Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer

Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer

The Garmin Edge 810 brings you high sensitivity GPS with HotFix and comprehensive, customisable ride data with full workout, training and sensor capability to give you excellent feedback on your performance. It is a robust, water-resistant yet compact and lightweight device with a bring, high resolution, sunlight readable screen with touchscreen display designed especially for riding. What's more, the new Garmin Edge 810 brings you an enhanced, ride-specific UI with new Activity Profiles for easy transition between bike and riding types. You can also get connected via smartphone with the GarminConnect Mobile App thanks to the ANT+ and Bluetooth connectivity. Further benefits include real time tracking providing accurate performance and location data as well as graphic representation of ride data, as well as instant upload and download. An hourly weather forecast will even be sent to your Edge! The Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer comes with heart rate monitor and speed and cadence sensors.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyB65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I must say that the Garmin is expensive in my opinion, but I did get a very good deal with Evans Cycles doing a price match thank you.
Takes some time to get used to it ( still learning )
Also as most will say the pre-installed maps are basic and so I upgraded to City-navigator one.
But overall I am very pleased with the Garmin 810.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sidney82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought an 810 a few weeks back and have no regrets at all. With the Garmin Connect app you can download all your activities wirelessly. Having basemaps has enabled me to download routes and explore new areas without having to cart around maps or constantly refer to my map on my phone to check I'm on course. I can now create a route I want to ride or download one and get turn by turn directions. All the expected functions from a typical bike computer are there plus you get added functionality of heart rate and cadence. Overall, I haven't had any tech issues at all using the Garmin Edge 810 and have been really impressed with the functionality. Take the time to learn how to use it fully to get the most out of the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dubcat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Has transformed my riding

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Super easy to use and has transformed my riding, I always used to get knee pain when riding my mountain bike. Thanks to the cadence sensor I realised I was spinning too fast, at over 100rpm. As soon as I slowed down to 80-90rpm the knee pain disappeared. This in itself meant the garmin was worth it's price. However, out on my road bike the 810 has allowed to me focus on riding and explore routes I would never have otherwise ridden. I used to find myself constantly referring to maps and i found this really irritating. Now I just download a route ahead of my ride and go ride it! Have already ridden half of the of the king of the downs route and loved it. Can't wait to try more, Highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good piece of kit

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Lots of excellent features especially when combined with heart rate monitor and speed/cadence sensor. Taking time to read the online user guide will pay dividends to get to know how to set up and use the Garmin. After that it’s all pretty straight forward. OK, it’s not cheap but all-in-all I am well satisfied with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tron
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive but if you are a data freak - get it!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, works great
Cons: Expensive
By far the fastest and more reliable and efficient GPS / data logger / performance monitor / bike computer thingy ever! Painfully expensive though... Evans had the lowest price I could find online.
If you get the white silicone case, the black/white combo looks awesome!
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ADC101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product; shame about Garmin software

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
An excellent product that does all it claims. Difficulties are in the supporting software, BaseCamp and Garmin Connect, which do not work as one might expect to allow planning and uploading to the Garmin community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rivasdasn
Country:Argentina
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good product!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very good computer, has everything you need to train. I have had some problems with the bluethood but not if it is because of my phone or computer.
The live track could provide more information like average speed, but it serves its purpose well.
I recommend it, it is very useful for training.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 810 Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Matt77
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It probably isn't as good as the 800 just yet

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
So I have had it since it came out, certain websites you can't download fox files on to it. Not just my device lots. Doesn't support other formats. Had to factory reset the thing loads of times.
On a positive, I like the way I can get off my bike, look at my phone and see my performance for the ride straight away. For me this device was all about stats. Little bit on navigation.
It is ok at the moment, hope they do a firmware update soon and then it might be good, rather than ok.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.