Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Shoes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
85 out of 85Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
It was bought:Guildford

Very comfy

Posted15 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
These are extremely comfortable and were very good value. The clip mechanism is very good once you work it out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

great shoes

Posted12 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
great shoes. tried every pair in the shop that was in my size,and that was quiet a few. kept coming back to these beautiful and very comfy shimano shoes. now having ridden them a few times, my first impression is still the same, comfiest shoe i have ever had. thankyou evans for your help and great choice. Regards Paul
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great shoes

Posted10 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Fantastic value for money.
Good fit and easy to wear.
A good looking shoe and very well designed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
It was bought:Online

good first shoe

Posted03 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
well priced, comfy, stylish, no complaints so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Great feeling shoes and superb value for money. Comfortable and light and very well ventilated comfortable during summer and winter riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great shoes

Posted30 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Excellent shoes at a reasonable price! Particularly for moving in as a beginner to using clip ins. Solid shoe with a nice dial fitting system to adjust, with two additional straps. Comfortable even over long journeys,slightly heavier than some expensive models but nothing of a concern.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Does the job

Posted19 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable
Fits OK, feels OK when riding, get the impression they are too well ventilated for deep winter, but are OK in mid November.
Cleats need to be checked regularly and tightened well else they will come loose.
Shoes look good out of the box but mark up pretty quick - no matter if you care about functions and don't care about looks much like me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good price

Posted18 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I've had no problems with this shoe. Buy a bigger size though, I'm usually a 12 and the 13 is well fitted. 12 far too tight.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Posted17 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Great pair of shoes for anyone converting to a proper road set up for the first time.
Brought them with the Shimano R540 SPD SL Pedals and its been a great combination.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Amazing

Posted16 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great fit and great product. Commute daily so fit was important
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Posted14 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Best price I could find,easy to use and really comfy good alround shoe
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great introductory shoe

Posted13 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, stiff sole
As an entry priced cycling shoe you really can't go wrong with these. They are stiff and comfortable and the extra width is much appreciated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Good solid shoe

Posted15 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Good solid shoe, needed a 43 when usually take a 42 though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great value with price match

Posted14 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Used Evans price match on this shoe which worked well, quick and efficient. Replacement for a previous pair of shimano (RO85) so aware of the narrow nature of product, which works for me. Usual size 44 felt a bit tight on this occasion but easily exchanged at local store for a size 45. Buyers might want to consider when ordering. Ratchet mech is useful and easy to operate. Like the fine mesh inserts in the venting holes in soles. Comfortable for range of use from commuting through to 100mile rides. Average weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Very Comfortable Shoes.

Posted12 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought a road bike so got some clipless pedals. Bought these shoes because they were cheap and had good experience of previous pair of Shimano shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good entry-level shoes

Posted08 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good value. Comfortable and lightweight road shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

feather light shoes

Posted04 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
total comfort and support all at once in usual Shimano quality with easy fastenings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Secure fit, lightweight

Posted30 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, secure fit, adjustable while riding
Velcro straps are OK, but the ratchet main strap holds the shoe on the foot well, plus easily adjusted while riding. Weight is good - significantly less than the Sidi being replaced. Shoes are medium circumference revolving weight, so that's quite important to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

A good shoe

Posted29 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The first pair of proper cycling shoes I've bought. Well advised by staff in Evans. Shoes are a good fit and very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

First Road Shoes

Posted27 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
These are my first cycling shoes, and so far, so good.
Ratchet system creates a snug fit.
Very happy with price, especially as shop price matched with website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>