Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe

Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Review 1 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BMCTrailfox03
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Does the job well in all weather conditions

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, great grip
I purchased size 9. I have fairly narrow feet and these still fit well when tightened up. The grip on these shoes is similar to the grip on professional rock climbing shoes so they really stick well to the pedals (I use aluminium downhill pedals with individual screw-in grips). They are very rigid, which suits downhill and trail riding for stability. I was impressed with how well they gripped when riding through very muddy and wet sections of terrain so wouldn't hesitate to recommend these to others. They are a little pricey but in my opinion they're worth the expenditure if you ride trails and don't want to comit to cleats
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisDad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive but very good for purpose

Posted26 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought for summer/dry trail and freeriding.
People complained when 5:10 started showing the influences from their parent company in their range but in this case I think it has had a positive effect. I've owned Impacts and Karvers in the past and my main complaint has been their weight. The difference in weight is noticeable with freeriders. I'm also pleased that they've given it a nice slim tongue instead of the silly thick padded ones. It's a pity is doesn't have a wrapping tongue like on the impact and karver but I guess you can't have everything.
The sole is thinner than impacts (mk II) but slightly stiffer, to begin with at least. The upper feels a bit stiff to begin with but this should soften up nicely as they wear in and probably indicates they will last longer because of it.
Overall very happy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maccer555
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great biking shoes

Posted07 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Quality shoes with Super gripping soles .
I have DMR V12 pedals and they work great together also they were
Comfortable & broken in after only one ride . Recommend to me by a
Friend and he was right .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
ChewyStu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great fitting flat shoes with excellent grip...

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I had tried the Teva Links shows before these, but they were just not wide enough for me and my feet were being pinched, despite trying a size up from my usual.
These shoes, however, fitted just great with a bit of room for winter socks. The soles stick the pins on my pedals really well, but not too much that I cannot get my feet off the pedals when needed (such as when I am about to fall off!). The sole of the shoes is also quite stiff which gives your feet excellent support.
Prior to buying these I was using normal trainers and was getting quite bad pins and needles in my feet after about an hour. Now, although I get a little, it is nowhere near as bad, and a quick break seems to solve the problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom

High quality flat shoe.

Posted06 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Spent a long time deciding if it was worth upgrading to specialist flat shoes, but having ridden with them for a few weeks now I would say it is definitely a worthwhile purchase.
The shoes are a high quality construction and the stealth rubber sole provides a very reliable pedal contact, especially in the wet when other shoes become slippery.
Sill getting used to just how grippy the shoes can be, it's not so easy to adjust foot position, but get it right and you can confidently get on with enjoying the ride.
Have paired the shoes with DMR vault pedals and thinking of reducing the spike lengths on the pedal as the grip from the shoe is so great.
Shoes are also comfortable for walking in when you need to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great riding shoe

Posted26 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, excellent grip
Cons: Expensive
Very smooth sole so doesn't offer much grip off the bike however works very well with flat pedals. Grip is really good and sole is quite stiff improving pedalling efficiency. Purchase grey/blue which looks good and came with spare different coloured laces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cro13
Country:Croatia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great "must have" shoes

Posted02 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I waith them for about one month (my first ordered pair are lost in transit, so EC send me another one), and doesn't matter, worth it !
This shoes are great, just like i expected. They are comfy, stable and light. They fit little big to size to me (usually my size is EU 43 and I ordered UK size 9) , but it allows me to wear thicker pair of socks with them.
I use them with DMR's Vault pedals and feeling is great. Something like they are attached with glue.
All in all - highly recommended !
P.S.
Thanks EC for fast shipping.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
foxyloxy
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply Amazing Grip

Posted11 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, amazing sole
The five ten freerider vxi is an all around excellent trainer for flat pedals. I had my doubts about the flat sole but the grip is simply amazing and repositioning your feet is a breeze.
The build quality is very good and it's obvious a lot of innovative design ideas were used in creating vxi's. The sole is quite stiff for good power transfer and the uppers are easily wiped clean after a winter ride.
Freerider vxi's are comfortable straight out of the box and the sizing is spot on. Overall a great shoe for flats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
littledragon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Nice comfortable grippy shoes

Posted06 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
These shoes are nice and comfortable. I bought with a pair of Nuke Proof pedals and the combination is really grippy. No more feet slipping of the pedals when the trails get bumpy and wet. Would recommend although there are fairly expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skyocean
Country:South Korea
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable and safe

Posted12 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It's very comfortable for free riding.
Stealth rubber feels much better than expected.
Bike technic like bunny hop became easier to play with this shoes.
The botton of shoes, stealth rubber attached tightly to pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonKT2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Comfortable and effective

Posted01 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I needed to change pedals and shoes to non-clippable because of ankle pain. I was worried about losing grip and 'pull', especially on upward motion. The combination of these comfy shoes and pedals is a great match.
Would recommend and but again
Thanks
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mdprz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top quality mtb shoes for us clipless riders!

Posted03 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, huge grip
Cons: Expensive
Well made, very confortable, grip to the peddle like glue and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another product from five ten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dean10

Good quality materials, functional and comfortable

Posted24 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
At first I was unsure if these where a marketing ploy, however since buying and using them I will never return to using my skate shoes again.
The balance of performance, fit and comfort levels are spot on, I do most of my riding in Wales and the grip these generate with my flat pedals is amazing. No foot slide after landing!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoki
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb

Posted03 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, stick like glue, nice adjustablity on pedal when needed
Very happy with these - have been after a pair and found these at the cheapest price and in stock and shipped fast - brilliant service. Many thanks EC !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Five Ten Freerider VXI Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paulyh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great Shoe completely different to Impacts

Posted22 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
If You like impacts which I do You will love these the sole is stiffer the shoe is lighter with more grip .
The strange thing is as well as more grip there is also a lot more movement on the pedals , the heal cup is also better than the impact version and the whole shoe seems a lot wider ,which adds to the comfort .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.