Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals

Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals

Each pedal has 10 adjustable and replaceable pins to customise the level of grip you require. High quality DU bushings and two sealed cartridge bearings per pedal help to spread the stress of heavy impacts. Lip seals prevent the ingress of dirt and prolonging pedal life between services. Forged 6061-T6 alloy pedal body and CroMo axle for strength and reliability at an excellent price (438g per pair).
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Review 1 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rayrayy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Plenty of grip

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These pedals are a nice size not too small ,they have the small pins sticking up which help with grip,very easy to fit ,and a not too expensive ,also look good and are very good quality.highly rated
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jango
Country:Spain
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

top product

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
good pedals grippy as .... , no idea how they are in mud as it dry and dusty here but cheap and delived to Fueteventura in 8 days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
benp2504
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

lightweight, and very good grip.

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
lightweight, and because of the studs you never struggle for grip, and in the couple of rides I've used them on, they've had to take a knock or 2 on rocks/logs, knocks which may of smashed other peddles, they look good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kris100981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very nice pedals

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got these pedals for my hardtail to replace original ones. Must say I'm very impressed, they are flat and wide and got so much grip on them!! I use my FiveTen shoes and to move my foot have to lift it first. Would definitely recomend to anyone, worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chuckyone87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Pedals

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
they fit perfectly with my holdfasts straps. I started using the pedals as is but soon found that with my straps and the pins there is way too much grip making it difficult to slip foot out.
other than that this is a high quality pedal with great grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
littledragon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Good grippy pedels

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These are fairly silm and light pedals and with a pair of 5-10 shoes a massive improvement on the plastic ones that came with the mountain bike. Would recommend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miller2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent pedals

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is ideal for off road cycling giving plenty of grip and with the large platform helps get the power down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DFraser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great pedals

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none yet
Was really looking for some pedals with extra grip for a bit of extra confidence going downhill, these really delivered, feels like my feet are stuck to them, a massive improvement on the ones that came standard with my bike.
They also look great and are fairly lightweight, got to say I'm impressed with the build quality as well, would highly recommend, great pedal for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tiberio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Great grippy non-SPD pedals

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: no instructions
I bought these pedals to upgrade my standard pedals on my Trek 4500 mountainbike. The pedals themselves come in a yellow and compact cardboard box with not much room for anything other than the pedals. Pedals are easy to install with any pedal wrench or can be installed at any bike shop in less than 5mins. The pedals feel heavy and secure on the bike and make you feel confident that your feet are not going to slip off the pedals thanks to the pins. The pins themselves do not dig too far into the sole of your shoes but still provide enough grip to make your feet stay in position.
I'm using them mainly for mountainbiking and since they are not SPD pedals I feel much more safe knowing that I can easily get my feet of the pedals in an emergency.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simonmack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good grip, light, easy to fit - what more do you want?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jcb29
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Love these pedals. Big platform - easy to power from toe to midfoot with the right shoes.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carl1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight, strong and beautifully designed. The grip system works well and this broad pedal gives plenty of traction in almost any footwear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nuke Proof 2013 Proton Alloy-CroMo Flat Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chikachik
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality build and finish at a realistic price

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: weight obsessives may demand sub 400 grams
I looked at a lot of pedals before choosing the Nukeproof Protons.
i chose the Protons as they have a really large foot bed, without
carrying too much weight. I also liked the matte silver finish.
The protons looks really smart fitted and are clearly well put together.
The fully adjustable pins are well spaced and provide vicious grip.
Although £50 isn't cheep for a flat pedal, I think the Nuke proof protons
offer the best value to quality, function and finish available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.