Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set

SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set

Overall rating:
3.83 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
38 out of 47Would you recommend this product to a friend?81%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
63 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Review 1 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

back one fitted ok

Posted08 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: won't fit all bikes, flimsy
the back guard was good - fitted without issue however we weren't able to get the front onto the bike as it wouldn't fit without scraping the tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent! Loks sleek and dead easy to fit

Posted15 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Great product, fast delivery, easy to fit and look and perform really good. Fitted to my Cannondale Caad 8 a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

The minimum required

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, back fits easily
Cons: front is hard to get right
Back goes on easy and provides sufficient protection for anyone behind you. The front is trickier to fit and has a tendancy to move about when you hit the potholes hard, which happens on dark winter nights. Take the time to get it right and coverage, although not full (front or back), is enought to keep you dry and reduce your cleaning time at thge end of the ride.
If you can't fit full guards, then these are the bare minimum you must employ. What they do, they do well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

This product worked well and was easy to fit

Posted02 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
The mudguards were surprisingly easy to fit. They worked well in the rain and did not rattle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

New design gives added benefits

Posted29 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to take on and off
Raceblades are a good for those wishing to have the option to put on and take off mudguards easily depending on weather conditions - especially useful for riders that don't have a winter bike. The new attachment extends the length which gives better protection to other riders if out with a group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Easy to fit keeps my bum dry

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent product, simple to for...would highly recommend . Excellent service it store...staff have time for you to talk about what you need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Cardiff

Slimline

Posted23 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
These are nice slimline mudguards that are easy to add/remove from your bike.
The main thing is that they keep your bottom and back dry when the weather is wet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Good value for price

Posted22 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Cons: adjustment grips could be more secure
I found it quite difficult choosing a set of mudguards for my road bike given the number available on the market but I settled for the SKS race blades.
I'm happy with the product thus far as they provide flexibility and do not affect the aesthetics of the bike. Tested in authentic London rain and passed the test.
I'm quietly confident that they will last the coming winter (and hopefully beyond)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Rear bent, front doesn't fit properly!

Posted10 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: effective, easy to remove
Cons: Poor quality, may not fit
Out of the box, the rear guard was twisted at the end, so that when it's on it kicks out a little. I have a feeling this may have happened in storage or transport, as they are not that well protected in their packaging. I tried twisting it into line, but this holds for a few mins then eventually twists back. Lesson no. 1 - check for trueness before you buy if poss! The rear guard does at least work pretty well, also does jump a bit over the potholes - you hear it clunking, though not to a point that annoyed me.
Onto the front guard. Despite moving the plastic bracket position around the guard as much as it'll allow, it won't mount to the' areo' fork of my Scott Speedster without me hacking the mount with extra rubber bits, padding out the bottom of it to get the angle right. The included aero fork adapter made no difference. I see others have had the same problem, sort it out SKS!
To top it off, I took them for their first ride mounted directly to the frame using the included rubber straps - I thought this would be fine, as the mounts have rubber feet too. Plastic sticker protectors are included but the basic instructions don't exactly make it clear that you have to use them. Unfortunately, after just one ride, when I took it off, it had scuffed the paintwork at the rubber feet. I think this was the dirt getting under the feet, rather than the rubber bits themselves. Either way, lesson no. 2 - use the clear plastic frame protectors!
Overall I'm less than impressed, I may take my chances with the equally hit & miss Cruds!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Half of a good product

Posted03 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, difficult to fit
Back mudguard was easy to fit and effective but it was impossible to fit the front guard to my bike. At least anyone riding behind me now avoids getting wet! For the price I would expect better but having checked other alternatives there isn't really anything that I could recommend instead.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Good Quality, but awkward to 'fine-tune' fitting.

Posted16 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Purchased these after buying a Topeak rear guard, which was useless. These are MUCH better quality, but you should hope so at this price point. As has been noted by other reviewers, the rear fits fairly easily, although you do have to do a little 'engineering' by bending the metal bars slightly to get an equal distance/ straight fit over the tyre. The front however, is a bit of a nightmare. I have a one-off build Massi Team RCS with (like some other reviewers) aggressive race geometry and minimal clearance between tyre and down bar. The only way to fit the front is to cut or grind away the plastic from the upper mounting bracket to the outside of the guard. VERY time consuming! But after some careful shaping and sanding, you can achieve a 'cosmetically correct' finish that JUST clears the frame and lightly brushes the attached cables. Lower end cycles with more relaxed geometry probably won't suffer this problem... just be prepared to lose 2-3 hours otherwise!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Mudguard - good

Posted19 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This product works well. Good in wet conditions. Overall, a very good product - does exactly what it says on the tin. I would recommend to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

The back blade great. Front not so much.

Posted07 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
The back blade fitted easily, but the front blade doesn't fit the type of carbon fork i have. I only really needed it to stop water off the rear wheel splashing. So it kinda works even though its half wasted.
Maybe they should sell them separately?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Does exactly what it says.

Posted13 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to attach/remove
Purchased these for my Cube Peloton Race which has no mudguard mountings and limited tyre/brake calliper clearance. Slightly fiddly to initially set up but once done they are extremely easy to attach and remove as you please. Granted, as they are not full coverage guards they don't completely protect your bike from the mud and muck on the road, though cleaning my bike after a long trip is now a 15 minute affair as opposed to over an hour, and it keeps you and your clothing clean as well as not spraying all over anyone else near by! Not the prettiest of additions to your bike but easily removable and very practical
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

good product, just didnt fit

Posted09 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product, solid light weight and relatively easy to fit....on the back, but not the front due to positioning of brake cables on front forks of genesis equilibrium disc 20..
A real shame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Better than the old set

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I had a set of race blades that were really annoying as they wouldn't sit straight and kept on rubbing on the tyre. The new ones are great, they are easy to mount and sit straight so no extra resistance for my legs!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Best mudguards

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I can recommend those. Easy to add, easy to remove, good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

The product does not fit my bike

Posted12 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: do not fit my bike
I have a Trek Domane 4.3 bought from Evans and with which I am very pleased. The only problem is that I wish to use it for long distance cycling and was looking for mudguards to use intermittently on my trips when the rain is pouring. The problem is that there is not sufficient space between the tyre and the frame to accommodate a conventional mudguard and I hoped that this would be the solution. However, whilst the rear mudguard can be adapted to fit, there is no way in which the front mudguard can. So I have wasted £34.19. The irony is that this was the 3rd set of mudguards I tried including the Bontrager (which as it part of Trek one might have assumed would have fitted) and none of them fit the bike. So I shall have to get wet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Check it fits.

Posted04 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to fit to a Holdsworth Stelvio, rear fits ok but cannot make the front fit. Not a criticism of the guards, but make sure they fit your bike before you buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for those who don't own a 'winter' bike.

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The Raceblades are fairly easy to install and come with plenty of spare ties when the rubber wears or snaps (So far in 4 months none have). They are heavier duty and more substantial than other brands I have tried.
Due to road vibrations the guards need occasional resetting to avoid rubbing on tyres. This is both a quick and easy addition to regular bike washing.
As a temporary winter addition, they do a good job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>