Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet

Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet

A great helmet is so comfortable that once its on, it virtually disappears. Giro's proprietary three- size Super Fit system is based on human scale factors data and over 20 years of crafting helmets for the best bike riders in the world. The result is pure Skull Hugging Luxury, a helmet that fits 98% of the worlds population, yet looks (and fits) like it was custom made just for you.
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Review 1 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richyg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Very aero and bye bye foggy glasses

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really like this helmet as its extremely aero and love having a visor rather than glasses as I now no longer have steamed up glasses on hills and at lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Bing1958
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Its the best helmet I have worn to date its light to wear cut thought wind the only thing I would say trying to get hold of clear visor for dark nights they do not have any in stock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curleyie
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

feel secure, clear visor

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, great visor
Cons: Expensive
Very good quality helmet. I find Giro usually a good fit .Slight area of discomfort near the centre rear - but only slightly. Rotating knob for fit system excellent.
The magnetic visor is the best feature . Very clear, doesn't mist, easy to remove & store upside down on helmet. Comfortable having no glasses sides ! Great feeling of security in it . You will sweat in it, but a breeze is channelled well in the top. Looks wise I suppose it is slightly odd ! Not sure about aero benefit but think it does help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
AndyTri48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit, light, smooth but poor chin strap

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fiddley catch
This is a well designed and mostly well made helmet. It is comfortable and light. The visor give good vision, and for Triathletes eliminates the need to fit goggles in transition. The straps and catch are not up to the standard of previous Giro products. Though expensive it is not a pricey as many of its competitors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
protri13
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product, great features

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love this helmet, very light - its like I have no helmet on at all! Looks great and feels good!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJB2000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what you want

PostedJune 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The helmet fits well & is nicely vented, a well designed visor which is clear and cut out for ventilation, no steaming or sweat on the visor soot is better than the helmet / glasses combo. The magnetic visor / flip around feels secure and clips in well
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LarsChristian
Country:Norway
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Bought this helmet instead of a traditional tempo helmet as I can use it bought for time trails and ordinary racing. The helmet is very light and comfortable to wear. It is difficult to judge the aero-effect of the helmet, but it feels faster and is definitly more quite than my ordinary helmet. I am also very happy wtih the shield which gives a better view than using goggles when you are in a racing position.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Melch
Country:Philippines
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent concept for helmet design

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The first time I wore the helmet, I fell in love with it. Very cool to wear for a compact helmet. Considerably lightweight for head comfort and...wide vision even with the presence of its shield that removed the discomfort of having used to wear glasses. Versatile design for road and time trial use. Magnets helped a lot in securing the shield on the helmet. I can't think of any cons for the moment as I am enjoying the helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snarlik
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best helmet

PostedMay 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got mine last week, and have done about 200km in it.
Beside what it looks like, this is a cool helmet. I haven´t felt any warmer in this then I did with my last one (mega vented Catlike). Ok, it´s warmer when you´re not moving but the cooling is great on the road.
I don´t use the visor since I need RX glasses, but I´m planning to buy a clear shield and use it on rainy days.
The fit is spot-on, you forgett you have in on.
It´s also the the most quiet helmet I´ve tried, especially in strong winds.
Hard to say anything about the aeroness, but it does make sidewinds less noticeable on your head
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Giro Air Attack Shield Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ramones64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

lightweight ,extremely comfortable lid

PostedMay 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, aero, well ventilated
Recently purchased Air Attack and what can i say !! .. first impressions looks great, light as a feather and extremely comfortable .. Excellent cradle system which keeps the helmet off the top of your head which allows cool air to flow through the helmet and i can honestly say that during a 5 hr ride my head didn't overheat once .
The visor has got top notch Carl Zeiss optics , the visor itself attaches to the helmet via 3 magnets which keep it in place even on the fastest descents , field of view is excellent with no infringement ..
Excellent , extremely aero helmet and well worth splashing the cash on if you are looking for for a new lid .. QUALITY
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.