Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
38 out of 38(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
shuggy123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

good

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Great shoes easy to clean, look good and made well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LittleAndy

Excellent fit, robust, high quality and stylish

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
The shoes give lots of support via the ratchet clamp and 2 velcro straps. Very stiff sole which is good. Seem to dry quickly after getting wet. Nice materials. Really good fit, can wear them for hours without getting sore feat. Not to bulky so overshoes fit well. Was pretty simple to attach cleats and did it myself relatively quickly using youtube clips to help with the positioning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
robtefc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good budget shoe's

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent fitting shoes, very comfortable, can't tell the difference between these and the more expensive one's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
BikelJackson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Nice looking and functional shoe

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this show at the reduced price of £71.99 and I think this is excellent value as the shoes are comfortable to wear and are aesthetically pleasing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Cyclist2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crouch End

Great first time cycling shoe - recommended!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
First time I bought road shoes as I just started using cleats. So far good. Shoe looks good and fits well. Can't really compare to other cycling shoes as it's my first pair. Am satisfied. One of the reasons I chose this shoe is the price. Didn't want to spend too much as I didn't know how I get on with proper cycling shoes (used regular sneakers up till now). Shoe was affordable, esp. for a Shimano shoe. Good value for money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
will85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Price Match

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable shoe with price match to make it a great buy. Bought as an upgrade, comfy, lightweight and look great. The adjustable strap adds comfort if feet swell on hotter days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
cd9031
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good value shoe

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Originally purchased to get me by for a bit until I could afford some higher quality shoes - but after a few hundred miles I have been very pleased with their performance, hopefully they will wear well and I can keep them for many miles to come. Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adam9715
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent shoe especially for less than £100 and with the ratchet for minor adjustments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Kangaroo7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Really comfortable and great value

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am looking to get into Road cycling and needed a good pair of shoes to get started with. These shoes are really comfortable and do the job well, importantly affordable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
IllicitWallace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, simple to use
I bought these shoes to go with the cleats I had bought for my bike. I am a beginner so I wanted to find something that was cheap and cheerful, but decent quality at the same time. I think these shoes are perfect.
It took a little getting used to having the shoes on with the hooks for the cleats. I also took a tumble once I had attached my feet to the bike - I needed more practice - but came away with only a couple of scratches.
The shoes are a great fit, I am usually a size 45 (European size) but I went a size higher for these shoes - a 46. It was the right decision because they are extremely comfortable.
I had a bit of pain on the outsides of my feet whilst cycling long distances, but this was nothing to do with the shoes. If you encounter similar problems, try adjusting the clip on the bottom of the shoes - it appears that the angle makes all the difference to your comfort.
A great deal and a great pair of shoes for a beginner like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
dave649
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

great looking,improved power, comfy

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no bad points so far
bought these shoes as i was wearing mountain bike shoes without vents on a road bike and i found my feet burning after 10 mile
i bought these shoes and r550 pedals to try. my times dropped as i can push harder for longer as the shoes are really comfy with the vents keeping my feet a lot cooler. also you can pull up on the upward pedal stroke to get more power on the hills ( but be warned you look silly when you stop and forget your clipped in and fall over) ps nobody seen me i was lucky lol
but all and all i wont go without them now on my road bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DEUCECOOP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

super shoes

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fantastic shoes, look great and very comfortable. Great on the bike good fitting and fastenings. Feel like quality kit. Would buy them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Langster2011
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Road Shoe

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant road shoe, nice and stiff and the ratchet system keeps it nice and tight. Im a size 10 UK and the 44 fits perfectly. Lots of room in the toe box too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick802
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great fit, comfy and easy to adjust.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was recommended these trainers in store in Brighton store. The sales rep said he personally thought they were better than higher priced shoes. On trying on a few pairs I agreed they felt great and were really easy to adjust the tightening. I have used these a couple of times now and they are really comfortable, they click into the pedal cleats easily and are able to wipe them off too. I would recommend them highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kypros
Country:Cyprus
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good I recommend

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my second road cycling shoe it is so much better than my first shoe very comfortable easy to fit and very secure on my foot is a pressure to go cycling with this shoe is so comfortable.
The only one thing I found is that you have to go at least one size up, I had to send my back and go for the sext size up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe for the price

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I bought these shoes for an old and smelly pair of Bontragers that I had had for a while , I have only worn them once so far and feel very comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
gianniride
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

great value, great quality

PostedMay 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
really good shoes, comfortable and good quality, best price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Mickjg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I wear them at least 4/5 times a week they are probably the most comfortable ones I have had
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
WAlex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good Quality

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
A lot of people have mentioned getting the size above what you usually wear. This was not the case for me. I would recommend trying them before you buy to make sure. Overall the shoes are great and feel well made. Would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andysch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

really good

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These shoes have alot of ventilation went out on a cold sunny morning and feet goot cold . should have worn the overshoes.
I bought a size above where I would normally be
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>