Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Giro Atmos Helmet

Giro Atmos Helmet

A great helmet is so comfortable that once its on, it virtually disappears. Giro's proprietary three- size Super Fit system is based on human scale factors data and over 20 years of crafting helmets for the best bike riders in the world. The result is pure Skull Hugging Luxury, a helmet that fits 98% of the worlds population, yet looks (and fits) like it was custom made just for you.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Giro Atmos Helmet
Review 1 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
FranktheCrank
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

The Atmos is lightweight and comfortable

Posted27 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I was looking to upgrade my helmet and decided to switch from Specialized to Giro's Atmos. I won't be switching back anytime soon. The Atmos is incredibly light and its ventilation system ensures that it is breathable enough to keep my head cool even on the longest of rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Leevis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really like this lid

Posted23 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I really like this helmet. However, although it fits nicely on the sides I'm finding it a little uncomfortable on the front. I think that the padding on the front needs to be slightly thicker than it is to allow the helmet to sit away from the head. My older Giro had thick pads which allowed this. I wouldn't say that it's particularly uncomfortable, I just find it niggley. I also find that when I ride it sounds like I'm in a wind tunnel!!! I think that this is just down to the large number of vents the helmet has and that the air passes through the lid and comes out over my ears. Again just niggley!
I bought mine online but I would really recommend trying one on before taking the plunge.
Thankyou and goodnight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Grizzman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good product, very good service

Posted10 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Arrived within estimate, great helmet and good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fonz2020
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, well constructed, good design

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very pleased with this, the only complaint I have is the strap fit - the behind-ear strap enters the slide buckle that sits below the ear at a sharp angle, which puts a slight kink in it. This prevents the straps pulling up completely straight. Not uncomfortable though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gandhi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice comfortable helmet

Posted02 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very comfortable to wear. You don't notice that you are wearing it. Also good ventilation. Only down point is that it not as well finished as my Specialized S3 helmet , which is £20 cheaper. Also , the straps on the S3 are a more comfortable fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Martin25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight, comfortable but expensive.

Posted14 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Took some time to set up straps but worth the effort. Allows more air to the head than my other helmet. The yellow area is bright and noticeable, which is important on the roads today. I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Perfect for me

Posted09 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Let's be clear, when it comes to things like helmets, what fits or suits one person doesn't make it right for the next so I'd advise you try first. I've finally settled with Giro helmets having tried other brands before and finding the fit wasn't quite right. This one is not only a perfect fit, but (and here is the feature part) it is VERY well ventilated and also VERY light. But, I think it is fair to say that you get what you pay for in that respect.
This is the best helmet I've owned to date and would thoroughly recommend, assuming it fits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dmjq
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect buy, cheapest store

Posted23 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
great buy, cheapest Price on the internet, quick delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
xavib
Country:Spain
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excelent helmet

Posted15 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great quality and very comfortable helmet. The color I purchased, black and fluorescent yellow, gives great visibility on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deise
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light, strong and comfortable.

Posted04 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really happy, using the helmet for a mix of commuting, XC and Road. I tend to overheat quicker than others, so the additional ventilation of the atmos is most welcome. The chin strap is very light so hopefully it will not start to fray against my strong stubble, but so far so good. I also went with the black and yellow which might not be the most fashionable, but it's high vis in the right areas which is great for commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Giro Atmos Helmet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AliB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

How did this make it past Quality Control?

Posted04 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Cons: Poor quality, rubbish finish
This review is not a reflection of Evans; they can't be expected to take every product out of the box for a visual inspection before it's dispatched, and service was good.
I chose Giro because I bought a Monza a couple of years ago and, generally, have been really pleased with it; I just want something with more vents as going riding in warmer climes.
The finish on the Monza is good; the finish on this is awful. I don't know what Giro has done over the last couple of years but Quality Control has slipped big time (see review on the Aeon to back this up).
In short, there is no way this should have made it out of the factory.
Shortly to be returned for refund.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.