Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer

Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer

The Garmin Edge 810 brings you high sensitivity GPS with HotFix and comprehensive, customisable ride data with full workout, training and sensor capability to give you excellent feedback on your performance. It is a robust, water-resistant yet compact and lightweight device with a bring, high resolution, sunlight readable screen with touchscreen display designed especially for riding. What's more, the new Garmin Edge 810 brings you an enhanced, ride-specific UI with new Activity Profiles for easy transition between bike and riding types. You can also get connected via smartphone with the GarminConnect Mobile App thanks to the ANT+ and Bluetooth connectivity. Further benefits include real time tracking providing accurate performance and location data as well as graphic representation of ride data, as well as instant upload and download. An hourly weather forecast will even be sent to your Edge. The Garmin Edge 810 Trail comes with microSD and GB 1:50 OS Discoverer maps.
Overall rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DutchRanger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use, turn by turn navigation is fab

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Admittedly, I've not yet tried all the features on the Garmin 810, so I cannot honestly provide a comprehensive review.
So far though, I've been very happy with my new Garmin, it is easy and intuitive to use, the maps provided with the Trail version are very detailed including on and off road, and so far the turn by turn navigation has been accurate and has not let me down.
It is wonderful to be able to pick up any gps file from the internet and just drop it onto the device, and then follow the route in the confidence that it will direct me exactly to the place I want to get to. Fantastic.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davebmtb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice product

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this as a replacement to the 800 which I had stolen. This has some really nice features, a better display and being able to update to garmin connect through Bluetooth it great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aspin65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Unfit for purpose

PostedAugust 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is without doubt in the top five of most useless things I've ever bought.
Let's go through the major defects in this product one by one.
1. Planning Routes
Comes supplied with OS 1:50000 uk maps. Sounds great doesn't it. However there is no PC software supplied with the maps on to plan routes. You have to use the amazing Garmin Connect for this. Guess what that only has google maps on it where bridle paths either aren't shown or are an indistinct brown line. Off road routes are impossible plan unless you use 3rd party software. You could use justgoride.co.uk but why should you need to?
2. Following Routes
I am lucky that I also have memory map software on my PC and am able to save routes from that as a gpx file and transfer them to the unit.
I set the route and tried to follow it, within a quarter of a mile it was totally lost and the screen went black and said I was off route. I don't know if this was because it was circular (apparently garmin can't handle this because it thinks you've finished when you've only just started!) or because I was offroad. (I had told it not to stick to roads by the way). I'm pretty sure it's the circular thing so your start and end point need to be 200 yards apart and not cross (haha)
3. Autopause.
This will drive you mental when offroad. If you set it to 3mph (the default) then unless you are super fit when you hit a steep incline especially if it's tree covered it beeps every 5 seconds telling you it has autopaused or autoresumed. Never mind you think I'll turn the beeps off. Then you have no idea how long the ride actually took so one of the main purposes of the unit is lost (it's still stopping and starting all the time you just can't hear it). Ok then change the autopause speed to 1 mph, great until you get to then next gate when it won't pause properly because you have done more than 1mph
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jen999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great piece of kit when it works

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Unfortunately the item I received from Evans was faulty and had to be returned. Having said that I've used a working version for touring and found it very useful. The directions were more of annoyance than necessarily helpful but having uploaded a route it was fairly simple to see it on the screen with the OS map. There's obviously a load of stuff it will do that I haven't even explored yet but all in all a good bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
missile
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Doesn't do what it says on the tin

PostedJuly 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Not impressed with this item whilst riding off-road. We bought it so that my wife could follow some pre-defined routes we had plotted and downloaded. Whilst testing this on several trails we knew, the 810 would:
Freeze and not continue
Lose where we were and return to the start
Tell us to go down a trail we'd just come up
Several firmware upgrades later, it was still no better.
In the end we returned the item and got a full refund - no hassle from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chickenslippers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

1:50 discoverer map was the main reason for buying

PostedMay 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I upgraded from the 705 because I wanted a better map whilst out riding on my own. Getting the 1:50 Discoverer map gives me greater detail when I'm riding road and my mtb. The unit is very easy to use and set up. I think the 1/4 turn mounting bracket is better than the 705's. The temp readout is a nice to have logged for when I look back at rides , although when I look at the temp graph I wonder why the temp goes up as I climb(getting closer to the sun ;-) The unit is as good as I expected from garmin, as I own an etrex,305 and 705.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jjlyall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

plenty of issues, but still love it

PostedApril 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Drops courses, won't sync. But will I send it back, not a chance. The issues are well documeted and I haven't yet cycled a whole route without the navigation dropping all together, but when it works its amazing. Plus you get an amazing cycle computer, giving you all the data you could ever need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gopawi

Still complex menus, check your ANT+ sensor

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Menu system is still not that intuitive, but once you know your way around its good.
Only seems to be compatible with a combined speed/cadence ANT+ sensor. Doesn't work with a "SpeedTrap" ANT+ speed sensor on Trek.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OGIL
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Full Stats, GPS and Great Britian OS Maps

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great piece of kit, expensive but this version is bundled with OS Explorer map for the whole of the Great Britain so good saving on buying map separately. Linked to my Bontrager Duotrap speed and cadence sensor, and my heart rate monitor without a hitch and has been providing all the data I could want which can be further analysed on the Garmin Connect web site.
And if the storms and gales stop I'll be able to use it more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DoctorD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Earlier software issues appear to be corrected

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, clear maps
I bought the Edge 810 as an upgrade to my Edge 500 and I am thoroughly impressed. With the 500, there was often a lag when following the "breadcrumb" trail, but not so on the 810. The maps ensure that you never miss a turn (and easily see where you've been). Also, if you have loaded a .gcx or .tcx course, the unit flashes up approaching turnings/junctions regardless of which screen you're in.
Yes, it is a bit pricey, but the quality feel and slickness of the operating system more than make up for it. The fact that the touchscreen works even through thick gloves is an added bonus during these cold winter months!
I was wary of this purchase as previous reviewers bemoaned many glitches in the software, however, the latest version (2.80) appears to have corrected the major glitches.
One tip: on the "navigation" options, switch off the "automatic routing" function. If you're following a course with "automatic routing" on and go slightly off course, it sometimes tries to take you all the way back to the start. But, this is a very minor problem.
Thoroughly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 810 Trail GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AR123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very clever piece of equipment

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, good size, good battery life, easy to read screen, easy to use once fully set up
Cons: Expensive, very technical
A great piece of technology. It requires a technology savvy person to set up, but if you are familiar with Garmin products it will be straight forward. It is an extremely useful bit of kit and if you have purchase the extra items (such as cadence and heart monitor) the unit provides even more detail about each ride.
Very impressive, even considering the price I still think its worth it and love the OS maps add-on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.