Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket

Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Review 1 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very windproof, quite waterproof & breathable

Posted21 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Overall I'm happy with this jacket. The biggest upside is it's so small and light that I can always have it with me just in case and it's no hassle. For how thin it is, it's unbelievably windproof and therefore keeps you warm. It's definitely breathable but it can get a little too warm if you're working hard. Because of this, I keep it in my bag unless it's actually raining or bitterly cold. It does a good job with the rain when needed, although I've not had to deal with a proper downpour yet. I can't imagine it's going to keep me totally dry but dryer than soaked is good enough for me. Oh, size is small. I'm normally a small-medium but even the large of this just about fits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
daveed545
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great lucky purchase

Posted20 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I already had the no rain version of this jacket which I love and thought i'd get this as a cheapo alternative as the price was great on Evans.
1st weekend and it was a life saver - packs up really small into it's own sac, fits into jersey pocket no problem
I had a short sleeve base layer, club top and this on a cold ride - when the wind picked up this blocked it all out - not a thermal top but now my must take jacket
at the price I got this I couldn't recommend enough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
cotter63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value,Great product

Posted31 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought on offer so value was great, normally get a large but went up one size to xl and fit is fine.
Lightweight and water/windproof packs away into very small pocket overall would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
saxmanpete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ok if you're built like a pro climber

Posted31 January 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I found it impossible to get this garment to fit me. I've got the build of an average middle-aged man (5'8" and 158lbs), and found even the XL to be too tight in the chest and far too long in the arms. I can't, therefore, comment on how this garment performs (although it looks like it might be pretty sweaty).
There's no doubt this would probably fit if you were built like Chris Froome, and there's absolutely no doubt as to its packability. I ended up getting a refund and buying a Mavic shell at a much higher price.
You get what you pay for I suppose, although Evans were super-helpful with regard to changing size and refunding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
MiloP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good Value Jacket

Posted28 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, packs down easily
Cons: sizes come up small
I already have quite a thick winter cycling jacket for the cold and rain. I also have a waterproof gilet for showers and windy weather. I wanted a waterproof jacket that I could pack down into a jersey pocket and get it on if it started raining. This jacket fits the bill at a good price. It is thin enough to easily fold up and stick into a jersey pocket. I've worn it in fairly cold weather (2 or 3 degrees) and light rain - it was fine and I was warmer than I thought considering how thin the material is. On top of a base layer and jersey this is a good top layer.
Downsides - sizes are small. I'm almost always a medium but I read other reviews and they are right. If you're a medium then buy a large. If you're normally a large, buy an extra large, etc. Also, the pocket on the back is a bit tricky to get things in and out of quickly (small, fiddly opening).
Overall a great jacket if you want it to be thin enough to stow away and to be warm and waterproof. Haven't tried it in sub zero yet!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Dieselgeezer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

vERSATILE BIT OF KIT

Posted25 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, versatile
I bought this as a cape replacement rather than a jacket. So far I've not used it as a rain cape but use it frequently as a very effective wind barrier & because it packs so small it's very easy to stow away. Transforms an autumn jersey into a winter jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Talsh
Country:Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

lightweight yet very effective

Posted23 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, works great
This jacket works great for me. On very cold days I put it on top of my long sleeve fleece jersey and it absolutely makes a difference, turning my ride from "brrr...cold weather but I'll manage" to "hmm, great weather for a ride". very very lightweight, and packs into the integrated small sack very easily. Only blame that I have is that if it was slightly bigger it would have fit me perfectly (it's about 95% fit now, I would say) - I am wearing the medium size, and am 1.8m tall and slim
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snoosh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality jacket

Posted27 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
In line with other reviewers I was surprised at how light weight this jacket was. Nonetheless it does what its says on the label and the quality seems good. Windproof and breathable but watch sizing. I am a small small but with help from the Evans Staff opted for Extra Large which is fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carbonator
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Looks great.

Posted13 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight, compact, nice fit and great design.
I am normally a large but went up to an XXL in this.
I also have the 'No Rain' version but oddly only needed an XL in that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sportful Hot Pack 4 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jigzy99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job very well

Posted10 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was very sceptical about spending a large amount of money on something resembling a plastic carrier bag but thought I had better prior to the Dartmoor Classic Sportive. So glad I did - put it on after 5 miles and then endured 63 miles in 45mph headwinds and torrential rain - underneath the jacket I was completely dry. Folds into the size and shape of an apple and looks good. Also I didn't get hot inside as I thought I would.
Recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.