Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)

Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Badumtish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good versatile pedal

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I chose these pedals because I had never used spd' before and wanted the added confidence of being able to unclip and pedal to a stop at junctions etc . I am lucky enough to have a daily commute that is a mixture of offr road and streets , the platform style cage of these pedals makes them ideal for me , easy to clip into and out fom and for short journeys can easily wear regular footware and ride platform style .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baz02
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great transition pedal from flats to spd. Well built and simple to adjust
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RandomGuy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I use these with normal trainers as I commute short distances a lot. can't comment on SPD function yet but they provide pretty comfortable platform to pedal from. They are not completely flush; They do protrude about 8mm in the middle which you can sometimes feel through soft trainers. This has not made the ride uncomfortable though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erich1955
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

easy release and great price.

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I rode the same pair of Shimano DX pedals for 11 years and was afraid to change them in case the new ones didn't release as easily,
Appears I was worrying for nothing because the new ones work even better than the old ones with no breaking in period required and at half the price too. Can't beat that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RUBILTRA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GOOD BIT OF KIT.

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
EASY TO USE,CAN BE USED WITH NORMAL TRAINERS. GOOD BIT OF KIT FOR THE MONEY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gills1970

Good economy choice

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
These pedals look OK and function as SPD cleats perfectly well.
What they don't do is function effectively if you want the option of wearing normal shoes on the other aide as both sides have clips.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lapeno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product and speedy delivery.

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent product, was delivered in official Shimano packaging and all parts were present as described. As yet have not applied then to my Voodoo Aizan 29er as just getting back into Mtbing but looking forward to using them when my confidence has raised a little.
All in all though excellent service from Evans cycles.
10/10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OB1OB2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Quality SPD replacement pedal

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought to replace existing flat pedals on a mountain bike. Good quality pedals, easy to adjust and easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Neil99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedal for mixed footwear use

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Needed an SPD pedal that would also be okay for use with trainers on my mountain bike.
These given a good platform to work from in both cases at a very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alan99
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good pedals!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
My first use of pedals with cleats alongside Shimano SH-MT43L shoes. Easy to fit and adjust tension and work a treat off-road once you get used to getting your feet out. Reduced price for OE yet came properly boxed with all parts and instructions. Very happy and definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
XCross
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
great pedal for the price. Easy to clip in and very easy to get out of in a rush on minimum cleat tension - Saved me falling off at least twice in first couple of days! Still secure though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dex86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Outstanding value for money

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Clips in and out really easy. Use these on the mountain bike and work really well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mattyk1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great Entry Level SPD Pedal

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These were the first SPD pedals I've bought and I didn't want to spend a fortune in case I don't take to the idea of being clipped in. Even though they were on offer, and cheaper than other pedals I've bought in the past and been a bit disappointed with, when they arrived I could instantly tell these were a quality item. They were easy to fit and work well with my SPD shoes, and thanks to them being easy to adjust I haven't fallen off yet. Great for long rides 'clipped in', or just cycling to the shops in a pair of trainers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jo88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great first time clip in choice

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
As i had just made the move to clip in pedals i was recommended by a friend to try these as they gave a good transtiional option. Easy to fit and looked good they have been a great first choice. Good value for money with Evans offering them at a cheaper rate for an OE sourced product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eduzito123
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good quality

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The pedals are good for the money.
They do not get clearance in the bearings after hard used with dust and rain.
Of course this is not the lighter pedal on the market. But for the money we pay we couldn't get a lighter one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
khfotos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

confident ride

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've tried a few types of SPD but find these the most comfortable, I have greater confidence in them because of the outer cage, they are very easy to get in to and out of. I've not had skinned knees or elbows for a while!!!!
Easy enough to adjust too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buzz58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality cleats

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
First set of large pedal cleats I have had. Really impressed. Good easy operation. Easy to fit. Bikes rides well with o without engaging cleat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fergus73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great Product

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have these on my MTB and Road bike.I find them comfortable with good balance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
virtuosity
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent, solid product

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Came with good cleats, very easy to fit, not too heavy, but clearly high quality. You can just about use them without the cleats (Wouldn't recommend anything too intense without though!)
Overall, very pleased with the purchase, and came with the usual service you've come to expect from Evans, very quick, no-fuss etc.
Cannot go wrong, at this price - especially for a first time SPD'er.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surfertom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good introduction to cleat pedals

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Fitted to my mountain bike to aid rehab following hip surgery with the bike on a turbo trainer. The pedals now allow me to jump on the bike with trainers to do a quick shop trip or nursery pick up. Excellent product if like me you want to try cleats for the first time. Practise unclipping as much as you can. You will still fall off so choose a soft trail like I did and you end up in a puddle of cow poo.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>