Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddle & Handlebar Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"

Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"

Fits most 4"-5" screen smartphones, including HTC One X, Samsung Galaxy S III, Motorola RAZR, Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc, HTC Sensation XE.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Review 1 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OldSi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great in the wet!

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Just did a ride in the pouring rain around Yorkshire with my phone and a few banknotes in this. All remained perfectly dry and functional. The case is well laid out for the HTC One X that I have and even allows photos to be taken. Four stars rather than five as it's a little bit of a fiddle to hit the on button and the mount rattles ever so slightly ( but is secure). I'm not aware of any better product. Fully recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have an HTC one and this fits great. Easy to use when it's in the pouch and absolutely no problem even in the heavy rain. Highly recommend this bag. I have a spare mount so it's easy to switch between 2 bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JMcFay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall very good but not great in direct sunlight

PostedMay 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: glossy screen
Overall I think this is a very good product for the price. It's sturdy, air tight (so obviously watertight) and easy to use the touch screen whilst in the case. My major complaint is that the clear plastic is glossy and reflective so can be hard to see through in direct sunlight. If had been matte I would have given this 5 stars.
(I have a Samsung Galaxy SII)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SingaporeTom
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Makes your phone into a trip computer while keeping it dry, fits the new HTC One M8. Beware that this case does not allow wired headphones to be connected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BenStck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good option for HTC One

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Fits my HTC one well and the mounting bracket is sturdy enough to hold in place after a fair few potholes!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rana11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

fits HTC one X perfectly

PostedApril 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Fits the phone perfectly and feels sturdy. Have used it in a rain and no problems. The case feels like it will protect the phone in case of a fall. Phone can easily be operated when in case, of course you can't take a call or plug in your headphones, but no problems navigating through the screens.
Haven't used it in direct sunlight for very long so don't know how will it hold, but knowing the great British weather, don't think I will very often.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LarsO
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good simple product at a good price. A litle on the narrow side for my Nokia Lumia 925. It rattles a bit when hitting bumps om the trails.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simpleton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Fits a LG/Google Nexus 5

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Following some discussion with the helpful guys at the Leeds Evans shop I can confirm this does fit a Nexus 5 phone perfectly. If you have any case or bumper this needs removing and then the phone slides in snugly and feels good and secure.
Yet to have much use out on the road with it yet but so far all seems good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sgcyclist
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits the Samsung Galaxy S4 perfectly

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Good fit for a Galaxy S4. Can be used mounted on the handlebar or on it's own nicely tucked in the jersey pocket. Material feels it's of high quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delndi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
My HTC One X fits snug as a bug and all touch screen features work well. Clips onto the handlebar securely and screen visible. I use it with the View Ranger App to track my ride and see average speed, max speed , distance travelled etc in real time so I can push myself a little harder each time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAFGooner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent item, good quality and value

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Got this for my HTC One X and it fits absolutely perfectly, all buttons are still usable and the touch screen works fine through the cover. It can easily be mounted on handlebars or even on the frame. I have two bikes so have bought an extra F55 fixture so I can now easily shift the product between two bikes with consummate ease. The end of the bag rolls over once sealed and is in itself then held in place and is completely watertight so will last in a downpour let alone a shower. The construction is sturdy without being over bulky and is great if you want to follow your progress on a phone app or change the music you are listening to while riding. In my opinion a simply superb product that I cannot recommend enough.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
aardvark5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, exactly what I wanted

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've been searching for over a year for a decent compact waterproof cycle mount that will hold my Samsung S3 and now I've found it. I'm also using it as my day to day case because it's so easy to use through the plastic screen. The case has got a really strong clip on the back so that you can use it for clipping to your shorts for running or clipping to your belt for daily use. I'm really pleased with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Jb23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Ok but doesn't fit my phone (Galaxy S3)

PostedNovember 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
seems a good product good idea with reasonable build quality.
Massive squeeze to get the S3 inside and it puts so much pressure on it the buttons are pressed all the time. took 10/20 mins to get it out again.
very disappointed as the S3 looks to be the phone in the advertising pics and has 4.8 inch screen within the 4-5 recommended...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoonrakerMike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for the Nexus 4

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Perfect for my Nexus 4. Fits securely to the bike. Good to see a product for a larger (non apple) phone too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonimaka
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My Samsung Galaxy S2 fits perfectly.

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The bag has a simple and effective shock absorbing bracket that clips it to my handle bar stem. Ridden the bike fast over grainy British b-roads with no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Argyle12
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I was looking for a good phone mount for a non iPhone (it seems almost all hard cases are for iPhone). This Drybag 5" works great for a Android Sony Xperia S phone. I was surprised at the good fit. I use it together with the Topeak Ridecase II Mount that you put on your stem. It works with touch through the plastic but occasionally the plastic stays down and it becomes a long-press instead of a click but it gets better with practice.
Since Xperia S have the ANT+ sensors you can use it with the Garmin GSC-10 speed and cadence sensor. Many apps support it. Some apps like ipBike support both ANT+ and bluetooth at the same time so it can be used with a heart rate monitor belt like Zephyr HxM. Then you upload the stats to strava.com or other sites.
So this Drybag fits nicely together with the "Android bike kit" I was after consisting of:
- Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
- Topeak Ridecase II Mount
- Topeak Mobile PowerPack 5200mAh
- Garmin GSC-10
- Android phone with ANT+
- I wanted to reuse and existing bluetooth heart rate belt like Zephyr HxM
- Andriod app ipBike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Westmountie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great solution, some vibration noise

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, mounting bracket included, saves money on buying a garmin or other gps device
Cons: some vibration causing a noise
I didn't want to spend hundreds on a cycle computer when also carrying a smartphone and now with this drybag that problem is solved.
I now have a dashboard positioned - thanks to the (included) mounting bracket - right in front of me with all the data I need via the sports-tracker.com android app.
There is some minor vibration noise once the phone is in the bag on the mount, but it must be low amplitude as the screen is legible at all times. My phone is very slightly below the maximum dimensions for the drybag and I'm glad its no bigger or it would never come out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Smartphone Drybag 5"
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dawgul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits perfectly

PostedMay 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for my Specialized road bike.
The bracket is a perfect fit for the stem, and the DryBag itself is a perfect fit for my HTC One X. It was also tried with a Samsung S3 and a Google Nexus, all of which are just fine.
It's well made, and looks really swish. A chap at work saw it and decided to buy one for himself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.