Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set

SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set

Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
19 out of 24(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Review 1 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skycop281
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Nice

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I don't have the bolts on my bike to have fully fitted mudguards. I had to go for a clip on set. I found fitting them a real pain at first. They just wouldn't fit over the tyres. I then fitted the mudguards and cable tied them on in place. I then bent the frame to get them where I wanted them. Ive been riding with them now for work and long training rides. Overall, I really like them. I wanted longer guards but had to settle to these clip on types. Once you get them on the frame and them push/bend them to where you want them, their absolutely lovely! They do the job well and have sat in the right pace ever since I got them where I wanted them. I have 28 mm wide tyres and these still deal with these tyres nicely!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tramlines
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Ideal if you don't want permanent mudguards

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit and remove
Cons: front guard doesn't suit all forks
Great guards for easy installation and removal with no tools needed. The back one is rock solid with no rattling once adjusted properly the first time. The front one is less stable on my oddly-shaped forks, but still functions well with occasional adjustments. Ideal if you need to take mudguards on and off frequently, e.g. if you commute and race on the same bike, or if you don't have mounting points for permanent mudguards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dlove

Fiddly to attach but effective

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A welcome addition to my CAAD8 for the winter commute and weekend ride. A little fiddly to attach but now they're on they don't rattle or move much at all. Look decent too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coastrider83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Minimalist cover

Posted05 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easily detacheable for summer riding
Cons: not full cover
So far these have proved to be quite good, would prefer the full SKS guards as on my old Winter trainer, but these race blades do a half decent job of preventing the dreaded 'stripe up the back' from wet and muddy rides also my Cannondale doesn't have the fixing points for full guards on it's, what I presume are disk specific forks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spencerj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Best for considerate roadies

Posted25 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Having tried most of the styles and types of road mudguards I can say these are the best. Easy to install, easy to remove, good quality and although mudguards aren't very cool these are not too bad. But you'll not look so cool with a wet rear end.
You and you're fellow Peleton will be grateful of these guards on a wet winter ride. They are a must when group riding in the wet. The only down side would be that they can mark your forks. This is easily remedied by using a bit of tape before installing them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RhysW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to Fit

Posted18 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The SKS Mudguards arrive wrapped and clipped to a backing board, there is no assembly required and they are easy to fit.
The guards are held in place by rubber straps with varying hole positions,
The guards are held in place by rubber straps with varying hole positions, so what ever size and shape your forks are they will have a tight fit, the straps held up well to being removed a few times to get the position correct.
The front blade comes with 'aero' fork adapter to ensure fitting to a modern road bike is neater.
It took less than half an hour to position both blades and ensure the attachments were in place, the instruction booklet is next reasonable but too small to use especially if your outside, but there are high res pictures on the packaging and instructions online. The blades perform well, there was no problems with I clipped the front wheel with my toe a few times and they didn't rattle on a commute.
The most difficult thing about these may have been removing them from the oversize backing card and making sure the fittings didn't get lost taking them out of their plastic bags.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bladesy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

We'll fitting option

Posted23 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, look good and they work worth the little bit extra £.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
finmitch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Okay but not straightforward

Posted16 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: fiddly
These universal guards fitted okay, but needed some innovation adjustments. be wary of the new frames with disc brakes and also aero forks as the brackets don't allow for disc brake cables on the rear seat stays and also the front forks need to be straight down, anything tapered or aero means the metal stays will have the wrong angle to fit the wheel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pasha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Do the job but quirky fittings

Posted12 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor fittings
I wanted the lightest option and these certainly qualify . they do the job of keeping the water of legs and back. The only drawback is the fittings which are a bit heath robinson
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Peej
Style:Commuting
It was bought:Guildford

Well built, but inflexable fitting.

