Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set

SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set

Overall rating:
3.861 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
29 out of 36Would you recommend this product to a friend?81%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Review 1 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Mudguard - good

Posted19 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This product works well. Good in wet conditions. Overall, a very good product - does exactly what it says on the tin. I would recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

The back blade great. Front not so much.

Posted07 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
The back blade fitted easily, but the front blade doesn't fit the type of carbon fork i have. I only really needed it to stop water off the rear wheel splashing. So it kinda works even though its half wasted.
Maybe they should sell them separately?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Does exactly what it says.

Posted13 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to attach/remove
Purchased these for my Cube Peloton Race which has no mudguard mountings and limited tyre/brake calliper clearance. Slightly fiddly to initially set up but once done they are extremely easy to attach and remove as you please. Granted, as they are not full coverage guards they don't completely protect your bike from the mud and muck on the road, though cleaning my bike after a long trip is now a 15 minute affair as opposed to over an hour, and it keeps you and your clothing clean as well as not spraying all over anyone else near by! Not the prettiest of additions to your bike but easily removable and very practical
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

good product, just didnt fit

Posted09 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product, solid light weight and relatively easy to fit....on the back, but not the front due to positioning of brake cables on front forks of genesis equilibrium disc 20..
A real shame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Better than the old set

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I had a set of race blades that were really annoying as they wouldn't sit straight and kept on rubbing on the tyre. The new ones are great, they are easy to mount and sit straight so no extra resistance for my legs!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Best mudguards

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I can recommend those. Easy to add, easy to remove, good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

The product does not fit my bike

Posted12 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: do not fit my bike
I have a Trek Domane 4.3 bought from Evans and with which I am very pleased. The only problem is that I wish to use it for long distance cycling and was looking for mudguards to use intermittently on my trips when the rain is pouring. The problem is that there is not sufficient space between the tyre and the frame to accommodate a conventional mudguard and I hoped that this would be the solution. However, whilst the rear mudguard can be adapted to fit, there is no way in which the front mudguard can. So I have wasted £34.19. The irony is that this was the 3rd set of mudguards I tried including the Bontrager (which as it part of Trek one might have assumed would have fitted) and none of them fit the bike. So I shall have to get wet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Check it fits.

Posted04 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to fit to a Holdsworth Stelvio, rear fits ok but cannot make the front fit. Not a criticism of the guards, but make sure they fit your bike before you buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for those who don't own a 'winter' bike.

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The Raceblades are fairly easy to install and come with plenty of spare ties when the rubber wears or snaps (So far in 4 months none have). They are heavier duty and more substantial than other brands I have tried.
Due to road vibrations the guards need occasional resetting to avoid rubbing on tyres. This is both a quick and easy addition to regular bike washing.
As a temporary winter addition, they do a good job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Once fitted these do a good job

Posted27 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: fit is so so
The back mudguard is fairly simple to fit, just needs a bit of tweaking to get it so the wheel is covered without rubbing, then you can tighten the straps and it's ready to go - the metal struts stop it wobbling around and it gives plenty of cover (around 1/4 of the wheel).
The front was a real pain though, the instructions were very very basic and it took me a while to realise they really did mean you should just bend the metal supports to get the mudguard in place - when fitted with the "default" position, the front wheel would not turn at all and the only way to get around this was holding the guard away from the wheel so the struts were like / rather than | against the forks - with some experimentation and bending the struts I could get the front wheel turning but I do think this may still need a wedge to further push the guard away from the wheel - will see how it goes riding.
They are well made and struts add stability that the "floating" ones will not have but the front one especially going under the fork means it does take work to get the fitting right.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Keeps you dry

