Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer

Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer

The Garmin Edge 810 brings you high sensitivity GPS with HotFix and comprehensive, customisable ride data with full workout, training and sensor capability to give you excellent feedback on your performance. It is a robust, water-resistant yet compact and lightweight device with a bring, high resolution, sunlight readable screen with touchscreen display designed especially for riding. What's more, the new Garmin Edge 810 brings you an enhanced, ride-specific UI with new Activity Profiles for easy transition between bike and riding types. You can also get connected via smartphone with the GarminConnect Mobile App thanks to the ANT+ and Bluetooth connectivity. Further benefits include real time tracking providing accurate performance and location data as well as graphic representation of ride data, as well as instant upload and download. An hourly weather forecast will even be sent to your Edge! This Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer is the computer-only version of the Garmin 810 allowing you to purchase maps and sensors separately to suit your exact requirements.
Overall rating:
4.482 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
26 out of 27Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Wimbledon

Just what I was looking for

Posted20 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great bit of kit this. Takes a bit of getting use to, however youtube covers anything you cant figure out.
Used with Garmin Connect and/or Strava its great.
Free maps from openstreetmap are more than enough rather than buying the ones through Garmin. Guides on how to install them are all over the internet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent kit

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to set up and navigate around, had a couple of rides now and it is easy to swipe whilst moving and with gloves on. Maps are great too just need to upload some routes and try the navigation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great product which was easy to set up and use

Posted09 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to use, intuitive
Really easy to set up and the general processes was intuitive which is always a good sign. Had a slight issue initially pairing the device to my phone with bluetooth but I think that's more my phone than the Garmin.
Took it out for it's first two rides today, performed well both to and from work; so far so good! Took a little while to find GPS but thats easily combatted by starting the search before you're sat on the bike waiting for a connection.
5 stars if there had been no issues with the bluetooth and it is still early days but definitely happy with the purchase so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

So simple to use

Posted14 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
I have a Garmin 500 and I bought this product so the wife could find out where I where whilst out riding and the connected features can do this fine but I went for the 810 as this as got GPS. And is easier to see than the 500.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

What I wanted

Posted10 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Not five stars as difficult at first to work it out. Your best bet is you tube for tutorials etc. Does what I want it to do, I need more rides with the navigation before I can comment but overall I am happy that I have routes to follow and save on the device. You will need to buy maps separately though, although I purchased from Amazon with SD card for £12 and it seems to do the trick.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted20 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
2 weeeks in and enjoying my new found freedom. Have linked with RidewithGPS site and downloaded other peoples rides.
Easy to use.
Easy to set up.
Was using my Galaxy s3 but this is so much better - connects to GPS satelite very quickly unlike my phone that could take up to 2 minutes.
The waterproof cover for the SD card/ USB slot does not look as waterproof as you'd want and looks like it could fail long term.
Wish i'd got one of these a long time ago but was always put off by the price untoil now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great unit, esp now linked with Strava.

Posted05 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
I was torn which unit to get, I would have loved the 1000 but just couldn't justify the price for the extra features. The 810 does almost everything I need with the exception of an auto route function. It's small enough to be unobtrusive on the bars but clear enough to read when riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Won't be getting lost again

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Good features and responsive when around built up areas. Syncs well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Good Computer, better than more modern Garmins

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Good computer, links easily with power meter in 2 bikes and to my heart rate monitor. Also the uploading works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Don't look much further! Or Evans!

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Amazing product which contains everything you would want from a GPS computer and looks stylish too. Evans customer experience was immaculate and helped me sync power meter, cadence, speed, my Strava and maps to make sure everything was perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

This product has great features

Posted14 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Excellent graphics, features and very good design.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Chelmsford

Brilliant bike computer

Posted08 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The 810 meets all the needs of a keen cyclist. You need to have a play around with it to learn how to navigate through the settings but it's easy to pick up & use. Really satisfied with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use with some cool features

Posted31 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really good,easy to setup and make specific to my requirements of riding With the layouts of screens and which information I would like to be shown. Navigation excellent used ride with gps to make routes, easy to download on to Garmin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good piece of kit

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent purchase would recommend this for any cyclist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Does what its supposed to do

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Well made, appears to be robust, relatively intuitive to use; mount is very well designed. Base maps that are supplied are inadequate so you need to buy additional maps, which makes it quite expensive. Looking forward to using the mapping functions once I have the more detailed maps.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great GPS

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bit larger than previous EDGE 500, very happy with maps and live update features though.
Evans had best price available thanks.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love it - much better than the Edge 705

Posted21 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, touchscreen
Upgraded from Edge 705 which I had for 4 years.
810 is quicker, has more features (e.g. L/R power balance for power meter users), and is touchscreen which seems to work well.
Bought from Evans again, as fast free delivery to local store to collect, was heavily discounted to £235, and always get great customer experience.
No issues so far after 4 weeks of regular use :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Good product

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Only used this for a short while but initial impressions are good. If you are not particularly techo (like me!) it can take a while to learn the various features but the basic functions are easy to use - I particularly like the "alerts settings" for time & distance. After a lot of resarch I decided to save the money and not have the heart rate monitor & power meter but to purchase the slightly more expensive 810 model for the bluetooth capability. Device hooks up to my phone immediately and uploads to the pc within seconds after the ride. Overall a great device but have only scratched the surface of its capabilities. Also purchased a silicone cover (£7) for extra protection and an out front bike mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:South Africa
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exceptional features in a small package

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was undecided between the 500, 510, 800 and 810 and took ages to make my decision. After the first ride with the 810 I can confidently say it was the right decision.
The difference between 5-series and 8-series is predominantly the maps. I thought I would hardly use the maps, but I was wrong. If Maps are there, you can - and will - use them. To get to coffee shops, to find your way home, to get a perspective on how far you are away from home, etc. Get the Maps!
The difference between the x00-series and the x10-series is predominantly the bluetooth connection to your phone. The benefits sound minor but provide extreme convenience. Things like - upload automatically at the end of the ride to Garmin Connect; Get the weather report (via your phone but displayed on your Garmin); "Livetrack" which sends family and friends updates every 60sec on where you are and your speed, heart rate, etc.
Don't hesitate - get one as soon as you can. It is the right device.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Satisfied. Good value and does the basics well.

Posted31 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: average maps
A well featured bike computer with OK map navigation and with a reasonably well set out and organised menu structure for use. Showing its age a little - the map graphics are a little dated. Excellent connectivity via internet to set up routes, see stats etc. Can be used without bluetooth speed sensors etc so saving on those additional costs although these can be attached if you need. Good battery life from each charge. Easy to clip on and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>