Posted29 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: inflexable design
I've seen these on other bikes and they look very good. They are much more subtle than other similar mudguards, which is why I tried them.
However, the front mudguard has been specificaly designed for a curved front fork and therefore will not fit onto a straight front fork. There is no adjustment available to get them to fit.
I did fit the rear mudguard first and it was easy to fit and appeared to be securely attached.
Unfortunately due to the issue with the front fork I had to return them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBird
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Brought for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike

Posted20 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: front wheel drag
I brought the white pair for my first Road bike which was a White Specialized Allez Road Bike. They look amazing on it, like they are part of the bike. While I have not yet been out in the rain to fully test them, like most mudguards I have had they often will protect you from 95% of the muck.
I have added one con, which is "Front Wheel Drag". Where they was install they seem to not fit exactly, the end rubber often drags on the tyre, however I did solve this by putting s Medium Sized Tag Tie in between the strap block and the frame of the bike. This provided the required lift away from the tyre.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MrBird
 
Please wait while more information about MrBird is loaded.
Additional information about MrBird could not be loaded.
Cause of the issue
Posted 09 August 2014
Having researched this deficit to the mudguard. I have found the reason as to why they keep dropping on the tyre. They was not install properly by Evan Cycles Waterloo Cut store. According to SKS who I contacted regarding the issue, they told me when they are install there should be little screws put though into the black bridges using a 2mm drill bit through the mudguard, there is a screw hole in the black bridge for the screw to holding the mudguard itself above the tyre. Constant vibration keeps making it drop and has damaging the mudguard. I have contacted Evans Cycles in Milton Keynes and they will "assess" replaying the mudguard free of charge, by "assess" I will not be giving them any other option as this damage was caused by the failure for there staff to install them properly when the bike was built.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Talloneonabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Doesn't do what it says on the tin.

Posted06 July 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, doesn't work
Terrible. Partial coverage, with key areas allowing a lot of what through. Quick release system which doesn't work well enough so more permanent cable ties are required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JonnyGBH

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for my road bike. They're small and light but still provide good splash protection for my rear. Look great too and were quick to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TimPW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for Monet and good fit

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These mud guards are lightweight and are a really snug fit Excellent choice by me for a change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RuheCyclist
Country:Republic of Ireland
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Great option

Posted14 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
These mudguards are a great option for bikes where the brake is too close to the wheel. They are easy to put on and stop all dirt/water hitting the rider. The only snag is they can slightly move if you're not careful and cause friction - a problem with most mudguards though I suspect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
atrus

Posted05 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
can be easily fitted without tools, looks great,black look just like for my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
malgibson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent clip on mudguards

Posted13 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've never bothered with mudguards before. But as with everyone else I have got fed up with coming back from a ride with soaking wet rear end and waterproof covered in mud. So I visited Evans at the Metro Centre, Gateshead and the guy recommended the SKS Raceblade. When I got them home I noticed the where for tyres up to 23mm I've been using 25mm but I fitted them anyway and the are fine they look good are slim and easy to fit. Infact I cursed myself for not buying these mudguards when the weather was really bad. I can definitely recommend these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Legweak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product does the job you'd expect from it.

Posted08 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I got these for my wife's bike as I have a set on my bike. They fit well to both, work welll, stay put and keep the muck and water off. Most important, she's happy. They also look good against her bikes white and blue colours. Apparently!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Danger! Blades by name, blades by nature

Posted10 February 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I purchased race blades and had them fitted by a bike shop.
First of all within a few days I had lost the little spray deflectors by just cycling around town.
Second on my way for a long ride I had a blow out. I checked the tyre and it had a slice from the race blade on the front tyre. Continental Grand Prix 4 season ruined. I walked to a local bike shop and bought another 4 season for £50. I also had the bike shop refit the race blades
Third, cycling to Suffolk coast from London on Friday. Another blow out! Same front tyre slice. Another Grand Prix 4 season ruined with a 1/2 inch gash.
By the time I made it to another bike shop - 30km away - I asked for clippers and took the blade off.
If you are using these blades...remember blades are for slicing and so the name is very apt
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Raceblade Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PMWJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

The mudguards work well!

Posted21 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good fit, stylish, does the job fine. Difficult to find mudguards that look good on a dark green bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>