Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)

Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.745 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
47 out of 47Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice pedals

Posted03 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Work well with or without cleats. Good value. Quick delivery. Just what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grest profuct

Posted18 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
This is the first time I've tried clipless and I must say I am deaf chuffed. Easy of getting feet in and out is great and I have not fell over (yet)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job

Posted06 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Used these pedals straight from the box they release easy and needed only slight adjustment which the instructions explain how to do perfectly along with maintenance tips, they turn easily without any snags or tightness. The cleats are included in the box.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Phone

quality and very good price

Posted17 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
quality and very good price. I love Evans Cycles...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

really handy

Posted18 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
I love these pedals and have a set on a mountain bike and a cyclocross bike. Great as they both fit the same pair of cycling shoes and you can also use them for short distances or messing around with the kids in normal shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Very cheap but good quality

Posted20 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
My fist set of thes and I couldn't be happier with them good quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

great product, definitely recommend

Posted11 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great pedals. Got them with a £20 voucher I hot from Evans Cycles for redeeming a cycle scheme certificate. Great shop and my new place for every thing cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals - need a bit of setup

Posted04 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Bought these pedals having never used cleats before and I love them. I found the initial setup straight out of the box was a tad stiff and I had issues getting the cleats to engage, but a quick bit of allen key work on the tension adjuster made them easier to use. Find them a tiny bit uncomfortable in standard trainers but I don't use them like this too much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product at a great price

Posted22 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Great product at a great price easy to fit and feel great to ride with especially when off roading easy to clip in and out plus the outer frame helps if you don't want to clip in or just want to pedal on trainers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality and functionality

Posted13 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
Appears to be good quality and value. First time to use SPD so this design was perfect as it allows use of ordinary boot/shoe. Used for for 4 weeks and it functions well so well that I have not found the need to revert back to ordinary cycle shoes. Easy to engage and disengage. Realy please with purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Canada
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Second pair

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
The first pair of these I used for nearly 15 years before they started to fall apart. So I bought a second pair and will continue to use the old pair on my commuter bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use

Posted07 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
First time with SPDs, after getting advise from the staff at Evans's decided to try them, they are easy to fit to the bike, and easy to adjust to the level you like, found them real easy to get in and out of, and they are very comfortable, to use.
the best thing I like about them is you can also use them as normal pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and practical

Posted01 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitted these to my GT mtb. First outing was the Evans Woking MTB Ride It. Not too extreme a test but I was very happy with the ease that I could clip in and out of the spd fitting or by slightly adjusting the position of my feet just pedal on the flat surround should I not wish to have my foot tied to the pedal. Will also be practical to pop to the pub/shops etc in just trainers if I should wish to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted31 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
Pedals are comfortable enough to use with flat shoes when not in the hills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great hybrid pedal!

Posted20 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this pedal as a way to be able to use flats as well as clips so that I could go on shorter rides (down to the shops) as well as longer rides using the clips.
Since I receaved this product I have been more than happy with its performance aswell as it's easy adjustability for cleats. Very happy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

shimano mtb m424

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none so far
Fast delivery, clear instructions And pedals are great quality with easy adjustment from novice to more experienced rider
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good pedels

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good pedals just what I needed work well with my shoes
just remember to decleet when you stop or you fall over lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Sturdy, easy to use, easy to unclip

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Used these after recommendations for my first clip in experience on a mountain bike - really easy to use; easy to clip in, easy to unclip & (so far!) haven't clipped in accidentally. Very comfy to use & pretty robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

Posted22 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Using these pedals for my commute, easy to use, quick to get moving then clip in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Excellent prduct

Posted20 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great product for the money does what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>