Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn

Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn

Piercing 140 decibel sound, 2 modes, including quieter 'Park' mode, Versatile design fits ALL styles of bike, Rubber trigger stretches round ALL handlebars, Thumb rests comfortably on trigger, Safe and easy to operate, even when braking, Easy to install, IP44 (splash proof), 2xAAA batteries included, Only 96g (including batteries).
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Review 1 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
forshaw1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Ear-splittingly good

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
This is a great device for letting people in vehickles aware of your presence. My only gripe is it sound like an alarm and not a horn.
A horn noise would have much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mohawk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Found it resonably straightforward to fit, and it is definitley loud. However made from lower quality material than I would have preferred, and I definitely could not see that the cost was justified.
Is also not rechargeable, and the AAA batteries it runs off don't hold a great deal of charge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Donnie10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, easy to use, good clear sound

PostedApril 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Some bells are difficult to use with gloves, so I started looking for something to get over the problem, and found the hornit to be the answer. It can even alert dog walkers with earphones in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tobleronemaster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Very Loud, Very Lightweight

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Since I’ve had this product it has made a big difference to my daily commute. People, cars & buses are all alerted to my approach when using the Hornit.
The device is lightweight, very durable & definitely very loud, it is great value, good quality, looks great and is a must for city commuting
commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aleph
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This is a serious piece of kit that ensures that pedestrians, motorists and other cycles will know you're coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
equillydire
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Every bike should have one.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: loud
Very loud - but not all road users seem to be able to connect the noise and the bike.
Essential to alert the daydreamers of your presence but gets an aggressive response from those that don't want to see you.
Park mode is a tad aggressive for the trail but better than nothing or a bell.
Overall-gives me more confidence in traffic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very noisy as advertised. consequently very effect

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, great noise
Cons: slightly fragile need cable ties to fully secure
very noisy as advertised. consequently very effective. Scared the commuting lemmings on their way to victoria station. Scattering as the Red Sea, thus imbedding a divine power, as the tumultuous tone terrified
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sgcyclist
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Loud bicycle horn

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I was looking for a compact bicycle horn to alert other road users to my presence. This one fits the bill perfectly. Loud enough to be heard. Compact enough to fit on my road bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sylviane
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Misleading description

PostedJune 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The quieter "park" mode is deafening and is not appropriate for a gentle warning to pedestrians, I need to keep a small bell on my bike on top of the horn. Disappointed the description was misleading...
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Istanbul
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The cyclist's must have

PostedMay 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, piercing sound
Cons: sound type
The sound is really powerfull, using this in close spaces is a torture machine for ears. The design is perfect, trigger very confortable to use.
The only con i've found is the sound himself, sound more like an alarm for house than "road horn" ...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.