Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bells & Horns or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn

Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn

Piercing 140 decibel sound, 2 modes, including quieter 'Park' mode, Versatile design fits ALL styles of bike, Rubber trigger stretches round ALL handlebars, Thumb rests comfortably on trigger, Safe and easy to operate, even when braking, Easy to install, IP44 (splash proof), 2xAAA batteries included, Only 96g (including batteries).
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
16 out of 18Would you recommend this product to a friend?89%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Review 1 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
arte
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

during a downdpour horn went to permanent blast !

Posted27 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, great sound
Cons: not waterproof, battery cover fiddly to remove
I have been using the device daily for two years in all sorts of weather and never had a problem until today. In the middle of a downpour it suddenly went on to permanent send. I removed it , but not having a small enough screwdriver could not undo the battery cover and switch it off. I resorted to brute force and destroyed the horn to get silence. I am guessing that water ingress shorted the internal circuit and set it off. Unable to tell from the remnants if this was so. Suggest a more simple battery cover which is easy to remove would solve the problem I will modify my replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Marvalus
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Not Reliable

Posted17 June 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Poor quality
Disappointed!!
bought this on the 16th of June 2015 and fitted it to my bike, used it 3-4 times to get the feel of where the trigger button was located,
by the next day on the 17th it completely stopped working.
replaced batteries and tried again but nothing, considering this is one of the most expensive bike horns and it's meant to be a safety device,
it's not very reliable.
It only worked for 1 day, Returned to Evans for Refund
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
btee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

great product

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
really loud! just what I needed. Neat that button is seperate from the horn. Horn easy to fit and to take off.Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Streetrider1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good

Posted08 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This does what it says on the box very loud. The main body is a little big and the battery compartment was little bit awkward with a tiny screw. A bit expensive but overall a good product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RCITGuy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Horn is an understatement

Posted07 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This thing is serious! Calling it a horn is like calling a michelin star meal "a bit of nosh"
Its loud, seriously loud, which is odd because when you pick it up it weights almost nothing.
The single tone park mode is also a great idea..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spaceshrew
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Get the horn

Posted21 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to fit, loud
Cons: Unattractive
A great product, it's compact and easy to fit, i've fitted mine around the stem to the handlebars, it's out of the way there and not that noticeable.
My only issue is finding the button in that instant second you need it, and that's no fault of the horn.
Overal a great product, and essential IMO when riding in the City.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KENDOO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great product

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Serves the purpose and easy to use. It makes cycling experience comfortable and enjoyable.
The lightweight is also fascinating making maintenance really fun.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrjaybugsymalon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

sounds good to me

Posted03 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
top item i bust my last one when i fell in the canal after clipping a tunnel in solihull lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
forshaw1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Ear-splittingly good

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
This is a great device for letting people in vehickles aware of your presence. My only gripe is it sound like an alarm and not a horn.
A horn noise would have much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mohawk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted26 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Found it resonably straightforward to fit, and it is definitley loud. However made from lower quality material than I would have preferred, and I definitely could not see that the cost was justified.
Is also not rechargeable, and the AAA batteries it runs off don't hold a great deal of charge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Donnie10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, easy to use, good clear sound

Posted23 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Some bells are difficult to use with gloves, so I started looking for something to get over the problem, and found the hornit to be the answer. It can even alert dog walkers with earphones in.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tobleronemaster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Very Loud, Very Lightweight

Posted17 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Since I’ve had this product it has made a big difference to my daily commute. People, cars & buses are all alerted to my approach when using the Hornit.
The device is lightweight, very durable & definitely very loud, it is great value, good quality, looks great and is a must for city commuting
commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aleph
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted27 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This is a serious piece of kit that ensures that pedestrians, motorists and other cycles will know you're coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
equillydire
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Every bike should have one.

Posted27 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: loud
Very loud - but not all road users seem to be able to connect the noise and the bike.
Essential to alert the daydreamers of your presence but gets an aggressive response from those that don't want to see you.
Park mode is a tad aggressive for the trail but better than nothing or a bell.
Overall-gives me more confidence in traffic.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very noisy as advertised. consequently very effect

Posted14 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, great noise
Cons: slightly fragile need cable ties to fully secure
very noisy as advertised. consequently very effective. Scared the commuting lemmings on their way to victoria station. Scattering as the Red Sea, thus imbedding a divine power, as the tumultuous tone terrified
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sgcyclist
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Loud bicycle horn

Posted14 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I was looking for a compact bicycle horn to alert other road users to my presence. This one fits the bill perfectly. Loud enough to be heard. Compact enough to fit on my road bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sylviane
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Misleading description

Posted18 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The quieter "park" mode is deafening and is not appropriate for a gentle warning to pedestrians, I need to keep a small bell on my bike on top of the horn. Disappointed the description was misleading...
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hornit DB140 Cycle Horn
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Istanbul
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The cyclist's must have

Posted18 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, piercing sound
Cons: sound type
The sound is really powerfull, using this in close spaces is a torture machine for ears. The design is perfect, trigger very confortable to use.
The only con i've found is the sound himself, sound more like an alarm for house than "road horn" ...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.