Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set

SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set

Overall rating:
3.786 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Review 1 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBird
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Brought for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: front wheel drag
I brought the white pair for my first Road bike which was a White Specialized Allez Road Bike. They look amazing on it, like they are part of the bike. While I have not yet been out in the rain to fully test them, like most mudguards I have had they often will protect you from 95% of the muck.
I have added one con, which is "Front Wheel Drag". Where they was install they seem to not fit exactly, the end rubber often drags on the tyre, however I did solve this by putting s Medium Sized Tag Tie in between the strap block and the frame of the bike. This provided the required lift away from the tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Talloneonabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Doesn't do what it says on the tin.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, doesn't work
Terrible. Partial coverage, with key areas allowing a lot of what through. Quick release system which doesn't work well enough so more permanent cable ties are required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JonnyGBH

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for my road bike. They're small and light but still provide good splash protection for my rear. Look great too and were quick to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TimPW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for Monet and good fit

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These mud guards are lightweight and are a really snug fit Excellent choice by me for a change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RuheCyclist
Country:Republic of Ireland
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Great option

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
These mudguards are a great option for bikes where the brake is too close to the wheel. They are easy to put on and stop all dirt/water hitting the rider. The only snag is they can slightly move if you're not careful and cause friction - a problem with most mudguards though I suspect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
atrus

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
can be easily fitted without tools, looks great,black look just like for my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
malgibson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent clip on mudguards

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've never bothered with mudguards before. But as with everyone else I have got fed up with coming back from a ride with soaking wet rear end and waterproof covered in mud. So I visited Evans at the Metro Centre, Gateshead and the guy recommended the SKS Raceblade. When I got them home I noticed the where for tyres up to 23mm I've been using 25mm but I fitted them anyway and the are fine they look good are slim and easy to fit. Infact I cursed myself for not buying these mudguards when the weather was really bad. I can definitely recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Legweak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product does the job you'd expect from it.

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I got these for my wife's bike as I have a set on my bike. They fit well to both, work welll, stay put and keep the muck and water off. Most important, she's happy. They also look good against her bikes white and blue colours. Apparently!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Danger! Blades by name, blades by nature

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I purchased race blades and had them fitted by a bike shop.
First of all within a few days I had lost the little spray deflectors by just cycling around town.
Second on my way for a long ride I had a blow out. I checked the tyre and it had a slice from the race blade on the front tyre. Continental Grand Prix 4 season ruined. I walked to a local bike shop and bought another 4 season for £50. I also had the bike shop refit the race blades
Third, cycling to Suffolk coast from London on Friday. Another blow out! Same front tyre slice. Another Grand Prix 4 season ruined with a 1/2 inch gash.
By the time I made it to another bike shop - 30km away - I asked for clippers and took the blade off.
If you are using these blades...remember blades are for slicing and so the name is very apt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PMWJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

The mudguards work well!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good fit, stylish, does the job fine. Difficult to find mudguards that look good on a dark green bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChrissyAnn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great for bikes with no threaded attachment points

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A really great product although not as quick and easy to fit as I first thought. I had to enlist the help of my better half and he managed to fit them with a small amount of adjustment. The mudguards have not spoilt the look of my Cannondale CAAD 10, I'm now ready for those winter miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
frix
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Very easy to fit to your bike, lightweight and they work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
VeryAnnoyed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Pathetically Lame

PostedJuly 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, pathetic, doesn't fit
Rear mudguard fits okay but the front mudguard comes nowhere near to fitting. I'm not sure what bike it's supposed to fit but mine is nothing out of the ordinary (Carrera Virtuoso). I had to modify, mangle and bend the metal stays so much that the rubber strips tore off and the whole thing is not aligning properly. In other words - it's completely useless. I would have taken them back to the shop (Trafford Park) but the drive there would have merely added more cost to an already hugely overpriced purchase (did I mention there was a part missing from the package too?).
Avoid avoid avoid!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DJWC1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Worth Having

PostedMay 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I have only just purchased this product, and was worried how mud guards would look on my road bike. But I needn't have been. These are quite a neat piece of kit and look pretty good on the bike. They were pretty easy to fit and adjusting them is easy enough too.
On day 1 of use it poured with rain. I was pleased to get to work with a dry rear end which would never have happened previously! For this alone it is well worth the money.
Only negative would be that the blade does appear to require a fair bit of adjusting at the front. The bumpy roads mean it can move the adjustable arms and the wheel may start grazing the front blade. But attaching these permanently with the optional screws provided may improve this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.