Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)

Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 33Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jack16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great hybrid pedal!

Posted20 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this pedal as a way to be able to use flats as well as clips so that I could go on shorter rides (down to the shops) as well as longer rides using the clips.
Since I receaved this product I have been more than happy with its performance aswell as it's easy adjustability for cleats. Very happy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dixy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

shimano mtb m424

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none so far
Fast delivery, clear instructions And pedals are great quality with easy adjustment from novice to more experienced rider
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NikkiT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good pedels

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good pedals just what I needed work well with my shoes
just remember to decleet when you stop or you fall over lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CFCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Sturdy, easy to use, easy to unclip

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Used these after recommendations for my first clip in experience on a mountain bike - really easy to use; easy to clip in, easy to unclip & (so far!) haven't clipped in accidentally. Very comfy to use & pretty robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisBD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

Posted22 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Using these pedals for my commute, easy to use, quick to get moving then clip in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandinyerface
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Excellent prduct

Posted20 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great product for the money does what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DiscoDan74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

MTB clips for Road

Posted08 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I've put these onto a Specialized Secteur Elite, and I can get away with riding in flats and cleats fairly comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scrappy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect for me

Posted05 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to fit to bike and straightforward to adjust how easy it is to release foot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Welshman10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good solid product

Posted19 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Purchased these pedals to go onto my new road bike so I could wear the same shoes on both my TB and road bike .
Needed a bit of adjustment at first but new work fine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salt37
Country:Slovakia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product. Recommended

Posted02 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent product, As advertised and excellent delivery to a not easy destination.
Excellent Customer service advice from representitive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Conrob
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic product fantastic price

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, great price
These pedals have made my cycling so much easier. Great product great price. Will order again
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gavin07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent value

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The pedals are strong and good quality for a value price. Easy to use and fit perfectly with my shimano MTB shoes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Badumtish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good versatile pedal

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I chose these pedals because I had never used spd' before and wanted the added confidence of being able to unclip and pedal to a stop at junctions etc . I am lucky enough to have a daily commute that is a mixture of offr road and streets , the platform style cage of these pedals makes them ideal for me , easy to clip into and out fom and for short journeys can easily wear regular footware and ride platform style .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baz02
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted29 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great transition pedal from flats to spd. Well built and simple to adjust
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RandomGuy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent

Posted06 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I use these with normal trainers as I commute short distances a lot. can't comment on SPD function yet but they provide pretty comfortable platform to pedal from. They are not completely flush; They do protrude about 8mm in the middle which you can sometimes feel through soft trainers. This has not made the ride uncomfortable though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erich1955
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

easy release and great price.

Posted01 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I rode the same pair of Shimano DX pedals for 11 years and was afraid to change them in case the new ones didn't release as easily,
Appears I was worrying for nothing because the new ones work even better than the old ones with no breaking in period required and at half the price too. Can't beat that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RUBILTRA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GOOD BIT OF KIT.

Posted13 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
EASY TO USE,CAN BE USED WITH NORMAL TRAINERS. GOOD BIT OF KIT FOR THE MONEY.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gills1970

Good economy choice

Posted15 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
These pedals look OK and function as SPD cleats perfectly well.
What they don't do is function effectively if you want the option of wearing normal shoes on the other aide as both sides have clips.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lapeno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product and speedy delivery.

Posted18 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent product, was delivered in official Shimano packaging and all parts were present as described. As yet have not applied then to my Voodoo Aizan 29er as just getting back into Mtbing but looking forward to using them when my confidence has raised a little.
All in all though excellent service from Evans cycles.
10/10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OB1OB2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Quality SPD replacement pedal

Posted14 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought to replace existing flat pedals on a mountain bike. Good quality pedals, easy to adjust and easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>