Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Soft Shells or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey

Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey

Overall rating:
4.607 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
87 out of 89Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Review 1 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for long rides or in changing conditions.

Posted22 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this at the start of the winter and used during longer weekend rides as well as on the commute. Good fit (Closely fitted but enough room that you can get other layers on underneath on a cold day). Keeps the wind chill off well and the rain in a light shower.
Sleeves come off easily and can be stuffed quickly in the back pocket (I have managed to take them off whilst waiting at traffic lights). They can be a little tricky to get back on if you are still wearing the jacket and you can end up looking like Balotelli trying to get a training bib on.
Overall it is well made and has survived a lot of wear and washes. My only concern is the zips on the arms surviving if the sleeves are being taken on and off a lot during rides but they still working fine for me after several months wear.
This is a very versatile jacket that can be worn in a lot of conditions. Great if like me you are someone who can get hot very quickly and don't want to carry layers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy, versatile and nice looking, but expensive

Posted16 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Pros:
-Good looking and precise sizing (I am an S size and fits perfectly)
-Doubles as jacket and gilet (although don’t try to “transform” it while on the bike!), so it will see plenty of use – even for morning runs (yes, non-cycling :) )
-Reasonably warm and windproof. With just a good base layer you can probably ride with temperatures down to 8 degrees (this will depend on your personal resistance to cold)
-I got the yellow colour and is very visible – you feel safer riding in the night
Cons:
-Not waterproof (but not advertised as such)
-Zipped pocket is so small that is almost useless, apart from storing your keys in it
-A lot of reflective material is on the sleeves, so if you remove them, you become less visible
-It’s a good and versatile jacket but the RRP is too high for what you get. The -60% discounted price Evans has at the moment is way more reasonable and fair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Most versatile softshell

Posted27 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
I have the 2012 version still going and it's by far the most versatile jacket I have; I have the Raceline from last season, and I the Airstream. I also have a Gore Tex Oxygen 2.0 (current) . Unlike other brands who make similar but add fleece to the inside in the windproofing sections at the front and non windproofing backing, this one has no fleece at all, and is a jersey material at the back. So you don't overheat as much, and with a decent merino wool baselayer this can easily see you through the depths of winter. Issues with 2012: the sleeves are not long enough and the size is odd so I have a L to fit my chest, yet the torso is too big.
Improvements on this next generation one is that the sleeves are now long enough and secured with stretchy material. The under arm to your elbow is vented to help more wicking. Both have good reflective bits. And for me the sizing is right this time, I got an M, so Altura sorted it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Go at least one size up!

Posted16 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
A good product at a great price compared to similar products but make sure you go at least one size up from your norm as I had to go for an extra large which is still relatively snug across the shoulders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great at the reduced price

Posted16 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: interesting fit
I rode this in strong winds after buying for £35.99 as a clearance item. This is a really great piece of kit at this price point, and did a really good job of keeping the wind off my body. If anything it worked too well and I started to overheat, requiring me to open the zip a bit, and consider removing the arms.
The fact that you can remove the arms is a major plus, as it means that I will use this item when the weather warms up again.
The item feels well made, though the arms are fiddly to remove, and I wouldn't do it when riding. The arms are slightly baggy too, which is a shame. I have the neon yellow version and it is bright.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Wind-beater!

Posted15 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, versatile
Surprised by the real difference this made in the wind. Excellent protection and great, comfortable fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice jersey but not worth the full price

Posted12 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The jersey is quite a loose fit, more suited to sportive/ commuting. It is definitely more on the 'breathable' end of the windproof spectrum. It is only one layer with no insulating fabric. I think the sale price of £36 is the most anyone should have to pay for this jersey. The £90 'full price' is just silly. The silicone strip around the bottom and waterproof pocket are nice touches. The removable sleeves are partly held in position by buttons that come undone every time I take off the jersey. On the whole I'm happy with it and it meets my needs but would probably look at other alternatives if I need to replace it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted08 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my daughters partner. The quality appears to be very good and I am impressed with the product although cannot comment on what it is like in use. However, my daughter has a similar jersey and says it is very warm and windproof and would thoroughly recommend it. Hence, I bought one for her partner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good fit and performance

Posted06 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
It does everything it said it would and even manages to fit me quite well, which is rare which a body the shape mine is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wanted to like this but not an athletic fit

Posted03 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: baggy front
Would suit someone somewhat rounder than me. I'm 72kg and 1.82m - fairly normal for a cyclist I'd say. Based on reviews I went large, but I found this very baggy around the waist & front. I don't think medium will work for body and arm length, and it already feels snug across the shoulders, so I'm returning.
I'm disappointed given the other rave reviews.
I liked the fabric and styling, and gillet conversion would have been handy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Just what I was looking for!

Posted30 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Really pleased with the Transformer, to use either with long or short sleeves to suit the conditions of the ride...and yellow too for safety
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted29 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a quality jersey at a reasonable price. Not sure how waterproof as I haven't tested it. I normal order medium clothes, went for large and it fits well
Only complaint is it can be hard to get your arms in the sleeves, as you hands come out the underarms. Will get better with practice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Excellent value for money

Posted29 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
The jacket is exactly what you want for winter. Lightweight. Resilient. Adaptable:
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent windproofing

Posted26 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Wind proof and still breathable. Very comfortable with high visibility, great for night road cycling with club
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Bristol

Good versatile jacket, especially if get in sale

Posted22 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
The wind proofing, together with perforated back is a really good!
Not sweaty like budget waterproof jackets
Can even weat as short sleave shirt by self, not sticky on skin
Button near armpits don't work, need tuck in sleaves before put on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Very useful garment

Posted20 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
Great jersey. The removable sleeves are really handy making it have more uses. Bright so easily seen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Excellent jersey

Posted14 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Come up small so buy a size larger than normal. Very versatile. Block wind and breaths well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidenhead

Very comfortable jacket

Posted13 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Bought this because of price reduction. It is really windproof. I was able to use it recently on a cold morning with just a base layer. When it warmed up I unzipped the arms and had a really comfortable short sleeve jersey/windproof gilet. Brilliant!
I am 5'10" and 39" chest and the large size is a snug fit. Any larger and the arms would have been too long.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good. Decent windproof effect

Posted12 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Feels just right and like it will keep the wind out. Also very breathable unlike some. Did need one size larger than normal. Removable sleeves work well and not many jackets have this feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Transformer Windproof Long Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

Posted11 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Nice, light and good quality of the material!
If someone looking for good winterproof jacket it is best what u can
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>