Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet

Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet

A great helmet is so comfortable that once its on, it virtually disappears. Giro's proprietary three- size Super Fit system is based on human scale factors data and over 20 years of crafting helmets for the best bike riders in the world. The result is pure Skull Hugging Luxury, a helmet that fits 98% of the worlds population, yet looks (and fits) like it was custom made just for you.
Overall rating:
4.694 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
35 out of 36Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Review 1 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harry4152
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Lovely to look at, comfortable fit, comfortable straps. Visor easily removable. Altogether a good purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Rille
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice aero road helmet

Posted08 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: the visor is on the small side
The visor could be a little bit bigger. Both onthe sides and the hight.
Other than that, great. The fit is super comfy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreggRV
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet

Posted06 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Fits really well, visor makes you look a bit pro but ideal if you wear glasses... Or want to look pro!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Onions
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable aero

Posted01 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product, as comfortable as the non-shield Air Attack. The visor is brilliant when in an aero position.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Tomppa75
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight beauty

Posted31 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Have used my white beauty just few times and in cold around zero celcius so can't say much of ventilations but other wise great product. And magnetic screen works nicely also on ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Steffo1
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet for both triathlon and normal cycling

Posted30 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
It fits very well and the visor is of good quality with a great field of vision. Ventilation is very good for such an aerodynamic helmet.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sandman007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice but poor fit

Posted30 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: poor fit
I liked the look of this helmet. The design was what I was looking for aero, but not ridiculously priced.
Ordered online and was pleased with swift delivery.
Unfortunately the fit is poor. The helmet sits way too high for e visor to be over my eyes. It finishes about halfway down my eyes, so is no use whatsoever for me. There is no height adjustment.
Local branch were happy to give me a refund. No problems there. Still looking for a helmet though...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Angela
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nice light helmet

Posted30 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Raced in this in a duathlon recently. Was great. Comfort and ventilation good (although it wasn't hot), shield was good but was difficult to itch face or wipe away tears without worrying if it would fall off. One thing I noticed is that when putting the shield on without looking in a mirror, the middle magnet seemed to connect higher up the helmet. Looks a little strange on but I like it :)
Price was excellent with additional 10% off!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
tristephen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light,cooler aero helmet

Posted30 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Air attack may not be the prettiest helmet,but it's looks are less outlandish than a full-on aero lid.its light(289g)and far cooler on long,hot rides than a full-on aero lid too and if you move your head around a bit this is the lid for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
StuLambert
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Fabulous

Posted24 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
There is a chance that this helmet will make you the object of ridicule (does anyone 'really' need an aero helmet with clip on visor?) but it does look great in a TopGun kind of way and the product itself is fabulous.
It is VERY comfortable, the rear adjustment is clean, simple and effective, and the visor gives amazingly clear all round vision. No issues with steaming up and thus far I haven't felt it any hotter than my normal Uvex.
Great alternative to a regular helmet and glasses and cheaper than a pair of Oakleys.
The only downside it that when you first put it on the chin strap feels like its slightly twisted/sharp but once under way I haven't noticed it.
Apparently it is worth 15 seconds over 40km which in real terms isn't a lot, but the comfort of the helmet and the convenience of the visor make it a worth while investment in my opinion.
Size wise I have a 58cm head and I went for the medium. It fits very well so I would say to trust the sizing on the website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Thomani
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top helmet with great fit

Posted21 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice look, feels light and fast. Will be perfect on My tribike and still work good on My roadracer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Bfree
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great if you wear glasses

Posted20 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
if you wear glasses it work well, pity it comes with dark visor rather than a clear one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
AlvinQ
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits well true to the measurements table

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The adjustable clip on the helmet is able to fit the size of my asian head pretty well. Was slightly concerned as i did not have a chance to test fit a physical helmet but e clip seems to be flexible enough to adhere to my head. Only down point was that the visor had a little uneven dot on it but it does not affect the vision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigMat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great helmet

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Only worn once but fit is good and looks good. Visor will be great for TTs and outdoor track racing - maybe a bit OTT for road racing though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rockdemon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great helmet. love the visor

Posted09 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Really good fit. The visor saves having to wear glasses . The only downside is that it's warm but that's what you expect from an aero helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jim2001
Country:Estonia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good and universal solution

Posted06 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I used it 1 month in diferent wether conditions. Slick design, very few holes for ventilation, but there is no inconviniece from this. Looks very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Drewby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic helmet

Posted28 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have a very big head and was concerned that the large would be tight, but it's a really comfy fit with room to spare if I wanted a cap underneath. The magnetic visor locates really easily, so is easy to take on/off while riding. Don't be fooled by the lack of ventilation, the design works really well to draw air over the top of your head and keep you cool. A great helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Santacurz7981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing product

Posted26 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Such a great helmet!! I take part in TTs and also lots of other stuff and it's great to have 1 helmet that does everything!! It also looks great and thanks to the discount from Evans it was great value to!!! Would highly recommend it!!
Dan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Goober99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet for a good price

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, aero
The helmet is comfortable with the ventilation also being very good. The visor fits on easily and looks awesome when down! The aero benefits are noticeable at higher speeds whilst the helmet is also very light.
Overall its a great product and i would definitely recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
MikBik
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lid, comfortable, quiet, something different

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Ordered both Medium and Large online and although the M did fit, it was at the largest setting on the rear dial, so kept the L.
Very comfortable shell/padding although the chin strap is a bit annoying to start with, doesn't sit flat. Having said that, when you get going you shouldn't really notice it.
I often start my ride in the dark and will wear clear lens glasses with the visor up and there's plenty of room when you put the visor down to keep the glasses on. Haven't found a good way to get glasses into helmet vents so tend to keep them on or stick them in my jersey pocket which isn't ideal.
Rear support feels a little cheap/sharp plastic and took some adjusting on first ride to get it comfortable.
I live in a hot/windy country and have a Catlike Mixino for when the temperatures jump but this is a great early morning/"winter" option. It's significantly quieter than my other lid (unsurprisingly) and I don't think it would be an issue with overheating if riding in UK, on all but the very hottest of days.
Will keep the shield for solo rides/TT, turn up to a group ride with it down and IMO you'll look a right dafty.
Very good helmet, versatile, not perfect.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>