Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator

Birzman Chain Wear Indicator

Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Review 1 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Kris200

Posted06 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, saves you money on trashing cassettes
I have gone through a load of cassettes in the past purely as a result of not bothering and being able to check chain wear. I did not want to spend much for something so cheap to press out. This is about as much as I'm willing to spend so got it.
This makes checking your chain so quick and easy and far better than messing about with a ruler. I check mine once or twice a week and will now replace the chain on 0.75%, they say if you let it go to 1% it's a new chain and cassette. They also recommend changing cassette after 3 chains anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted18 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Solid well made product by Birzman. Very simple and easy to use measures both 0.75% and 1% chain wear. Also has chain hook/support for use when linking/breaking chain to stop it falling on floor. Item is not as picture (mine wasn't anyway), it is similar to Topeak item (top half), pleasant surprise. Simple well made tool, does as intended and used regularly excellent VFM that will save your drivetrain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Why Pay More?

Posted10 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great value product which does exactly what it should... to check your chain wear.. has a very handy chain holder for linking back up on the other side too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does the job

Posted24 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
nice and cheap and does the job well
would buy again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice and cheap

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
what else do you need. does the job and it was very cheap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the trick-but be sure you know what you want.

Posted18 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Definitely does as promised. I am a happy customer. However, look carefully at what various chain wear indicators measure before making your purchase. I am happy with this unit measuring 0.75-1.0 as I use it for my commuter/city bike. However, I would prefer using a unit that measures 0.5-0.75 for a high-end road bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

simples

Posted04 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: not available in green
It's so light and easy to use. I just leave it in my bag and check all the chains in the bike shed once a month.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality

Posted19 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It certainly does the job, and as a bonus it is really well crafted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good value for Money

Posted04 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good product to have if you are a vivid cyclist and needs to know when your chain needs to be changed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Basic, but cheap!

Posted25 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This little gauge is something every cyclist should have in their toolkit, as it will allow you to keep track of chain wear before it reaches a point where it starts to damage other parts of the drivetrain (the cassette particularly).
The gauge itself is very simple and is basically a "go/no-go" device. You hook one end into a link of the chain and then lay it along the top of the chain; if you can't fit either prong into the chain, then the chain is still good. If you can fit the longer prong, the chain is at least 0.75% worn and should be replaced. If you can fit both the longer and shorter prongs, the chain is 1% or more worn and, as well as being replaced, you should inspect the cassette for damage too.
My only complaint is that because the tool is stamped out of single piece of metal, there are a few rough edges, but for the price I guess it's to be expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does it's job

Posted25 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
It is supposed to measure chain wear. The tool does it perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective and good value

Posted05 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does exactly what you would expect at a great price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful bit of kit

Posted09 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this as i'd never checked my chain after circa 5k miles on my first road bike. Have now replaced chain and rear cassette and will be keeping a closer eye on it in future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

sound item great price

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I don't know what price these are normally but i'm pretty certain i paid about £3 and it was free delivery, so can't grumble and it arrived mega quick.
a super simple item, if it falls between links you may want to think about a new chain before anything else suffers.
with the poor weather thus far keeping an eye on chain wear should be high up your list.
only got 4 stars because I've seen some which look pretty, but for something thats used once in a blue moon it's bang on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted26 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This gauge is easy to use and does the job as well as far more expensive guages
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job!!

Posted10 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This tool is what it says on the tin…for the price it is a good buy and would recommend it to all fellow cyclists.
Thank you EVANS CYCLES!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Birzman Chain Wear Indicator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use, and valuable for all regular cyclists

Posted30 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: functional only
This is a cheap and simple to use chain checker that will show you whether you need to think about replacing your chain - or whether it is stretched so you should replace it at once. I like this indicator - I have worn out many chainsets by not starting with basics such as this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.