Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Shoes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.729 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
59 out of 59Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Donbshy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Decent product at a fair price

Posted15 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The only real challenge I have with all clip in shoes is that they are all a little narrow. These Shimano's are no exception and only really felt tight once I was on the bike and well in to a 20 mile ride.
Having said that the quality is excellent and they look great, the fixing is firm and responsive and they are just as easy to remove.
Overall a decent product, an 7 1/2 out of 10 for me, where they would be up to an 8 1/2 if the price was 10-15% lower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Roscoe1989
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great starter shoe for first timers.

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I bought this shoe from Evans after finding it cheaper elsewhere. They price matched the product and had it in-store within two days.
The shoe fits really nicely, and is very comfortable to cycle in. Obviously the more you spend the less shoe you get (weight and material wise) but this is a great shoe for people just starting out or who ride leisurely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Brianaal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent road shoe

Posted25 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Read the reviews and ordered one size bigger than normal and it was right. Shoes are easy to adjust and quick to put on and off. Very rigid soul plate and lots of ventilation, even underneath. I am very pleased and hope they last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonnyb12321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First pair of road shoes

Posted24 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
These are my first road shoes. I purchased these along with some pedals/cleats and found the transition from trainers and toe clips to be an easy one. They are firm enough to deliver power on the up and downward stroke of each cycle of the pedals. Very comfortable and lightweight. They don't move around at all and my feet fit perfectly. I like the ratchet style clip at the top.
All round great product. I'm not experience enough in other shoes or how they work compared to other brands but if you are new to road biking and want a decent pair of shoes then look no further.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Craig1991
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant first cycling shoes

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these and they are brilliant, so comfy.
First pair of road shoes and I have no cons.
Look great and fit like a glove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dougster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

The product has great features.

Posted06 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: feet get cold in inclement weather conditions.
Great looking, comfortable shoe. In colder weather would recommend you wear two pair of socks as your feet will get cold.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
keithdiy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

good comfortable fit, stylish

Posted30 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Good looking shoes, fit well ratchet fastener gives shoe security easy clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
OldPeacock
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great First Shoes

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
These are my first ever pair of road cycling shoes, so I cannot compare them to anything I have previously had, but for a first shoe, they tick all the boxes.
The price was good, and of those I tried, these were by far the best fitting (for someone with a slightly wider foot). I am normally a size 10/44 and ended up buying a size 45 but these are perfect.
They provide plenty of ventilation to keep your feet cool and the velcro and ratchet fasteners are simple to use and tighten the shoe nicely on the foot.
I have no problem in saying that I would purchase these again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
MikeC73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Great value for money shoe

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I'm new to road cycling and clip in's as predominantly a MTB rider on flats.
I have been out 3 times now in this shoe and feels great, good locking and adjusting system, looks good (at the moment) and for the money a really great buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Davros876
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe for a good price

Posted21 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This being my first proper cycle shoe i can't really compare it but i can say that its comfortable and pretty accurate to size. I ordered slightly too small but that's more my fault than Evans. as always their customer service was great and they exchanged it in store. I'm a UK 10 and 45 fits fine.
The top has a sizable mesh section and while i can see this being a good feature in the summer, it's a little bit cold in these winter/spring months. not really a big issue but something worth knowing. overall I'd recommend these a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Smeagol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This is a good product

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
As my first pair of cycling shoes I am very happy, they are comfortable, light weight and seem like good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TimfromDubai1
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Despite living in Dubai, the product arrived within 2 working days - amazing! Fantastic quality cycle shoe at great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
TheTweenies
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

High quality good fitting shoes

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Have bought Shimano shoes over a number of years and always found them to be high quality and durable. These are proving to be the same.
The white finish is a slightly grainy leather look rather than smooth, so they are a little more difficult to keep clean than the R170.
The fixed side of the ratchet buckle is screwed to the shoe and has two positions to ensure you don't run out of ratchet adjustment if you have a particularly narrow instep. This is a nice feature, but not obvious until you read the instructions that come with the shoes (who reads shoe instructions?!)
As is well known with Shimano shoes, order one size up from your usual size, they come up small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Calliwaggle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great shoe at a reasonable price

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: too much ventilation
Ratchet adjustment very good. Far too much ventilation for the winter and even with an overshoe the wind blows through the sole. I've put gaffer tape over the holes!
I'm a size 9.5UK but the 45 fitted well so the sizes are very small. Order a size bigger than usual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Geordwah
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great shoe

Posted09 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Ample adjustments available through the shoe. All clips and straps feel secure strong. Comfortable on long rides and will offer good ventilation come the summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
Galwaybay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Posted18 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Shoes looks good fits well very comfortable good value wore them this week rode 100 miles no problems
I Would recommend this product
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Kizzafnz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Lightweight cool

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not great winter
Slick looking lightweight very comfortable
Reasonable price compared with others
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hattiesdad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

snug, stiff sole and good looking

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
these shoes are great. They have two Velcro straps and a micro-adjustable ratchet system which allows a snug fit.
They aren't all-weather of course, they're summer shoes - hence the really good ventilation slats in the sole, which are meshed. But in the hot weather these coped really well at home and abroad.
The only slight criticism I have is that the cleats themselves take a lot of adjusting by trial and error and it would help for some lines to be etched on the sole for easier placing and subsequent re-placing.
Great shoes, look good, competitively priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malice1609

Cheap & Comfortable

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was a bit surprise that i didn't expect that it would be comfortable & light. Bought this as i need a spare shoe as im using Sidi and don't want to waste it. Been riding with it for about 500miles/week and i can't complaint. Great shoe tbh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great shoe is a large size

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've found finding cycling shoes difficult but these were excellent. Really nice shoes and comfy. Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>