Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Soft Shells or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey

Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey

Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Review 1 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Moc40
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for my husband. Super product, excellent value for money. Great having the option of wearing it with or without sleeves. The windproof aspect of the garment is an added bonus. May want to go up a size as they are a small enough fit. Washes brilliant. I have the same product in pink and swear by it. Can't wait to see if they bring them out in new colours next season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elliptical
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great versatility - 2 tops in one

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is a good looking well fitted top - I'm 5.8 175lbs and it is a good fit. Really comfortable. The arms zip off really easily and leave a short sleeved top - Handily the arms are like a little shrug so you don't have two separate arms to deal with when you have removed them.
It is a warm top though and even though i went out at 8am in 10 degrees weather i had to unzip the arms after about 10 minutes as i was overheating - which bodes well as the weather turns a little colder towards autumn.
I purchased this item in the sale as it was the first top of this type I have bought - at full price i wasn't going to take the chance but now I have owned and worn it for a few weeks I would definitely pay full price for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
crazymadhatter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
lightweight , good value ,
feels slightly small for XL .
Another great product of altura
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Peterjw
Country:Australia
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, multi-purpose jacket

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
This jacket is lightweight, with good appearance. First time I tried it I thought it might be a bit cold, but soon found it keeps out the cold air and feels ok against bare arms. Haven't had it on in the wet yet. For sizing I took the advice of other reviewers and went for a large instead of the medium recommended by Altura sizing. I'm 6' 1" and 78kg and the large size is a good fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chippo53
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for the temperature changes

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
It is expensive but worth it. Great for the early morning chill and if when the temperature rises its easy to remove the sleeves, It is very light and comfortable wind proof and kept a short burst of rain out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RCITGuy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than awesome!

PostedApril 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This Jersey / Shirt / Jacket is absolutely fantastic! I wish they had these when I used to ride as a teenager..
Its a short sleeve jersey, a long sleeve jersey and wind-proof all in 1, and water does just seem to run right off it if your out in light rain..
Fantastic space saver if your wife seems to hog most of the wardrobe and seems like this is going to be a fantastic 3 season top, but it does require a good base layer though as it wont keep you warm on chilly/cold spring/autumn days..
Wickedly comfy and mega light too, yet it weights so little..
Saves a fair bit of cash too, as a GOOD quality jersey is £60 each, yet this gives you 2 wind-proof and rain resistant ones.
Can find NOTHING bad or even close to bad to say about these..
So impressed I bought me 2 of them, so wont be caught-out on laundry.
Yet again it seems to have Altura's really high quality raceline kit feel to it too, not like the budget range of kit, it just feels a lot nicer..
Well done Altura, well played :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flakeywhite
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Light and windproof jacket

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is not a cheap piece of kit but it does perform well and certainly keeps the cold at bay on chilly days. Haven't tried it without the sleeves yet but the ability to shed them on days when things warm up a bit should be very handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
LaurieH76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Excellent all round

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I now have two of these and ride wearing this and two base layers and it's good to down to about 2 degrees C with no other clothing and with sleeves off and one base great in warmer temperatures up to the point where you're wanting just a thin jersey at about 18 degrees.
Never too hot, never too cold, sleeves stow in back pockets, good hi-vis, properly wind-proof and good value - say no more!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grant1971
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great Fit

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Recomend this product - great fit and lightweight jacket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MickyP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great Investment

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought the red one in large as it seemed to be a better fit than the medium. I am 6' tall & 80kg with a 42" chest. It is not over generous in the length of either the body or the arms so if in doubt go a little larger than you would normally.
The jacket is great for windy days as it keeps the chill out, although I did find myself quite wet with sweat so tried it with a thin T-shirt underneath which worked much better soaking up the sweat. The arms both zip off as one piece which makes it very versatile & means that if you are not sure if it is a short or long sleeved day then you can cover all the bases with this. A nice touch is the extra zip pocket for car keys & whilst I have never lost my keys, it removes the slight worry that one day I will.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snappyhappy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Great product and ready for the colder/wet days

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm 6'1" and 75kg and the fit of Large is perfect for me.
Very comfortable fit and the wind proof front works exactly as it should do. Detaching the arms takes seconds even when your still wearing the top and easily stores away in your back vest pocket.
Product is so good, I've bought 2 in different colours.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wilse30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Grerat functionality but snug

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good product, windproof and removable sleeves are a great feature.
However, im 6ft, 40" chest and a medium is tight so i would size up if purchasing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kitenski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Works very well

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Due to the colder spring I was looking for something to keep the wind off me for some early morning rides from May onwards. This product has been great, and the fact you can zip the sleeves off as the day warms up has been very useful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bananabarry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Worth the money

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was a bit reticent about spending so much on a jacket, although the price seems comparable with similar technical products. However, this one really works. It's light, breathable and does not let the wind through. The collar is nice and high to keep out the draughts. I've not tried it in the really cold weather yet, but I expect it to be fine when worn with an extra layer.
The beauty of it is that the sleeves can be removed if the temperature rises and it transforms into a normal looking short sleeve road jersey, so it can be worn on those coolish spring and autumn days (i.e. British summer) as well as in the winter.
Taking the sleeves off whilst riding takes a little practice however (I tried it once and it took a minute or so). I hope to get better!
Jacket has been washed a few times now and has retained both its look and feel, and it dries very quickly. Construction seems to be robust and the finish is very good.
Recommended!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.