Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer

Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer

The Garmin Edge 810 brings you high sensitivity GPS with HotFix and comprehensive, customisable ride data with full workout, training and sensor capability to give you excellent feedback on your performance. It is a robust, water-resistant yet compact and lightweight device with a bring, high resolution, sunlight readable screen with touchscreen display designed especially for riding. What's more, the new Garmin Edge 810 brings you an enhanced, ride-specific UI with new Activity Profiles for easy transition between bike and riding types. You can also get connected via smartphone with the GarminConnect Mobile App thanks to the ANT+ and Bluetooth connectivity. Further benefits include real time tracking providing accurate performance and location data as well as graphic representation of ride data, as well as instant upload and download. An hourly weather forecast will even be sent to your Edge! This Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer is the computer-only version of the Garmin 810 allowing you to purchase maps and sensors separately to suit your exact requirements.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WullieT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good piece of kit

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent purchase would recommend this for any cyclist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Percy567
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Does what its supposed to do

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Well made, appears to be robust, relatively intuitive to use; mount is very well designed. Base maps that are supplied are inadequate so you need to buy additional maps, which makes it quite expensive. Looking forward to using the mapping functions once I have the more detailed maps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jono23
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great GPS

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bit larger than previous EDGE 500, very happy with maps and live update features though.
Evans had best price available thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
garym4788
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love it - much better than the Edge 705

Posted21 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, touchscreen
Upgraded from Edge 705 which I had for 4 years.
810 is quicker, has more features (e.g. L/R power balance for power meter users), and is touchscreen which seems to work well.
Bought from Evans again, as fast free delivery to local store to collect, was heavily discounted to £235, and always get great customer experience.
No issues so far after 4 weeks of regular use :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tony1957
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Good product

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Only used this for a short while but initial impressions are good. If you are not particularly techo (like me!) it can take a while to learn the various features but the basic functions are easy to use - I particularly like the "alerts settings" for time & distance. After a lot of resarch I decided to save the money and not have the heart rate monitor & power meter but to purchase the slightly more expensive 810 model for the bluetooth capability. Device hooks up to my phone immediately and uploads to the pc within seconds after the ride. Overall a great device but have only scratched the surface of its capabilities. Also purchased a silicone cover (£7) for extra protection and an out front bike mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ghisallo
Country:South Africa
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exceptional features in a small package

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was undecided between the 500, 510, 800 and 810 and took ages to make my decision. After the first ride with the 810 I can confidently say it was the right decision.
The difference between 5-series and 8-series is predominantly the maps. I thought I would hardly use the maps, but I was wrong. If Maps are there, you can - and will - use them. To get to coffee shops, to find your way home, to get a perspective on how far you are away from home, etc. Get the Maps!
The difference between the x00-series and the x10-series is predominantly the bluetooth connection to your phone. The benefits sound minor but provide extreme convenience. Things like - upload automatically at the end of the ride to Garmin Connect; Get the weather report (via your phone but displayed on your Garmin); "Livetrack" which sends family and friends updates every 60sec on where you are and your speed, heart rate, etc.
Don't hesitate - get one as soon as you can. It is the right device.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DunstanP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Satisfied. Good value and does the basics well.

Posted31 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: average maps
A well featured bike computer with OK map navigation and with a reasonably well set out and organised menu structure for use. Showing its age a little - the map graphics are a little dated. Excellent connectivity via internet to set up routes, see stats etc. Can be used without bluetooth speed sensors etc so saving on those additional costs although these can be attached if you need. Good battery life from each charge. Easy to clip on and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJHoward
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent device. Easy to use and Maps great.

Posted29 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very easy to use and setup. Wireless function excellent, and Maps also very useful.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyM79
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Garmin edge 810

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: device takes a bit of getting used to, bluetooth connectivity is tempermental
I recently purchased the garmin 810 along with the garmin speed and cadence sensor (used with the edge 1000)
so far I have been delighted with my purchase.
I have found that the unit to be easy enough to use when on the bike and is excellent as a navigation tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
slimslim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome kit, when it works

Posted28 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This is a great piece of equipment, wouldn't be without it now. I had problems with the first one I bought and sent back to Evans, they sent it to their tech department, and after just over a week, Evans replaced it straight away and delivered next day. Service is awesome, cannot fault it. Always helpful.
810 does so much, and havn't learnt everything yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ScottyG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Paid for itself in one ride

Posted06 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've had an Edge 500 for a number of years but some bullying from my boss persuaded me upgrade to the 810.
I am so glad I did, everything is a notch or two higher. The virtual partner is brilliant and will only get better as more Garmin Segments are made.
The sync with my Iphone is great and I run a website in the background to auto upload to Strava- brilliant.
I recently went over Bealach Na Ba and having maps, route profiles and masses of other info on hand was a lifesaver, it paid for itself during these 50 miles.
The Train and Race options are a little gimmicky ( I just use Train but could use Race for TTs) but if you are serious then the options are there. Battery life is great. 4 hours and 30 % use and that was constant changing pages.
Get one- it will make you "enjoy the ride"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andyc20
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Very good but not perfect

Posted18 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Until I bought the Garmin I had been using the cyclemeter app on my IPhone which was great but the battery life on the phone meant that it quit on longer rides. Therefore I bought the Garmin 810. Comparing the software of the Garmin to iPhone with the Cyclemter app, the IPhone is interface is better, the Garmin is a step behind but is also very good if a little 'clunky'. I recommend it if you want recording over longer periods and connectivity to ant+sensors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
eeun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great spec improvements BUT just doesn't work

Posted06 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: great for training
Cons: poor navigation and routing, mixed garmin support
I bought this as an upgrade to my 800 and yes it's great for training and the live tracking and bluetooth connectivity ti the Garmin Connect app on smartphone is brilliant. HOWEVER,,, it just plain does not work for navigation and routing especially off-road or mountain biking.
Running firmware 2.5 hasn't fixed the issues and you'll be frustrated unless Garmin resolves these issues which it has not yet done. Check out the Garmin 810 forum before you buy this.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 810 GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jie0000000
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Fantastic GPC

Posted28 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Previously I tracked my rides with a Forerunner 610 and 810 is a fantastic upgrade.
Data recording is perfect recording every detail you might ordinarily need.
The various sensors (Heart Rate etc.) connect trouble-free.
Screen size is superb, though don't expect the resolution of an Apple iPhone 5. Garmin would do well to learn from Apple on this. Screen size was a big factor for me as my eyes are not what they used to be, hence waving goodbye to my fantastic Forerunner 610.
The Edge 810 battery life is great too - no complaints.
Touch-screen works flawlessly even when damp and cold and with gloves.
Uploading to Garmin Connect is seamless and instant.
Bluetooth is straightforward and solid. It connected with my iPhone 5 instantly and has never dropped out on me. I was worried about Garmin's use of Bluetooth 2.5 'talking' with Apple's Bluetooth 4. Garmin has plainly aimed at saving on chip cost.
I was also worried about battery drain with Bluetooth but I have been amazed how long the battery has been lasting even on long runs.
The Courses, Workouts and Profiles' options are fantastic and customisable. You are even able to compete against your fastest previous times using Virtual Partner and Virtual Racer. For all the details go here: https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=160&pID=112912
The Edge 810 is a pricey accessory, however, if you have the cash and you need a solid GPC this is a top unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.