Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.795 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
44 out of 44(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
Galwaybay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Posted18 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Shoes looks good fits well very comfortable good value wore them this week rode 100 miles no problems
I Would recommend this product
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Kizzafnz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Lightweight cool

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not great winter
Slick looking lightweight very comfortable
Reasonable price compared with others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hattiesdad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

snug, stiff sole and good looking

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
these shoes are great. They have two Velcro straps and a micro-adjustable ratchet system which allows a snug fit.
They aren't all-weather of course, they're summer shoes - hence the really good ventilation slats in the sole, which are meshed. But in the hot weather these coped really well at home and abroad.
The only slight criticism I have is that the cleats themselves take a lot of adjusting by trial and error and it would help for some lines to be etched on the sole for easier placing and subsequent re-placing.
Great shoes, look good, competitively priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malice1609

Cheap & Comfortable

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was a bit surprise that i didn't expect that it would be comfortable & light. Bought this as i need a spare shoe as im using Sidi and don't want to waste it. Been riding with it for about 500miles/week and i can't complaint. Great shoe tbh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great shoe is a large size

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've found finding cycling shoes difficult but these were excellent. Really nice shoes and comfy. Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
plat40
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great product, even better price

Posted26 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great value shoe, perfect for beginners like me. Bit tight around front but wide fitting should be better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
shuggy123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

good

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Great shoes easy to clean, look good and made well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LittleAndy

Excellent fit, robust, high quality and stylish

Posted23 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
The shoes give lots of support via the ratchet clamp and 2 velcro straps. Very stiff sole which is good. Seem to dry quickly after getting wet. Nice materials. Really good fit, can wear them for hours without getting sore feat. Not to bulky so overshoes fit well. Was pretty simple to attach cleats and did it myself relatively quickly using youtube clips to help with the positioning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
robtefc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good budget shoe's

Posted14 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent fitting shoes, very comfortable, can't tell the difference between these and the more expensive one's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
BikelJackson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Nice looking and functional shoe

Posted28 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this show at the reduced price of £71.99 and I think this is excellent value as the shoes are comfortable to wear and are aesthetically pleasing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Cyclist2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crouch End

Great first time cycling shoe - recommended!

Posted23 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
First time I bought road shoes as I just started using cleats. So far good. Shoe looks good and fits well. Can't really compare to other cycling shoes as it's my first pair. Am satisfied. One of the reasons I chose this shoe is the price. Didn't want to spend too much as I didn't know how I get on with proper cycling shoes (used regular sneakers up till now). Shoe was affordable, esp. for a Shimano shoe. Good value for money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
will85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Price Match

Posted16 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable shoe with price match to make it a great buy. Bought as an upgrade, comfy, lightweight and look great. The adjustable strap adds comfort if feet swell on hotter days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
cd9031
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good value shoe

Posted09 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Originally purchased to get me by for a bit until I could afford some higher quality shoes - but after a few hundred miles I have been very pleased with their performance, hopefully they will wear well and I can keep them for many miles to come. Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adam9715
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Posted06 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent shoe especially for less than £100 and with the ratchet for minor adjustments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Kangaroo7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Really comfortable and great value

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am looking to get into Road cycling and needed a good pair of shoes to get started with. These shoes are really comfortable and do the job well, importantly affordable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
IllicitWallace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality

Posted17 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, simple to use
I bought these shoes to go with the cleats I had bought for my bike. I am a beginner so I wanted to find something that was cheap and cheerful, but decent quality at the same time. I think these shoes are perfect.
It took a little getting used to having the shoes on with the hooks for the cleats. I also took a tumble once I had attached my feet to the bike - I needed more practice - but came away with only a couple of scratches.
The shoes are a great fit, I am usually a size 45 (European size) but I went a size higher for these shoes - a 46. It was the right decision because they are extremely comfortable.
I had a bit of pain on the outsides of my feet whilst cycling long distances, but this was nothing to do with the shoes. If you encounter similar problems, try adjusting the clip on the bottom of the shoes - it appears that the angle makes all the difference to your comfort.
A great deal and a great pair of shoes for a beginner like me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
dave649
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

great looking,improved power, comfy

Posted06 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no bad points so far
bought these shoes as i was wearing mountain bike shoes without vents on a road bike and i found my feet burning after 10 mile
i bought these shoes and r550 pedals to try. my times dropped as i can push harder for longer as the shoes are really comfy with the vents keeping my feet a lot cooler. also you can pull up on the upward pedal stroke to get more power on the hills ( but be warned you look silly when you stop and forget your clipped in and fall over) ps nobody seen me i was lucky lol
but all and all i wont go without them now on my road bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DEUCECOOP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

super shoes

Posted04 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fantastic shoes, look great and very comfortable. Great on the bike good fitting and fastenings. Feel like quality kit. Would buy them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Langster2011
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Road Shoe

Posted22 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant road shoe, nice and stiff and the ratchet system keeps it nice and tight. Im a size 10 UK and the 44 fits perfectly. Lots of room in the toe box too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick802
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great fit, comfy and easy to adjust.

Posted21 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was recommended these trainers in store in Brighton store. The sales rep said he personally thought they were better than higher priced shoes. On trying on a few pairs I agreed they felt great and were really easy to adjust the tightening. I have used these a couple of times now and they are really comfortable, they click into the pedal cleats easily and are able to wipe them off too. I would recommend them highly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>