First SPD-SL pedals, so nothing to compare it to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Annievd

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Simple and easy to fit. Looks great. First pair of clip in pedals, once you get the hang of getting foot out (didn't take long) they are great and can feel the difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geoff2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

good value, comfortable

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is the second pair of these pedals I have purchased and fitted then to my other bike, the price is good, easy access and a good platform, I have had no problems with the other set that have been used in al weathers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChrisfromPonty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Easy to use for the novice cyclist.

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I find these pedals very easy to clip in and out of. They are also big enough to use without being clipped in, as I live on a hill and need to get some momentum up before I can coast to enable me to clip my second foot in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harveyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedal

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Inexpensive and easy to use.
Comes with yellow cleats with plenty of float.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very easy to use

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Found this item easy to fit using set-up instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mulloir6711
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value pedals with cleets.

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The go-to pedal for value and performance. Not to be missed at this price (£21) The cleets alone can cost you £12. Bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
actoni99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

great value

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
really good starter clip in pedal and buying the oe version makes them a really good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyclonePhil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money pedal

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
This is my 2nd purchase of the Shimano R540 SPD pedals as I am fitting them to my new Raod bike, I find them reliable and easy to get in and out of.
They look good and are great value for money, as usual an excellent service also from Evans.
I would recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simmo123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

great pedals

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
New pedals for a new bike. Work well, easy to fit. Probably not the best but do the job. Came wrapped in bubble wrap but no loss amid saved about 1/3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheGoose
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good quality pedals with a nice finish. As they come with cleats this is an excellent value item for someone needing both items.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris97
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Durable and simplistic.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, durable
I've owned this pedal for around 3 months now. Piled nearly a thousand miles on these pedals, and boy do they still perform fantastically. These were my first clipless pedals. The installation is very easy, each pedal designed for a certain side (left and right side) and aptly engraved is a L and an R on a specific pedal. The learning curve is incredibly fast with clipless pedals, it's rather normal to fall off so don't you worry.
The difference between normal pedals is incomprehensible, everything's more efficient and easier. I plan to upgrade around December-ish time, when it's appropriate to ask for even more bike gear related presents :).
In conclusion, these pedals are a joy to use and i'd argue they're essential for cycles over 10-ish miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SeanSeanSean
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

First set of clipless pedals - no negatives!

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The summary says it all. I haven't used clipless pedals before, so far (a month in), I can't find fault with them. Easy to install and adjust, straightforward to use, fairly simple to clip in and out of.
Time will tell how durable they are, but at the price they are I don't think there could be many complaints.
Some pretty good service in the Waterloo Cut store as well, plenty of time taken over my questions and then some price matching (on another item) too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grah
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First time i have used SPD pedals good stater set ,but must practice getting you foot on and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LanternRougeNY
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What more is there to say?

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Like many others, apparently, before me I have bought these as a first entry into clipping in. I had had a pair of Shimano shoes bought in a sale lurking in the cupboard and finally bit the bullet when the flat pedals I had been using gave up their bearings on one side. A good online price from a reliable supplier settled the matter. As everyone recommends, practice a bit before venturing into more hazardous situations where rapid unclipping might be required (and some generally good anticipation as always helps here). Despite not feeling much fitter or faster my Strava sector PBs seem to have improved, so maybe this is more efficient pedalling as promised. I'll maybe go for some a few grammes lighter when I have lost a few more kilos...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>