Posted20 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought a set of these mudguards having damaged my hubs and axles the previous winter riding without. As the guards only cover the rear part of each wheel I wasn't expecting them to keep the bike spotless but they only really keep me dry. The bike still gets pretty dirty. Let's face it, that's a huge improvement from no guards! I would have bought the full coverage but the clearance under the brake calliper didn't allow me to do that.
Apart from that, they're easy to fit. My only criticism is I lost the little plastic nubbin that attaches the rubber end to the guard on my first ride but i'll just glue it on, no great issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Just the ticket

Posted19 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Reluctantly bought these in black for my CAAD8 - even though it has holes for more substantial full mudguards there is not much clearance so opted for these, and they're been brilliant so far. Very easy to fit, and can be removed in seconds if you're off out on a sunny day! Feel much more substantial than the Crud option and really don't look that bad. Great customer service from the Gateshead branch, as always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Nice

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I don't have the bolts on my bike to have fully fitted mudguards. I had to go for a clip on set. I found fitting them a real pain at first. They just wouldn't fit over the tyres. I then fitted the mudguards and cable tied them on in place. I then bent the frame to get them where I wanted them. Ive been riding with them now for work and long training rides. Overall, I really like them. I wanted longer guards but had to settle to these clip on types. Once you get them on the frame and them push/bend them to where you want them, their absolutely lovely! They do the job well and have sat in the right pace ever since I got them where I wanted them. I have 28 mm wide tyres and these still deal with these tyres nicely!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Ideal if you don't want permanent mudguards

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit and remove
Cons: front guard doesn't suit all forks
Great guards for easy installation and removal with no tools needed. The back one is rock solid with no rattling once adjusted properly the first time. The front one is less stable on my oddly-shaped forks, but still functions well with occasional adjustments. Ideal if you need to take mudguards on and off frequently, e.g. if you commute and race on the same bike, or if you don't have mounting points for permanent mudguards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fiddly to attach but effective

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A welcome addition to my CAAD8 for the winter commute and weekend ride. A little fiddly to attach but now they're on they don't rattle or move much at all. Look decent too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Minimalist cover

Posted05 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easily detacheable for summer riding
Cons: not full cover
So far these have proved to be quite good, would prefer the full SKS guards as on my old Winter trainer, but these race blades do a half decent job of preventing the dreaded 'stripe up the back' from wet and muddy rides also my Cannondale doesn't have the fixing points for full guards on it's, what I presume are disk specific forks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Best for considerate roadies

Posted25 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Having tried most of the styles and types of road mudguards I can say these are the best. Easy to install, easy to remove, good quality and although mudguards aren't very cool these are not too bad. But you'll not look so cool with a wet rear end.
You and you're fellow Peleton will be grateful of these guards on a wet winter ride. They are a must when group riding in the wet. The only down side would be that they can mark your forks. This is easily remedied by using a bit of tape before installing them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to Fit

Posted18 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The SKS Mudguards arrive wrapped and clipped to a backing board, there is no assembly required and they are easy to fit.
The guards are held in place by rubber straps with varying hole positions,
The guards are held in place by rubber straps with varying hole positions, so what ever size and shape your forks are they will have a tight fit, the straps held up well to being removed a few times to get the position correct.
The front blade comes with 'aero' fork adapter to ensure fitting to a modern road bike is neater.
It took less than half an hour to position both blades and ensure the attachments were in place, the instruction booklet is next reasonable but too small to use especially if your outside, but there are high res pictures on the packaging and instructions online. The blades perform well, there was no problems with I clipped the front wheel with my toe a few times and they didn't rattle on a commute.
The most difficult thing about these may have been removing them from the oversize backing card and making sure the fittings didn't get lost taking them out of their plastic bags.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

We'll fitting option

Posted23 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, look good and they work worth the little bit extra £.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Okay but not straightforward

Posted16 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: fiddly
These universal guards fitted okay, but needed some innovation adjustments. be wary of the new frames with disc brakes and also aero forks as the brackets don't allow for disc brake cables on the rear seat stays and also the front forks need to be straight down, anything tapered or aero means the metal stays will have the wrong angle to fit the wheel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>