Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer

Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer

Overall rating:
3.583 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 12Would you recommend this product to a friend?67%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Review 1 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sizing is off, be careful

Posted19 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Uncomfortable
Measured carefully 98cm and chose the medium, ended up too tight around chest. Should be 3cm from size chart upper end so sizing is definitely too small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Affordable and does the job

Posted22 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
You definitely need to get the large, if you are a medium. Even then it is a snug fit. That said, if you need an affordable base layer which doesn't get you too warm, you can't do better than this. I have two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Little short.

Posted01 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Well made shirt and fits well, except I would prefer it to be a little longer. However, I am 195cm tall so will probably be more than ok for most.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tight but effective

Posted25 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, warm, keep you dry
Cons: poor sizing
I normally wear large sized clothes but in this case I got a size up (XL) and they are still a little too tight. Would not recommend going more than one size up though as they are a base layer and are supposed to be close fitting.
They keep the heat in and wick away sweat well. A bit of a nightmare to get off if you've had a heavy ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:Slovenia
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted17 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: price
Cons: Uncomfortable
Sizing is small. Go size or 2 up! Ordered my regular size L, but later changed to XL, which is still small :( especial on the neck part. Base layer eventual do part of base' function but would not recommended.
At last price is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bit of kit - watch the sizing!

Posted11 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
First base layer I've bought for a while and I'm wondering why I've not been bothering with one in previous years. Just the job and I've dispensed with a thicker outer layer as a result. Can definitely feel the additional warmth it's provided as well as benefiting from the wicking properties.
Others have commented on the sizing previously and thanks to them I got this one right. I'm usually a Large but went XL with this and it's just right. It's a close fit, but comfortable as I think base layers should be.
For those wanting a base layer that is tight all over, whilst they're not flapping about the sleeves aren't the same close fit as the body, though admittedly I'm not exactly well built in that regard!
I bought one, wore it for a week commuting and then bought another one so that I've always got a spare for weekends/non-biking activities in the cold.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great value base layer

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
This was a bargain. Very comfortable - you forget you're wearing it. And it performs well. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

On the small side

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Material and feel is great, but the product fits very small. Would size up!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Sizing Chart Way Way Out.

Posted29 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Followed Altura sizing chart on the Evans website, even getting the wife to double check and ordered the small. Received in record time problem being I could only get one arm in due to the size. Reordered next size up which fitted (although still slightly tight around the neck) and gave the small to my 10year old nephew, whom it just fits.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfortable

Posted26 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
usually im an extra small in most tops but getting a small for this was a good idea. i cycly around 10 miles to & from work almost every day & this top is warm & comfortable (although a little tight around the neck) well recommended for these autumnal evenings at the moment & i would recommend getting the next size up from what you usually are
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for the price

Posted12 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: a little tight
A little tight but that may be I'm a bit large. It is difficult to gage sizes on cycling clothes not everyone is like Bradley Wiggins. The item seems well made and I have no issues with it, I just need to realise extra large doesn't mean big in cycling clothes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Transfer Short Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Not what I was expecting!

Posted13 May 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
I wanted something to wear under my jacket for commuting or something without my jacket - I ordered the item in both M and L (both of which were far too tight for my liking - but apparently thats how they fit!) - I sent them back and ordered a Jersey instead which is what I should of got in the first place!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.