Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
72 out of 73(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rosco77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Buy

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Only just started serious cycling but these seem like great quality pedals. Holds the cleat firmly in place and good release system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SilverCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy and slick

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use
First set of SPD SL road pedals after trying SPD cleats. Must say these are alot easier to use. They seem smoother to engage release and there is less movement whilst on the move. All in all their really quite good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil20

For the money, these pedals are excellent.

PostedApril 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These were replacement pedals for some "mountain bike" style clip-ins, and they appear to have made a significant difference to the power-output through the pedal-stroke. They are also very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Shimano pedals - durable

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
These pedals came with cleats, which I hadn't realised - as new cleats are pretty expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steve38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
my first clipless pedal and surprisingly easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KESS
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product looks good and feels good easy to use

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent from putting in my order to receiving the pedals in a very short time. Quality and the price of the pedals very good .I would recommend Evans Cycles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cano87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great product and cheap aswell

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These are the first pedals I have bought and I have no complaints whatsoever! Didn't cost an arm and a leg, easy to install pedals aswell as the cleats and feel great to use. I feel like I am securely fixed in but at the same time I know I can easily dismount without falling over! Strongly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sookie71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
First time going clipless and I found these pedals really easy to use. I did practice a bit before going on the road though! Nice and secure but easy to disengage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CVSmith
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good road pedals for first time user

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This was the first time I had used road pedals and was very impressed. Very easy to attach the cleats and easy to clip in and out whilst feeling secure when pedalling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Merlin07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Do the job

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought these to put onto my training bike, cheap and do the job.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ryan87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great pedal!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Good pedal, relatively easy to clip in and out of once you get use to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TommyP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Excellent value for money

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great pedals and an excellent price. This model was much cheaper than the other Shimano R540 SPD SL pedals available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adrian26
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Good for newbies

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Product was as described and ordering via the website and delivery was seamless. I live in Singapore and received my pedals in less than 7 working days. Even though these are my first pair of clipless pedals (have only been seriously cycling for about a year), I was able to install the pedals pretty easily. Have only gone for a 2km test ride around my house to clip/unclip out of the pedals and so far, it's worked a charm. Fully recommend Evans and these SPD pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JamJar1010
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality pedals

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy fit, nice weight, good build quality. All round good pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carl23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good pedals

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great pedals at a great price! Nice easy action on the pedal Clips in and out easily get them :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
briang
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value pedals...do the job well.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, Comfortable
Pedals look good and are robust and hard wearing. I have bought a few sets of these pedals for various bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gveilside

A must have

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Light enough, good value for money paid. I was browsing a lot online before I purchased these pedals they are they best you can get for that sort of price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
decharlus
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

good product, excellent delivery

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
the product is exactly as described & seems sturdy. the delivery was extremely quick!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
clare29

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These pedals are used on my bike for commuting and I find them very good for this. They were slightly difficult to fit initially.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano OE R540 SPD SL Road Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fari
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

easy clipping

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got the white ones and they look great on my blue bike!
These are my fist ones but so easy to clip in and out! If you are hesitating on taking racing pedals or not... then i advise you to go for it as it is so much better. Great feeling.. and can also ride with trainers on them as pretty flat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>