Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)

Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)

The Garmin Edge 510 brings you high sensitivity GPS with HotFix and comprehensive, customisable ride data with full workout, training and sensor capability to give you excellent feedback on your performance. It is a robust, water-resistant yet compact and lightweight device with a bring, high resolution, sunlight readable screen with touchscreen display designed especially for riding. What's more, the new Garmin Edge 510 brings you an enhanced, ride-specific UI with new Activity Profiles for easy transition between bike and riding types. You can also get connected via smartphone with the GarminConnect Mobile App thanks to the ANT+ and Bluetooth connectivity. Further benefits include real time tracking providing accurate performance and location data as well as graphic representation of ride data, as well as instant upload and download. An hourly weather forecast will even be sent to your Edge! The Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance comes with heart rate monitor, cadence Sensor and includes and bike mount.
Overall rating:
4.736 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
53 out of 53Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
R1200
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Posted16 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Still trying to understand all the features .old man syndrome. At the moment it's becoming addictive. Still cannot get the candence to work. This is the second sender in two weeks. Otherwise nice piece of kit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angagx
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

As always good and reliable

Posted03 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Super good product. Functions easy to use and reading was accurate and clear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keatso
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent buy

Posted17 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I took a long time researching which Garmin edge was going to suit me. After making the choice I'm delighted. Evancycles.com was the cheapest by a country mile (saving of €60 in most places i looked)and the delivery was on time. The 510 itself was very easy to setup and it suits me perfectly. I know the routes I'm taking so I didn't need maps also the display size of the 510 is a lot bigger than the computer I had on my bike before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FalconOlympic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Enjoying the world of data.

Posted21 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have to confess this was bought as a birthday present for my wife, so this is a somewhat vicarious review. My wife has only just started using this product but I'd say it's going well so far. It impressed an oldie like me as it started working more or less straight from the box and easily synched with a tablet computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wifey101
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Present for my cycle mad husband :)

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
My husband was so happy with this present I was really in his good books :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dayo70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Comprehensive Compact GPS Computer

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great bit of kit, it came with the new smaller Cadence and Speed sensors that you get with the Edge 1000, not the old larger ones you see in some of the pictures.
This kit has the out front mount as well as 2 standard mounts ( for Stem or Bars) so you can fit it to multiple bikes without the need to buy more mounts.
Setting up was easy, I have different bikes set up as well as different riding profiles, you can customize the data shown on the screens, and flick through the different screens when you are riding to show basic information or a multitude of info.
Speed and distance seem very accurate as I left my old bike computer on to compare this.
You can go for a ride and then when you come back save the route as a Course, then race yourself with the virtual partner next time.
Uploading to Garmin connect was easy, I can see my rides, even compare segment times with other riders (abit like Strada I guess).
Very pleased with it, wish I had bought one sooner.
Oh and I used my Tesco's Clubcard vouchers to buy this, £5 Tesco vouchers= £10 Evans Vouchers ...Awesome!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Npngain1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product but garminwebsite is a let down

Posted25 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
As expected from a garmin product I am happy with it. It is a must if you are serious about your training, However Garmin website is a complete let down. There is not enough training programmes nor useful training advice, It would be helpful if they could help you with the data you gather when cycling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thong88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Product has lots of features

Posted28 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Lacks the mapping and navigational functions. However, includes a full-color touchscreen, GPS satellite, redesign of the interface (over the 500), and a slick smartphone connectivity package that can not only upload your rides when you're done but even download critical alerts while you're on the go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Karlo
Country:Philippines
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product for cycling training!

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
First: value for money. The features for training includes programming a workout from Garmin Connect. You can make personalizations and on the fly adjustment in terms of what things to display.
Second: Built. Good material and sealing. At its' size, I find it light although if you plan on running with it, you may consider other options, but it is manageable with me.
Third: Looks. IMO, Having a Garmin in front of your handlebars is cool!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wolverine1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Excellent bike computer

Posted24 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this computer to improve winter turbo training and it really hasn't disappointed. If you simply want to track speed distance etc the basic computer will suffice however I would recommend buying the package with cadence and heart monitor. The heart monitor is first class and simple to attach. The cadence sensor takes a bit of playing about with but once set up really helps you get more from a training session. I haven't been on the road with this yet however I would imagine it will be great. Further easy to set up garmin connect and to link this to strava...another great plus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deepee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Basic gps with all the required functions except m

Posted24 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: software
Bought this for my wife, so that she could have some idea of speed, cadence, distance and heart rate. Does what it says on the box exactly, without any fuss and it's easy to use. As with allGarmin products, their connect website is useless for communicating with the likes of Strava, so direct uploads are the order of the day, unless you use one of the numerous upload providers. What a shame Garmin can't manage to sort it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bezza01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Occasional
It was bought:Gateshead

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this for my hubby for Christmas and he loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HuddsTerrier
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

So far so good

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Only used on the turbo so far but helped to take my mind off the boredom of indoor training by watching the cadence and heart rate. Courses look useful, even though there is no underlying map.
A great tool. Thanks Santa!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Triathlonbuds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Very Useful

Posted05 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, looks professional
The Garmin Edge 510 has lots of different setting and features which make it very useful for a cyclist. It fits perfectly on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclerobin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Awesome

Posted04 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This will revolutionise my cycling. Having accurate stats will help me to identify areas for improvement and it is great to see real time information when cycling. I would highly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlueJacko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great upgrade from Edge 200

Posted04 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
The Edge 510 is easy to set up and use,it provides you with all the information you need when training. I find the cadence sensor more use indoors when using my turbo trainer, the heart rate monitor is great for finding my desired tempo out on the road (or showing how unfit I am). The back light function is a great addition during the winter months. Worth the extra money as an upgrade if you use it too it's potential.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tww67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Does exactly what I need really well

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is a great accessory that has spurred me on to train better, especially when using it with Strava to check my times against friends. It's easy to use with my winter gloves on. The GPS/Glonass combination means it picks up satellites really quickly. Plus having the HRM and cadence features has given me even more data to work with. It's easy to configure for my two bikes and having 3 mounts (including the out-front mount) is great value. All I need now is a third bike...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
talbotevo5
Country:Iceland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

not easy to use

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
when I first turned it on it was in russinan language it took me a long time to convert to english the manual is confusing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SaraUAE
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted04 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The perfect companion for training rides. Very flexible ( you can decide what you see on the display while riding) and simple to set up and use. Useful the possibility to tune the backlight intensity so that the display is visible when light conditions change during the course of a ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tiswas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Posted16 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent piece of kit. Unfortunately the heartbeat monitor doesn't work which means it's either faulty or I'm dead!! Spoke to a nice chap at my local Evans cycle shop at monks cross york and not a problem. Just pop it in and we will exchange it. Excellent service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>