Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt

Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt

Overall rating:
3.95 / 5
4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Review 1 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
swebiker
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gloves that gives you what you want.

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect fit, padding just were you want it, more ventilation in the padding spots than it was earlier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tinny001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

New cycling gloves

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
A good replacement for my previous pair of Peal Izumi gloves which had lasted well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
idgeski48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Comfortable, padded and good ventilation

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable fit. The padding; which I like the way it is ventilated too, is enough without being too thick allowing a involved feel on the handlebars be it MTB or road bike and not intrusive when using the controls.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

PostedJune 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
A very comfortable mitt palm (this being the third pair I have tried out this year), with good shock absorbency. Slight stretching of the fabric after hard use, so I would suggest choosing a close fit. Not as good ventilation as some, but makes up for it in comfort.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Gav76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Comfortable.

PostedMay 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good size well padded glove. Handy tag on one finger for pulling them off.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Mike314
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great gloves

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am so happy that I have been able to find a new pair of summer gloves. They are very comfortable.
The only thing I don't like about them, and that I'm not seeing on fingerless gloves anymore, are the little straps that go between the index to middle finger and ring finger to pinky for easy removal. I don't know why companies aren't putting them on their gloves any more, but they should.
Aside from that, I love them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pious
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good but not perfect

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought them without much consideration. The product is good but my wrists hurt occasionally.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RTAS
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall a good glove

PostedApril 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I've been pretty impressed with these gloves. They are a good weight for warm weather riding.
I had an issue with the stitching failing on the thumbs but this was handled really well by Evans as a warranty replacement.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark2710
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all round lightweight glove

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A great lightweight glove that is just the ticket. Not the cheapest but excellent quality, comfort and moulds nicely to the hand. The “easy removal” tab actually works!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sprout
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: none
Bought as gift, so no personal experience, but no complaints either
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RichG5412
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Would have got 5 stars if stitching hadn't failed

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: weakness in finger stitching
Really comfy, great padding where you need it, lightweight and just enough sweat/snot material. Look good too.
Problem with stitching on ring finger of left glove after only a few weeks but Evans did a warranty check and replaced with a new pair v quickly. Top marks for having a Real Person answering emails and not just a faceless automated system.
Overall v pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveyJones
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Gel pads are placed well and do a good job of absorbing plenty of the vibration transmitted through the bars. I've done a four hour ride with these and didn't get any of the pins and needles I've suffered with other gloves I've tried. Plenty of ventilation on the backs keeps the hands cool on hotter days, too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GlasgowRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Comfortable mitts. Good protection, less sweat!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
The blurb on the packaging said that these gloves have palm venting and a 1:1 fit - While I cannot argue with this, I bought them primarily becuase I was after a gel mitt and these were on offer!!! I have to say that the venting seems to work as my hands are not as sweaty as they were with my previous mitts.
I was sceptical as to whether the odd arrangement of small gel pads would provide good protection of the ulnar nerve, as all previous gel mitts I have owned have had larger gel pads.
After two weeks of riding with them, I have to say that they are very comfortable and I have had no issues. They do not cut in any where, especially between the fingers where I have had issues with previous mitts.
Too early to comment on durability, but otherwise I would recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nunowoolmez
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Almost a very good mitt

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Uncomfortable
The good points about this mitt are the very nice soft, lightweight & breathable upper, & also the fit is pretty good. Depending on how you like your padding, these would be a smart choice for rides in hot weather. Which leads me to the padding. This is where in my opinion the mitt is let down by the padding. The padding is placed in specific spots that i am sure people at Pearl Izumi though long & hard about, however they just don't feel 'right' when in the bar positions. The padding itself is gel like & thus squishy & will wear out in a year or so (in my experience). The pads are in unusual spots for me & this takes away from the glove & it's overall comfort & feel on the bar. I guess it is personal preference, some may like it, but others not.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
GMW123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Worst gloves I've ever bought!!!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
I've bought quite a lot of Pearl Izumi gear in the past and have always found it worth paying extra for the quality. However these gloves are the worst I've ever bought, at any price. Although the padding looks to be in all the right places, in reality it only is if you adopt a grip that matches the Pearl Izumi design. I used these gloves for around 6 days in a 2 week period and found that after the first 1/2 hour my hands (centre of palm area) were starting to ache and by the end of the rides I had pins and needles in my fingers.
DON'T BUY!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
repsychlist
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even better than before

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The previous iteration of this mitt has been the best I've ever used but the latest version is even better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Harlando
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

nice fit, shame about the grip

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
the look and fit is great and the pull tab on the finger makes them easy to remove. the only problem is that the mesh over the gel pads means grip isn't that great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
paulchristie197
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great buy, good comfort and excellent design

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These gloves were a replacement from my previous Gore ones of 3 years, so they had some stiff competition to beat.
Look - great design and colours,
Comfort - out performs previous gloves, fit is excellent with no slippage or stretching so far, and even in the 30 degree heat they havnt been to hot
the only reason I havnt given it 5 stars as the towling on the back of the thumb area could be better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CRSW15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Probably the worst mitts I ever wore

PostedJune 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
I bought those mitts specifically for a 210 km ride in the Brecon Beacons and was seduced by the comfort promises claimed by the manufacturer. For short rides, I guess they can do the job but for long rides I would recommend an alternative. I wanted to try something different from my usual choice - big mistake.
The Pearl Izumi design leads to painful pressure points on the hands. The mesh which supposedly helps with ventilation acts like sand paper when you forget that it's there and you wipe your sweat away. The area on on the top of the hand is not very pleasant either.
I had to remove the mitts after 70 miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pearl Izumi Elite Gel Vent Mitt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrA1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good padding and comfortable

PostedMay 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Bought these a few weeks ago. I have previously suffered from numb thumb when riding any more than a few miles. I won't say that they have solved the problem completely but the 25 miles I did the other day didn't make me feel like my thumbs were dropping off.
These weren't cheap but if you suffer from numb thumb or you ride long distances they are worth a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.