Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddle & Handlebar Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"

Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"

Fits most 4"-5" screen smartphones, including HTC One X, Samsung Galaxy S III, Motorola RAZR, Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc, HTC Sensation XE.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
31 out of 33Would you recommend this product to a friend?94%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Review 1 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Works well

Posted29 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, works
My Moto E 2nd Gen. fits this pouch perfectly. I can use the touch screen and on/off and volume buttons while it is in the pouch. It mounts very securely on the bike and is easy to clip on and off. There is some vibration on bad surfaces, but the phone stays securely on the bike. You will need a Bluetooth ear piece or headphones if you want, but I used Google maps turn by turn directions with the volume up, without any headphones and it was easy to hear. Inserting the phone and removing it is a bit fiddly. Sealing is easy and quick. Looks well made, only time will tell how the folding plastic seal lasts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Good bit of kit let down by mounting bracket.

Posted13 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: mounting bracket is quite loose.
Does the job,keeps your phone dry and you can also use it whilst in the case.My only gripe is the mount which when you attach the case it is a tad loose and rattles about on every bump.Have to wonder how secure your phone is.
Thinking of trying the stem mount to see if the bracket fits better.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great value and build quality

Posted02 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Very pleased with this.
The fit is ideal for my iPhone5 sat in a battery-extender case (I use the Lenmar one) for all-day Strava / Maps.
Just room behind the phone for hiding a cashcard and a tenner.
I've mounted it onto the bike stem, and I can view it clearly, and toggle speed / map view easily. It includes a slide-on connector on a tightening band for bars or stem.
The plastic screen is conductive, so allows full touchscreen phone control.
Highly waterproof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective protection for phone

Posted29 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used with a MotoG - fits inside comfortably if just insert the phone without a skin. Clear cover works well for touch screen. Minimal reflection so can use for GPS for example. Can still use power /volume buttons. Waterproof in heavy rain. Can fix mount to stem or bar and can orientate phone landscape or portrait. Mount diameter easily covers all bar size (diameter) range for cross / road / mountain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fine for Motorola Razr HD

Posted13 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm perfectly happy with this: easy to fix the bracket to the bike, phone fits into the case snugly but not too tightly, without fuss, and the seal gives me confidence that the phone won't get wet in there. Minimal wobble at speed, nothing to worry me. I can operate the phone's power button (on its right side) and touch screen while it's in the holder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handy but smaller than you would expect

Posted29 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: fiddly
A winderfully light and watertight solution, but this can mean it is difficult to get the phone in and out.
I have an HTC One mini which is 4.3". This was just a little bit too small to be able to get the phone in and out easily so it is worth getting a bigger size than you expect to need. Also, it would be worth shelling out on the connector which allows you to angle the phone to improve visibility,.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

So, so useful

Posted24 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
It's only a pouch, but it's the difference between using Google maps on the bike and stopping at every junction to check the route. It means I can take (or reject) calls on the fly and check the numbers on Endomondo.
It's true that some light reflection that can hamper the screen visibility at times. However, you can reduce the problem by squeezing as much air as possible out of the pouch before sealing it shut and tweaking the angle of the mount.
It also frees up space in my pockets/saddle bag for lighter, less bulky items.
For about £3.00 I also bought a second mounting strap so I can use this pouch on my other bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Fulham

Best of the bunch if you don't own an iphone

Posted15 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
The marketplace for phone cases is limited if you don't own an iphone and this seems to be the best of the bunch for everyone else. It looks like a good, well-made product, and the touch screen still works faultlessly, although I'm yet to test it in a downpour.
My only minor grumble is that it does sit quite proud of the handlebars: the clip could have a much lower profile than it does.
It fits my Sony Z3 like a glove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Fantastic bit of kit for seasoned roadie

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great, perfect sizing, great fit
Being appointed rider leader for our local club this week, and with a terrible sense of direction, I thought I'd sort out a satnav capability for my ride. Anway, I got MapMyRide working well on my Samsung S3 mini and tried to fashion my own mount on the stem of my bike. Well that was a complete disaster, Popped in my local Evans and bought the Topeak Drybag. My phone fits in it perfectly. I can't fault the product. Hundred percent better than my old makeshift solution.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bag but let down by bracket and phone fit

Posted27 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: poor fit on bracket
Having used this for about a month now I can report the bag is of decent quality and easily keeps your phone dry. I have a 4.7" phone (Sony Xperia SP) so is towards the maximum size for the bag but I wished my phone was bigger or the bag smaller as it's not a great fit and leaves the surface of the bag rippled so you can't see the phone screen. I've tried inserting a pencil along the side of the phone to fill the bag out a bit and this has improved things. However the biggest gripe is the terrible fit between the bag and the bracket. If you're not on a smooth road the bag rattles badly on the bracket and you not only can't see the screen it's really annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Hungary
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it designed for

Posted24 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Keeps the phone dry.
You can use the touchscreen.
The whole bag can be easily detached if you have call during ride and conversation can be carried out.
The mounting is a bit loose, it is a bit noisy on bumpy roads.
Was great in winter months in raid, snow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Does what it says!

Posted23 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, effective
100% waterproof, easily detachable and the touchscreen works perfectly through the plastic shield. Even better, the plastic doesn't mist up or get dusty like other 'shields' I've used for my phone when I couldn't even read data without removing them. This product does exactly what it says - and WELL!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Topeak smartphone holder

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I got this to hold my Nokia lumia 625 (perfect fit , very snug. My phone measures 4.7 inch) Going touring around Wales and this will work perfectly and keep my phone safe. I can leave the phone in the pouch and there is a clip on the back of the holder so I can clip it on to my waist band while not on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

works well with my samsung s4

Posted27 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Fitted it to my road bike and holds my phone securely with good visibility of screen and ability to use touch screen. Seems ok up to now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Sheffield

Practical

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a very useful tool, and it fit my Samsung Galaxy 2 just fine. It's light, sturdy and wather proof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great in the wet!

Posted04 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Just did a ride in the pouring rain around Yorkshire with my phone and a few banknotes in this. All remained perfectly dry and functional. The case is well laid out for the HTC One X that I have and even allows photos to be taken. Four stars rather than five as it's a little bit of a fiddle to hit the on button and the mount rattles ever so slightly ( but is secure). I'm not aware of any better product. Fully recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product

Posted19 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have an HTC one and this fits great. Easy to use when it's in the pouch and absolutely no problem even in the heavy rain. Highly recommend this bag. I have a spare mount so it's easy to switch between 2 bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall very good but not great in direct sunlight

Posted17 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: glossy screen
Overall I think this is a very good product for the price. It's sturdy, air tight (so obviously watertight) and easy to use the touch screen whilst in the case. My major complaint is that the clear plastic is glossy and reflective so can be hard to see through in direct sunlight. If had been matte I would have given this 5 stars.
(I have a Samsung Galaxy SII)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted11 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Makes your phone into a trip computer while keeping it dry, fits the new HTC One M8. Beware that this case does not allow wired headphones to be connected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good option for HTC One

Posted29 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Fits my HTC one well and the mounting bracket is sturdy enough to hold in place after a fair few potholes!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>