Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Shoes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.721 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
68 out of 68Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Secure fit, lightweight

Posted30 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, secure fit, adjustable while riding
Velcro straps are OK, but the ratchet main strap holds the shoe on the foot well, plus easily adjusted while riding. Weight is good - significantly less than the Sidi being replaced. Shoes are medium circumference revolving weight, so that's quite important to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

A good shoe

Posted29 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The first pair of proper cycling shoes I've bought. Well advised by staff in Evans. Shoes are a good fit and very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

First Road Shoes

Posted27 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
These are my first cycling shoes, and so far, so good.
Ratchet system creates a snug fit.
Very happy with price, especially as shop price matched with website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great fit

Posted26 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Shoes fit well and and are great value. Service in store was excellent. I was happy to pay more for top end but was directed to these by staff as they were a better fit.
I wear 9.5 shoes and these were 44.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Width
Narrow
Narrow
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoes

Posted25 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Top quality, look good, feel good, reflective detailing. Comfortable. My 1st shoe order had to be returned because tgey were too small. The return and replacement system from Evans Cycles worked brilliantly.
Best wishes r
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Easy to use shoe gives solid secure feeling

Posted02 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable
This is my first cycling shoe, at 53 I was nervous about having my foot 'fixed' to the peddle, the secure feeling and ability to pull/push felt effective, wish I'd invested many years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
very good looking shoe compared to my last pair, but my toes don't feel quite comfortable in the shoe
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Amazing shoes - great value

Posted13 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: white colour option only
Bought these shoes a couple of months ago and been enjoying them in every single ride. Good ventilation, good fit and medium flex sole.
Only drawback is the white colour that could become dirty quite easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Excellent product backed by excellent service.

Posted02 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
After a few weeks of research, I chose these as my first road bike clipless shoes along with a set of Shimano R540 SPD Road Pedals. Evans priced matched the shoes which reduced the overall price. I visited their Reading store to have the pedals fitted and after some discussion had some adjustments made to my Bike leg position/saddle etc. With no extra charge.
I now been using these for just on two weeks and they have made a great deal of positive difference to my riding. The shoes are comfortable, fit very well and I seem to be able to clip in and out very easily.
A very good buy and excellent service from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Decent product at a fair price

Posted15 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The only real challenge I have with all clip in shoes is that they are all a little narrow. These Shimano's are no exception and only really felt tight once I was on the bike and well in to a 20 mile ride.
Having said that the quality is excellent and they look great, the fixing is firm and responsive and they are just as easy to remove.
Overall a decent product, an 7 1/2 out of 10 for me, where they would be up to an 8 1/2 if the price was 10-15% lower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great starter shoe for first timers.

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I bought this shoe from Evans after finding it cheaper elsewhere. They price matched the product and had it in-store within two days.
The shoe fits really nicely, and is very comfortable to cycle in. Obviously the more you spend the less shoe you get (weight and material wise) but this is a great shoe for people just starting out or who ride leisurely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent road shoe

Posted25 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Read the reviews and ordered one size bigger than normal and it was right. Shoes are easy to adjust and quick to put on and off. Very rigid soul plate and lots of ventilation, even underneath. I am very pleased and hope they last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First pair of road shoes

Posted24 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
These are my first road shoes. I purchased these along with some pedals/cleats and found the transition from trainers and toe clips to be an easy one. They are firm enough to deliver power on the up and downward stroke of each cycle of the pedals. Very comfortable and lightweight. They don't move around at all and my feet fit perfectly. I like the ratchet style clip at the top.
All round great product. I'm not experience enough in other shoes or how they work compared to other brands but if you are new to road biking and want a decent pair of shoes then look no further.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant first cycling shoes

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these and they are brilliant, so comfy.
First pair of road shoes and I have no cons.
Look great and fit like a glove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

The product has great features.

Posted06 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: feet get cold in inclement weather conditions.
Great looking, comfortable shoe. In colder weather would recommend you wear two pair of socks as your feet will get cold.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

good comfortable fit, stylish

Posted30 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Good looking shoes, fit well ratchet fastener gives shoe security easy clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great First Shoes

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
These are my first ever pair of road cycling shoes, so I cannot compare them to anything I have previously had, but for a first shoe, they tick all the boxes.
The price was good, and of those I tried, these were by far the best fitting (for someone with a slightly wider foot). I am normally a size 10/44 and ended up buying a size 45 but these are perfect.
They provide plenty of ventilation to keep your feet cool and the velcro and ratchet fasteners are simple to use and tighten the shoe nicely on the foot.
I have no problem in saying that I would purchase these again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Great value for money shoe

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I'm new to road cycling and clip in's as predominantly a MTB rider on flats.
I have been out 3 times now in this shoe and feels great, good locking and adjusting system, looks good (at the moment) and for the money a really great buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe for a good price

Posted21 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This being my first proper cycle shoe i can't really compare it but i can say that its comfortable and pretty accurate to size. I ordered slightly too small but that's more my fault than Evans. as always their customer service was great and they exchanged it in store. I'm a UK 10 and 45 fits fine.
The top has a sizable mesh section and while i can see this being a good feature in the summer, it's a little bit cold in these winter/spring months. not really a big issue but something worth knowing. overall I'd recommend these a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This is a good product

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
As my first pair of cycling shoes I am very happy, they are comfortable, light weight and seem like good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>