Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.745 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
51 out of 51Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
MikeC73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Great value for money shoe

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I'm new to road cycling and clip in's as predominantly a MTB rider on flats.
I have been out 3 times now in this shoe and feels great, good locking and adjusting system, looks good (at the moment) and for the money a really great buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Davros876
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe for a good price

Posted21 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This being my first proper cycle shoe i can't really compare it but i can say that its comfortable and pretty accurate to size. I ordered slightly too small but that's more my fault than Evans. as always their customer service was great and they exchanged it in store. I'm a UK 10 and 45 fits fine.
The top has a sizable mesh section and while i can see this being a good feature in the summer, it's a little bit cold in these winter/spring months. not really a big issue but something worth knowing. overall I'd recommend these a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Smeagol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This is a good product

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
As my first pair of cycling shoes I am very happy, they are comfortable, light weight and seem like good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TimfromDubai1
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Despite living in Dubai, the product arrived within 2 working days - amazing! Fantastic quality cycle shoe at great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
TheTweenies
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

High quality good fitting shoes

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Have bought Shimano shoes over a number of years and always found them to be high quality and durable. These are proving to be the same.
The white finish is a slightly grainy leather look rather than smooth, so they are a little more difficult to keep clean than the R170.
The fixed side of the ratchet buckle is screwed to the shoe and has two positions to ensure you don't run out of ratchet adjustment if you have a particularly narrow instep. This is a nice feature, but not obvious until you read the instructions that come with the shoes (who reads shoe instructions?!)
As is well known with Shimano shoes, order one size up from your usual size, they come up small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Calliwaggle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great shoe at a reasonable price

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: too much ventilation
Ratchet adjustment very good. Far too much ventilation for the winter and even with an overshoe the wind blows through the sole. I've put gaffer tape over the holes!
I'm a size 9.5UK but the 45 fitted well so the sizes are very small. Order a size bigger than usual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Geordwah
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great shoe

Posted09 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Ample adjustments available through the shoe. All clips and straps feel secure strong. Comfortable on long rides and will offer good ventilation come the summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
Galwaybay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Posted18 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Shoes looks good fits well very comfortable good value wore them this week rode 100 miles no problems
I Would recommend this product
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Kizzafnz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Lightweight cool

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not great winter
Slick looking lightweight very comfortable
Reasonable price compared with others
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hattiesdad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

snug, stiff sole and good looking

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
these shoes are great. They have two Velcro straps and a micro-adjustable ratchet system which allows a snug fit.
They aren't all-weather of course, they're summer shoes - hence the really good ventilation slats in the sole, which are meshed. But in the hot weather these coped really well at home and abroad.
The only slight criticism I have is that the cleats themselves take a lot of adjusting by trial and error and it would help for some lines to be etched on the sole for easier placing and subsequent re-placing.
Great shoes, look good, competitively priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malice1609

Cheap & Comfortable

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was a bit surprise that i didn't expect that it would be comfortable & light. Bought this as i need a spare shoe as im using Sidi and don't want to waste it. Been riding with it for about 500miles/week and i can't complaint. Great shoe tbh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great shoe is a large size

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've found finding cycling shoes difficult but these were excellent. Really nice shoes and comfy. Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
plat40
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great product, even better price

Posted26 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great value shoe, perfect for beginners like me. Bit tight around front but wide fitting should be better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
shuggy123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

good

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Great shoes easy to clean, look good and made well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LittleAndy

Excellent fit, robust, high quality and stylish

Posted23 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
The shoes give lots of support via the ratchet clamp and 2 velcro straps. Very stiff sole which is good. Seem to dry quickly after getting wet. Nice materials. Really good fit, can wear them for hours without getting sore feat. Not to bulky so overshoes fit well. Was pretty simple to attach cleats and did it myself relatively quickly using youtube clips to help with the positioning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
robtefc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good budget shoe's

Posted14 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent fitting shoes, very comfortable, can't tell the difference between these and the more expensive one's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
BikelJackson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Nice looking and functional shoe

Posted28 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this show at the reduced price of £71.99 and I think this is excellent value as the shoes are comfortable to wear and are aesthetically pleasing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Cyclist2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crouch End

Great first time cycling shoe - recommended!

Posted23 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
First time I bought road shoes as I just started using cleats. So far good. Shoe looks good and fits well. Can't really compare to other cycling shoes as it's my first pair. Am satisfied. One of the reasons I chose this shoe is the price. Didn't want to spend too much as I didn't know how I get on with proper cycling shoes (used regular sneakers up till now). Shoe was affordable, esp. for a Shimano shoe. Good value for money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
will85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Price Match

Posted16 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable shoe with price match to make it a great buy. Bought as an upgrade, comfy, lightweight and look great. The adjustable strap adds comfort if feet swell on hotter days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
cd9031
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good value shoe

Posted09 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Originally purchased to get me by for a bit until I could afford some higher quality shoes - but after a few hundred miles I have been very pleased with their performance, hopefully they will wear well and I can keep them for many miles to come. Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>