Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir

Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir

New MPE film provides taste-free qualities of polyethylene with the added benefit of extra strength over typical PE films. The "M" in MPE stands for metallocene, a special catalyst used in the manufacture of the PE resin. It forms a PE that is more consistent and even in structure, resulting in greater strength and resiliency, making it ideal for reservoirs. This added durability allows it to handle hot water. It is BPA & PVC free, of course
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Review 1 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jim101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Good and bad

Posted28 November 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: functional, great bite valve, easy to fill
Cons: Expensive, doubts about long term reliability
I got one of these bladders supplied in my Viper pack just over a year ago.
Good points: Great capacity, Easy to clean and dry, excellent bite valve, magnetic clip works well on the Viper, semi rigid back and handle makes filling easy, nice wide neck.
Bad points: The large cap is quite fiddly to close and is liable to cross threading and leaks - you just need to take care when closing it. After a year of light use the plastic nib that the feeder pipe attaches to has developed a crack and leaks - basically making the whole bladder redundant. This is a shame as the rest of the bladder is very robust.
So overall, great features but cannot recommend at this price if it lasts only a year. Will see if Evans or Osprey can do anything to help in case this is an isolated fault.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
weatherington80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good not as good as camel if not for osprey pack

Posted12 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Had a few over the years and find much better than camelbak in osprey packs, however had few bizarre leaks which have come and gone. Don't think as good as previous camelbaks in general but def worth if own an osprey pack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

works very well

Posted07 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
excellent build and materials quality, does the job! love the magnetic attachment feature - works really well. water stays "taste-free" too - no nasty chemical or plastic taste.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
James81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect for touring

Posted04 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Brought this product for a tour around Northern France. Worked brilliantly. Easy to fill, mouth piece worked well and the magnetic clip for the mouth piece meant it avoided getting in the way when cycling at speed. Overall brilliant product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prinx
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect replacement for osprey bags

Posted23 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
product is good and has the perfect fit for any osprey bags that needs reservoir.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

clean effective bladder, better design

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
finally after years of tweaks and tucks, osprey have a product to compete against the camelbak, i have a couple of osprey packs but never got on with the bladders. better design and shape keeping the fluid where it should be closer to the back , but with better weight distribution.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natteravnen
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cool Water bladder

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Perfect water reservoir, fore my Osprey Talon 33 backpack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vipul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Mr

Posted13 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Reading professional reviews it seems that the rigid back would be a clincher and I'm pleased to say it really is. Cleaning, filling, and inserting into the backpack are a doddle with this design.
The only, slight, issue is the antiseptic taste of the water as we failed to wash the reservoir thoroughly enough before the first use - it was my fault but a gentle warning on the packaging would have prevented this!
Overall a great buy at a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gmatt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Does the job.

Posted31 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Seems to do the job and fits nicely inside my osprey pack, can't really say anymore than that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chew
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

Posted02 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Used this product for the first time on a 5 hour mtb run works well it's easily inserted into the pack because of the hard back and easily refilled when still in the pack
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jhay0623
Country:Taiwan
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Design and east to use

Posted04 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
this product is with good design and the handler is very easy to use to fill water , but the cover to hard to screw tightly (need to get used to it for a while). But since the others design of this water tank is very good, I will recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mandywoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great quality, exactly what you expect from Osprey

Posted06 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I love Osprey products, have been a fan of their rucksacks which are excellent quality, so thought this would be a good purchase. I've only used it a couple of times, but it seems great so far.
It's easy to fill, the straw is a good length, the magnets are strong, it doesn't smell funny and you don't have to suck like a crazy person to get the water out!
Cons: The thick plastic backboard makes it slightly heavier than alternatives, and also with regards to cleaning - the Osprey Hydraulics cleaning pack is £20!
Would definitely recommend this to others and will probably end up buying the 3L at some point!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.