Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals

Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
XCross
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
great pedal for the price. Easy to clip in and very easy to get out of in a rush on minimum cleat tension - Saved me falling off at least twice in first couple of days! Still secure though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dex86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Outstanding value for money

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Clips in and out really easy. Use these on the mountain bike and work really well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mattyk1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great Entry Level SPD Pedal

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These were the first SPD pedals I've bought and I didn't want to spend a fortune in case I don't take to the idea of being clipped in. Even though they were on offer, and cheaper than other pedals I've bought in the past and been a bit disappointed with, when they arrived I could instantly tell these were a quality item. They were easy to fit and work well with my SPD shoes, and thanks to them being easy to adjust I haven't fallen off yet. Great for long rides 'clipped in', or just cycling to the shops in a pair of trainers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jo88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great first time clip in choice

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
As i had just made the move to clip in pedals i was recommended by a friend to try these as they gave a good transtiional option. Easy to fit and looked good they have been a great first choice. Good value for money with Evans offering them at a cheaper rate for an OE sourced product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eduzito123
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good quality

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The pedals are good for the money.
They do not get clearance in the bearings after hard used with dust and rain.
Of course this is not the lighter pedal on the market. But for the money we pay we couldn't get a lighter one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
khfotos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

confident ride

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've tried a few types of SPD but find these the most comfortable, I have greater confidence in them because of the outer cage, they are very easy to get in to and out of. I've not had skinned knees or elbows for a while!!!!
Easy enough to adjust too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buzz58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality cleats

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
First set of large pedal cleats I have had. Really impressed. Good easy operation. Easy to fit. Bikes rides well with o without engaging cleat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fergus73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great Product

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have these on my MTB and Road bike.I find them comfortable with good balance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
virtuosity
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent, solid product

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Came with good cleats, very easy to fit, not too heavy, but clearly high quality. You can just about use them without the cleats (Wouldn't recommend anything too intense without though!)
Overall, very pleased with the purchase, and came with the usual service you've come to expect from Evans, very quick, no-fuss etc.
Cannot go wrong, at this price - especially for a first time SPD'er.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surfertom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good introduction to cleat pedals

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Fitted to my mountain bike to aid rehab following hip surgery with the bike on a turbo trainer. The pedals now allow me to jump on the bike with trainers to do a quick shop trip or nursery pick up. Excellent product if like me you want to try cleats for the first time. Practise unclipping as much as you can. You will still fall off so choose a soft trail like I did and you end up in a puddle of cow poo.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano OE M424 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBrown
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but effective

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought these pedals as I wanted the efficiency of an SPD but the flexibility to be able to jump on and ride without having to change into my cycling shoes.
These are a great compromise, easy to fit, easy to adjust and look like they'll take a battering (pretty much ideal for the daily commute).
I know there are lighter pedals on the market but these are a great option if you can't guarantee you'll always have your SPD shoes to hand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.