Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Shimano R088 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.788 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 33(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
will85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Price Match

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable shoe with price match to make it a great buy. Bought as an upgrade, comfy, lightweight and look great. The adjustable strap adds comfort if feet swell on hotter days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
cd9031
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good value shoe

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Originally purchased to get me by for a bit until I could afford some higher quality shoes - but after a few hundred miles I have been very pleased with their performance, hopefully they will wear well and I can keep them for many miles to come. Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adam9715
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent shoe especially for less than £100 and with the ratchet for minor adjustments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Kangaroo7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Really comfortable and great value

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am looking to get into Road cycling and needed a good pair of shoes to get started with. These shoes are really comfortable and do the job well, importantly affordable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
IllicitWallace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, simple to use
I bought these shoes to go with the cleats I had bought for my bike. I am a beginner so I wanted to find something that was cheap and cheerful, but decent quality at the same time. I think these shoes are perfect.
It took a little getting used to having the shoes on with the hooks for the cleats. I also took a tumble once I had attached my feet to the bike - I needed more practice - but came away with only a couple of scratches.
The shoes are a great fit, I am usually a size 45 (European size) but I went a size higher for these shoes - a 46. It was the right decision because they are extremely comfortable.
I had a bit of pain on the outsides of my feet whilst cycling long distances, but this was nothing to do with the shoes. If you encounter similar problems, try adjusting the clip on the bottom of the shoes - it appears that the angle makes all the difference to your comfort.
A great deal and a great pair of shoes for a beginner like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
dave649
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

great looking,improved power, comfy

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no bad points so far
bought these shoes as i was wearing mountain bike shoes without vents on a road bike and i found my feet burning after 10 mile
i bought these shoes and r550 pedals to try. my times dropped as i can push harder for longer as the shoes are really comfy with the vents keeping my feet a lot cooler. also you can pull up on the upward pedal stroke to get more power on the hills ( but be warned you look silly when you stop and forget your clipped in and fall over) ps nobody seen me i was lucky lol
but all and all i wont go without them now on my road bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DEUCECOOP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

super shoes

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fantastic shoes, look great and very comfortable. Great on the bike good fitting and fastenings. Feel like quality kit. Would buy them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Langster2011
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Road Shoe

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant road shoe, nice and stiff and the ratchet system keeps it nice and tight. Im a size 10 UK and the 44 fits perfectly. Lots of room in the toe box too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick802
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great fit, comfy and easy to adjust.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was recommended these trainers in store in Brighton store. The sales rep said he personally thought they were better than higher priced shoes. On trying on a few pairs I agreed they felt great and were really easy to adjust the tightening. I have used these a couple of times now and they are really comfortable, they click into the pedal cleats easily and are able to wipe them off too. I would recommend them highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kypros
Country:Cyprus
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good I recommend

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my second road cycling shoe it is so much better than my first shoe very comfortable easy to fit and very secure on my foot is a pressure to go cycling with this shoe is so comfortable.
The only one thing I found is that you have to go at least one size up, I had to send my back and go for the sext size up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe for the price

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I bought these shoes for an old and smelly pair of Bontragers that I had had for a while , I have only worn them once so far and feel very comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
gianniride
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

great value, great quality

PostedMay 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
really good shoes, comfortable and good quality, best price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Mickjg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I wear them at least 4/5 times a week they are probably the most comfortable ones I have had
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
WAlex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good Quality

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
A lot of people have mentioned getting the size above what you usually wear. This was not the case for me. I would recommend trying them before you buy to make sure. Overall the shoes are great and feel well made. Would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andysch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

really good

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These shoes have alot of ventilation went out on a cold sunny morning and feet goot cold . should have worn the overshoes.
I bought a size above where I would normally be
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Lightweight and comfortable shoe, as mentioned by other reviews, need to go a size up with Shimano - normally I am a 42 but with Shimano the 43 fits perfectly. The ratchet system always seems to work the best as you feel properly connected to the bike. Would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lord
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value for money comapre to other leading brand. It's a good entry level shoes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
DanMc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Comfortable but cold!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Cons: poorly insulated
Overall this is a comfortable, well fitting shoe with good support. However, the big draw back is the huge ventilation hole under the toes (about the size of a fingerprint). I've tried to remedy this through a combination of cotton wool, insulation tape and a replacement insole (as the original insoles also have a matching hole), but ultimately it's still a struggle to keep the cold breeze out on colder days.
All that said, I do get cold feet quite easily, so others might not have such a big issue with this.
I've perevered with these shoes (with the help of good socks and overshoes) in part due to the cost of replacing them buty also because if you can keep the cold eout, they are a good, comfortable, light weight product, and look good too.
In summary, much better suited to warmer months!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Theweavers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great shoe

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
First ever paid of cycling shoes and delighted with these. Comfortable and really good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R088 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nunez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This shoe is excellent. Bought from Evans store in Castleford, the shop assistant gave me great advise on understanding which shoe would be right for me and on my budget.
The Shimano R088 has a wide toe with great comfort for someone like me who has problems with my toes.
They kept my feet quite warm while riding in the winter months. They fasten easily and can be adjusted simply. Straight forward when attaching the cleats on the sole, very light and easy to walk in when off the bike.
For someone wearing these for the first time I would recommend as a good buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>