Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet

Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet

A great helmet is so comfortable that once its on, it virtually disappears. Giro's proprietary three- size Super Fit system is based on human scale factors data and over 20 years of crafting helmets for the best bike riders in the world. The result is pure Skull Hugging Luxury, a helmet that fits 98% of the worlds population, yet looks (and fits) like it was custom made just for you.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Review 1 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Drewby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic helmet

Posted28 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have a very big head and was concerned that the large would be tight, but it's a really comfy fit with room to spare if I wanted a cap underneath. The magnetic visor locates really easily, so is easy to take on/off while riding. Don't be fooled by the lack of ventilation, the design works really well to draw air over the top of your head and keep you cool. A great helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Santacurz7981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing product

Posted26 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Such a great helmet!! I take part in TTs and also lots of other stuff and it's great to have 1 helmet that does everything!! It also looks great and thanks to the discount from Evans it was great value to!!! Would highly recommend it!!
Dan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Goober99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet for a good price

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, aero
The helmet is comfortable with the ventilation also being very good. The visor fits on easily and looks awesome when down! The aero benefits are noticeable at higher speeds whilst the helmet is also very light.
Overall its a great product and i would definitely recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
MikBik
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lid, comfortable, quiet, something different

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Ordered both Medium and Large online and although the M did fit, it was at the largest setting on the rear dial, so kept the L.
Very comfortable shell/padding although the chin strap is a bit annoying to start with, doesn't sit flat. Having said that, when you get going you shouldn't really notice it.
I often start my ride in the dark and will wear clear lens glasses with the visor up and there's plenty of room when you put the visor down to keep the glasses on. Haven't found a good way to get glasses into helmet vents so tend to keep them on or stick them in my jersey pocket which isn't ideal.
Rear support feels a little cheap/sharp plastic and took some adjusting on first ride to get it comfortable.
I live in a hot/windy country and have a Catlike Mixino for when the temperatures jump but this is a great early morning/"winter" option. It's significantly quieter than my other lid (unsurprisingly) and I don't think it would be an issue with overheating if riding in UK, on all but the very hottest of days.
Will keep the shield for solo rides/TT, turn up to a group ride with it down and IMO you'll look a right dafty.
Very good helmet, versatile, not perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Good helmet but visor connect lets it down

Posted19 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: poor visor connect
I bought the helmet after reading the reviews on here.
To start with the helmet fits OK, there are two points that connect to my head without padding and whilst this isn't uncomfortable I'm wondering what it will be like if and when I hit my head.
The visor for me is an issue as I'm now without mine. I was riding along at approx 15mph and went to wipe my nose and knocked the bottom of the visor with my finger, it wasn't a large knock, quite gentle actually but enough to dislodge the visor. The wind then took it into the opposite lane where it was smashed by a car going the other way.
The design here is at fault, there should be some sort of retainer for the visor so that if it is dislodged then it doesn't crash to the floor damaging or destroying it.
When going uphill with little wind, you will find it gets hot. Remove the visor and you will cool down. If like me you now don't have a visor then this is not a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
plumpy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light and comfortable

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Light and a good fit. The visor is excellent quality and the magnetic attachment is really strong, it feels totally secure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Amanda7763
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit.

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great lightweight helmet You forget you have it on your head. The visor is attached with magnets which are very strong, this also means that you can take the visor off whilst still wearing the helmet and attach it to the top of the helmet without taking the helmet off. so no fiddling around.
Plenty of vents to keep your head cool and an adjustable component at the back to make it fit your head just right.
If you look around too you can also purchase a clear visor for the helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diegox
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Comfortable.

Posted16 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A bit hot but it fits really good. I use it for road cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
billfh33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value, top quality item

Posted13 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If you are thinking about it don't, just buy. You will not be disappointed. Excellent value, superb quality item with fine attention to detail and fit. The visor is versatile i.e. on/off, down or up and provides plenty of clearance if you wear specs
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mbrenner
Country:Austria
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet

Posted26 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Fantastic fit and easy to use. Very comfortable and easy to use shield.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richyg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Very aero and bye bye foggy glasses

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really like this helmet as its extremely aero and love having a visor rather than glasses as I now no longer have steamed up glasses on hills and at lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Bing1958
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Posted10 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Its the best helmet I have worn to date its light to wear cut thought wind the only thing I would say trying to get hold of clear visor for dark nights they do not have any in stock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curleyie
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

feel secure, clear visor

Posted30 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, great visor
Cons: Expensive
Very good quality helmet. I find Giro usually a good fit .Slight area of discomfort near the centre rear - but only slightly. Rotating knob for fit system excellent.
The magnetic visor is the best feature . Very clear, doesn't mist, easy to remove & store upside down on helmet. Comfortable having no glasses sides ! Great feeling of security in it . You will sweat in it, but a breeze is channelled well in the top. Looks wise I suppose it is slightly odd ! Not sure about aero benefit but think it does help.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
AndyTri48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit, light, smooth but poor chin strap

Posted17 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fiddley catch
This is a well designed and mostly well made helmet. It is comfortable and light. The visor give good vision, and for Triathletes eliminates the need to fit goggles in transition. The straps and catch are not up to the standard of previous Giro products. Though expensive it is not a pricey as many of its competitors.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
protri13
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product, great features

Posted05 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love this helmet, very light - its like I have no helmet on at all! Looks great and feels good!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJB2000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what you want

Posted09 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The helmet fits well & is nicely vented, a well designed visor which is clear and cut out for ventilation, no steaming or sweat on the visor soot is better than the helmet / glasses combo. The magnetic visor / flip around feels secure and clips in well
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LarsChristian
Country:Norway
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted08 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Bought this helmet instead of a traditional tempo helmet as I can use it bought for time trails and ordinary racing. The helmet is very light and comfortable to wear. It is difficult to judge the aero-effect of the helmet, but it feels faster and is definitly more quite than my ordinary helmet. I am also very happy wtih the shield which gives a better view than using goggles when you are in a racing position.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Melch
Country:Philippines
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent concept for helmet design

Posted03 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The first time I wore the helmet, I fell in love with it. Very cool to wear for a compact helmet. Considerably lightweight for head comfort and...wide vision even with the presence of its shield that removed the discomfort of having used to wear glasses. Versatile design for road and time trial use. Magnets helped a lot in securing the shield on the helmet. I can't think of any cons for the moment as I am enjoying the helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snarlik
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best helmet

Posted27 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got mine last week, and have done about 200km in it.
Beside what it looks like, this is a cool helmet. I haven´t felt any warmer in this then I did with my last one (mega vented Catlike). Ok, it´s warmer when you´re not moving but the cooling is great on the road.
I don´t use the visor since I need RX glasses, but I´m planning to buy a clear shield and use it on rainy days.
The fit is spot-on, you forgett you have in on.
It´s also the the most quiet helmet I´ve tried, especially in strong winds.
Hard to say anything about the aeroness, but it does make sidewinds less noticeable on your head
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ramones64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

lightweight ,extremely comfortable lid

Posted25 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, aero, well ventilated
Recently purchased Air Attack and what can i say !! .. first impressions looks great, light as a feather and extremely comfortable .. Excellent cradle system which keeps the helmet off the top of your head which allows cool air to flow through the helmet and i can honestly say that during a 5 hr ride my head didn't overheat once .
The visor has got top notch Carl Zeiss optics , the visor itself attaches to the helmet via 3 magnets which keep it in place even on the fastest descents , field of view is excellent with no infringement ..
Excellent , extremely aero helmet and well worth splashing the cash on if you are looking for for a new lid .. QUALITY
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.