Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
WAlex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good Quality

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
A lot of people have mentioned getting the size above what you usually wear. This was not the case for me. I would recommend trying them before you buy to make sure. Overall the shoes are great and feel well made. Would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andysch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

really good

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These shoes have alot of ventilation went out on a cold sunny morning and feet goot cold . should have worn the overshoes.
I bought a size above where I would normally be
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Lightweight and comfortable shoe, as mentioned by other reviews, need to go a size up with Shimano - normally I am a 42 but with Shimano the 43 fits perfectly. The ratchet system always seems to work the best as you feel properly connected to the bike. Would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lord
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value for money comapre to other leading brand. It's a good entry level shoes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
DanMc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Comfortable but cold!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Cons: poorly insulated
Overall this is a comfortable, well fitting shoe with good support. However, the big draw back is the huge ventilation hole under the toes (about the size of a fingerprint). I've tried to remedy this through a combination of cotton wool, insulation tape and a replacement insole (as the original insoles also have a matching hole), but ultimately it's still a struggle to keep the cold breeze out on colder days.
All that said, I do get cold feet quite easily, so others might not have such a big issue with this.
I've perevered with these shoes (with the help of good socks and overshoes) in part due to the cost of replacing them buty also because if you can keep the cold eout, they are a good, comfortable, light weight product, and look good too.
In summary, much better suited to warmer months!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Theweavers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great shoe

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
First ever paid of cycling shoes and delighted with these. Comfortable and really good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nunez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This shoe is excellent. Bought from Evans store in Castleford, the shop assistant gave me great advise on understanding which shoe would be right for me and on my budget.
The Shimano R088 has a wide toe with great comfort for someone like me who has problems with my toes.
They kept my feet quite warm while riding in the winter months. They fasten easily and can be adjusted simply. Straight forward when attaching the cleats on the sole, very light and easy to walk in when off the bike.
For someone wearing these for the first time I would recommend as a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

A good road shoe

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: white!
I tried a few pairs, some cheaper some a little more but these for the price, are good. a tight fit but once on they are a great fit and more importantly are responsive when you hit the gas and need to push. The straps are good and firm and I wanted the last one to be able to tighten a little more as I ride. Cycling kit is always over priced but these seem pretty good for the money, check your sizing though, some make wide some come up very small!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeBuddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Nice shoes!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, light with lots of vents - great for summer!
Cons: light with lots of vents - not for winter!
My old Shimano shoes finally expired after 20 years - pretty good service! Because of the quality & fit I decided to try Shimano again.
I went to Evans so I could try them on. The 46s fitted perfectly and felt really comfortable. Evans price-matched a competitor too. For the price these really are very good value.
My only concern was that using SPD cleats might damage the soles when doing any walking, as there aren't any "buffers" around the cleat. As such I've swapped over to using SPD-SL pedals and cleats for my road bike, and went back to buy a new pair of Shimano MTB shoes for communting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Legs63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good fitting shoe

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
After gaining sound advice from the sales assistant I decided to pay a bit more and I am glad I did. The fit is snug and the ratchet system allows great adjustment especially as I have a high instep. There is no heel lift and on riding I can feel the difference from my previous shoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
allfocus
Country:United Kingdom

Great shoe

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable good looking shoe. Good fit with room for adjustment, rode in the rain with it once without issue.
Would recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheWarhorse
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Simple, slick design

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
After recently buying a new roadie, I was looking for a solid, relatively light and simple shoe. I tried on what seemed like a hundred pairs but with the patience and excellent product knowledge of the salesman; I opted for the Shimano R088.
I ended up going for the wide fit as the regular fit was just too snug around the toe box but for a wide fitting shoe they certainly are not baggy.
The shoe has some decent ventilation around the toe and midsole areas which most definitely helps to keep the feet cool on warmer rides.
The closure system is, again, very simple with two offset velcro straps which give a secure and re-assuring hug around the top of the foot. Finished off with the clicky-levery thing which offers a truly custom fit. I've found this very useful as i occasionally like to wear a thicker sock.
Overall, they're a solid shoe for those starting out and they look pretty sweet too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Petestan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable & light

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got these shoes after my last pair fell apart after just 9 months a lesson in don't buy the cheapest you can find (Sports Direct).
Bought with a new set of Shimano 540 road pedals and the difference has been brilliant with more power going down into the tarmac. The shoes are light well ventilated and very comfortable and I have not had numb toes on long rides since using them.
As usual the staff at Evans MK were brilliant and their advice spot on
A word of warning be careful on the sizing I,m normally a 9 (43) but finished up buying an 11 (45)!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scrapster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Great road shoe

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First road shoe I have used. Pretty lightweight and very comfortable - the ratchet strap at the top gives confidence that your feet will stay firm within the shoes. The vents underneath the shoe are great for this amazing British summer we are having as you can actually feel a nice cool breeze under your feet as you ride (I also grabbed some overshoes with these as I imagine that breeze will be unwelcome in the winter!).
Adjustment if necessary is very easy, you can do it on the roadside in less than a minute.
As others have said it's probably best to go one size up (I'm usually 7 but bought an 8 and they are just fine).
When paired with Shimano PD-5700 105 pedals you feel extremely well connected with the drive-train of the bike. I was amazed at the increase in power it is possible to put down on the road especially when accelerating away from a standstill.
As an added bonus, I personally think they look great too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TeebsMB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great first road shoe

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: limited colour choice
This shoe is a solid build with sturdy straps etc and has both SPD/SPD-SL fittings for riding on the road and at the gym (if that's your thing). The design is good if you can cope with the slightly brash colour, and the comfort and fit is good, although I would recommend sizing in store.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
speedyracer2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

simple locking features

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A shoe for people on a low budget. Beware of the size as they come up small. I'm an 8 but took a nine and comfortable. Don't be misleaded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
e2ecr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An upgrade to the Shimano R088

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, firm
I originally purchased the Shimano R077 Road Shoes and these were perfect as my first ever shoes. I then made the decision to upgrade the Shimano shoes to these R088. Based on my previous experience of the R077 shoes I was expecting some seriously good things - R088 slightly more expensive so they had to perform better in my opinion.
The R088 shoes have been and are brilliant in my opinion. With the combination of velcro and the ski boot style binding the shoes stay fixed like a glove to my feet. Over short distances (10km) or long distances (100km) the shoes definitely out performs the R077's, but they are more expensive.
Money well spent. The price is very fair and I think is very competitive to other brand of shoe out there. I would certainly say that when the time comes of requiring a new pair of shoes it will be the new version of these. I hope these will last a good 3-4years like my other ones.
Yes they are white. Yes they get dirty. But that's life and a bit of dirt never hurt anyone. Plus it shows you actually ride lots. These are great shoes. A great fit and I'm sure has improved my riding.
Advise: do try them on, to get the best size for your feet.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bianchi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very good

PostedMay 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I tried on a few other higher price shoes that felt heavier and not as comfortable, but these came out the best fit, light and well very smart looking.
I needed to replace my older Shamano shoes and to compare to these and other much higher priced shoes these are excellent I feel more power etc. By the way I have the wide fit)
Highly recomended at this price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RoelofK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good comfy shoe

PostedApril 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: dirties easily
I enjoy using this pair of cycling shoes. They are comfortable and light-weight, The white goes dirty quickly, so if you buy this and you ride in wet weather, you may want to think about getting a pair of covers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GD1984
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

love them

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I love my new Shimano R088 Road Shoes they are very comfortable and good value for money.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.