Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike

Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike
Review 1 for Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deefer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great bike

PostedMay 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this 3 weeks ago (after 4 years riding a Charge Plug). This is a super fast bike and really fun to ride. I changed the huge peddles and nasty plastic saddle straight away but otherwise its perfect. It is expensive but worth it if you ride regularly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KentS
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice but "to heavy" bike

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The bike is absolutely gorgeous in every detail but I would like to ask Cinelli how they measure the weight. The specs says 8.1 kg complete. My bike (the smallest size, 47 cm) comes in at 9.6 kg out of the box. The star lacking in my review comes from the false statement about the weight, not the bike itself. If you can live with the weight (which I can, I should have bought this bike even if I knew the real weight, I'm just annoyed that Cinelli try to mislead us customers) then I recommend this bike
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jude1000
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The bike I wanted

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I love this bike, it really was what I wanted. However, I can't understand how I paid $1300 for a bike and they went cheap on the rim tape - 6 flats in a couple of weeks. Seriously? Pathetic.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JazzRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, racy
Goes like a bullet on the flat, and is also surprisingly comfortable. The Mystic Rats now comes with Cinelli's own Kink Straps on the pedals which work really well, so the only thing I felt a need to swap was the saddle.
I actually got this as a bit of a training machine to get fit for a sponsored ride around Cuba, and it's certainly doing that: if I can tackle Snake Pass on the Cinelli then the Sierra Maestra should be a breeze on my tourer!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Girds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Quality build without being garish

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this product in July 2013 as something I could use to commute in London. It is perhaps not as colourful as some of the fixed gear/single speed bikes on the market and perhaps more expensive but the lightweight frame means this bike wants to go fast. It has a flip flop hub which allows you to swap between fixed gear and free wheel single speed. Like the other reviews I also ditched the stock pedals. I currently use toe clips as i am on and off of my bike a lot and so not so practical to use cleats. Don't be put off by the plastic saddle as it is surprisingly comfortable although I imagine on long journeys this opinion would change. The bull horn handle bars look great while still allowing you to get low when you pick up the pace. This was my first single speed bike and i am happy I paid the extra for something that looks good and rides well.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sevieri
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Love the bike. While it might be a little expensive for a single speed bike it ride great and looks awesome.
Plastic saddle looks a little cheap at first but is comfortable.
Pedals are a little small fro my liking but i normally upgrade these on all my bikes
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cinelli Mystic Rats 2014 Single Speed Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tjwright55

This bike is so fast!

PostedMay 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor saddle and pedals
I have the 2012 version of this bike which as far as I can tell is identical.
Bought this on the cycle to work scheme and had to wait a while to get hold of (apparently these are pretty rare bikes) but it was certainly worth it. Changed the saddle which is a retro plastic one and not comfortable whatsoever, replacing it with a charge spoon and changed the pedals for some clip in ones.
I use this to cycle mainly around London and commute about 6 miles to work and it flies, the narrow bars mean you get through the tiniest gaps and it accelerates faster than almost any other bike I have ridden.
I also have a Pinarello road bike that cost a few thousand pounds that I use for longer rides outside the city, but this Cinelli is so much more fun to ride over short distances and in most cases you can pretty much out sprint anything else in the city.
As another plus it does not look like another hipster bike despite the narrow bars and single gear.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.