Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator

Birzman Chain Wear Indicator

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Review 1 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
luca1975
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It certainly does the job, and as a bonus it is really well crafted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good value for Money

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good product to have if you are a vivid cyclist and needs to know when your chain needs to be changed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChuckFH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Basic, but cheap!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This little gauge is something every cyclist should have in their toolkit, as it will allow you to keep track of chain wear before it reaches a point where it starts to damage other parts of the drivetrain (the cassette particularly).
The gauge itself is very simple and is basically a "go/no-go" device. You hook one end into a link of the chain and then lay it along the top of the chain; if you can't fit either prong into the chain, then the chain is still good. If you can fit the longer prong, the chain is at least 0.75% worn and should be replaced. If you can fit both the longer and shorter prongs, the chain is 1% or more worn and, as well as being replaced, you should inspect the cassette for damage too.
My only complaint is that because the tool is stamped out of single piece of metal, there are a few rough edges, but for the price I guess it's to be expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EdipDi
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does it's job

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
It is supposed to measure chain wear. The tool does it perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alex222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective and good value

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does exactly what you would expect at a great price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shawdogg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful bit of kit

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this as i'd never checked my chain after circa 5k miles on my first road bike. Have now replaced chain and rear cassette and will be keeping a closer eye on it in future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrJMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

sound item great price

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I don't know what price these are normally but i'm pretty certain i paid about £3 and it was free delivery, so can't grumble and it arrived mega quick.
a super simple item, if it falls between links you may want to think about a new chain before anything else suffers.
with the poor weather thus far keeping an eye on chain wear should be high up your list.
only got 4 stars because I've seen some which look pretty, but for something thats used once in a blue moon it's bang on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daveevad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This gauge is easy to use and does the job as well as far more expensive guages
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sherpadom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job!!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This tool is what it says on the tin…for the price it is a good buy and would recommend it to all fellow cyclists.
Thank you EVANS CYCLES!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
helytop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use, and valuable for all regular cyclists

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: functional only
This is a cheap and simple to use chain checker that will show you whether you need to think about replacing your chain - or whether it is stretched so you should replace it at once. I like this indicator - I have worn out many chainsets by not starting with basics such as this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.