Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer

Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer

The Garmin Edge 810 brings you high sensitivity GPS with HotFix and comprehensive, customisable ride data with full workout, training and sensor capability to give you excellent feedback on your performance. It is a robust, water-resistant yet compact and lightweight device with a bright, high resolution, sunlight readable screen with touchscreen display designed especially for riding. What's more, the new Garmin Edge 810 brings you an enhanced, ride-specific UI with new Activity Profiles for easy transition between bike and riding types. You can also get connected via smartphone with the GarminConnect Mobile App thanks to the ANT+ and Bluetooth connectivity. Further benefits include real time tracking providing accurate performance and location data as well as graphic representation of ride data, as well as instant upload and download. An hourly weather forecast will even be sent to your Edge! The Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer comes with heart rate monitor, speed and cadence sensors and microSD and includes City Navigator NT and Europe maps.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike77777
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Easy to use and packed with features

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After being recommended this by a few friends I decided to buy it. At first I thought it was a lot of money when I could use an iPhone app. From the first ride I could see the benefits, firstly I didn't have to worry about my battery, this seems to last forever, even with the Herat rate monitor and cadence plugged in.
The screen is easy to use and has loads of features accessible through the garmin mobile app.
Very pleased with this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Limperdonk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Navigation could be better

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought the 810 mainly for the navigation features which to start with aren't all that great. Eg if you plan a route on Garmin Connect then try to ride it you must stay on the route (even when it sends you the wrong way down a one way street) because if you don't it will recalculate the whole route. Reading forums there are ways round this but its frustrating to begin with. Once you get your head round it the unit is great to use and you can ride long routes for the first time and worry only about your legs. The training features are top notch, no complaints there but your 350 you'd expect that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JimWin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Reliable GPS with an excellent touch screen

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Previous GPS devices I've used include the eTrex Legend C and HCx. The Edge 810 easily beats these with a great screen and some finger gestures. It's not yet been cold enough to use it with gloves but I suspect winter will see fun trying to remove gloves to fiddle with the device.
The only downside is the battery life - but at 18 hours, so long as you take the charger, lengthy tours are certainly do-able.
One clear advantage over the C series is that GPX files can be longer than 500 points. I'm not sure of the max size - the manual does not say.
Finally, the device uses the same maps as my car satnav - no reason not to I suppose. I bought the device with the 4GB SD card that included maps - it proved cheaper than buying a card and loading up the maps from the DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dannyboyoboe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really delighted, except with the instructions

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, flexible
Cons: Expensive, instructions could be better
I got this as a birthday present prior to a very long ride from London to Paris. The product arrived in time and feels high quality as soon as you unpack it. The basic set-up instructions are adequate but slightly tricky to follow. I downloaded some more comprehensive ones but found them poorly laid-out, did not explain the things I wanted and so there was a lot of "trial and error" going on! Having set the thing up however, I am really very pleased with it. The navigation to Paris was superb, the amount of information collated by the computing aspect of the product is extremely comprehensive (and customisable) and the ability to link with Garmin Connect and also my iPhone via Bluetooth is great. I just wish that integration with Strava was easier (it is possible!). So far, very pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeJH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent and versatile piece of kit

PostedJune 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, very versatile
The Garmin 810 is excellent especially as I bought the version with the maps and cadence etc. It is very easy to learn and very easy to use and has very extensive features many of which I haven't even tried yet. I would certainly recommend it for cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

a great computer, but dubious navigation

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I've had it 3 weeks and been out on about 10 rides with it, all in New areas that I didn't know, so the gps was essential. I planned routes on the connect.garmin.com website. They sync with my phone and it transferred them to the gps over bluetooth. All very easy, all good :-)
However.... when riding, the directions weren't perfect, often telling me to take the third exit on a roundabout when it meant meant the second one. It had counted the on and off junctions as 2 turnings!
Other than this, the computer is very good, I could cycle at my comfortable cadence and Watch my heart beat and between these two I know how how hard how hard it really riding.
I've stopped looking at the speed and now only use it at the end of a ride to see how I've done overall.
Good product, a few niggles with navigation, but worth the high price to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartinP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great technical product

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The Garmin Edge 810 is very versatile, setting up new routes to follow using the navigation functions was just what I wanted. Linking the Garmin Edge 810 with my phone has enabled friends and family to track my progress during events and long rides. When training in the long evenings the back lit screen means I can easily see the information I need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tallyman
Country:Norway
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The ultimate toy, just dont buy the maps

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, supports open-streetmaps and they're mostly free
Cons: Expensive, european streetmaps are expensive and not too good
I knew a bit about Garmin sports-computers before buying this, and could easily have gone for the quite a bit cheaper 800 model and still be very satisfied as they're all they're cranked up to be. But as I'm planning some abroad cycling-tours in the future I went for this one as it has turn-by-turn navigation. Now... The maps... Don't waste money on a bundle with street-maps like I did. I needed navigation on Tenerife and would have been lost with the european street-maps I spent quite a bit of extra money on. The device supports open-streepmaps as well and they're free and much better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MEL14a
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

disappointing

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, serious software glitches
I had an Edge 800. Day to day, it was great and v reliable. A couple of handsets failed, whether due to crazy HR or speed data, or failing to link up to the computer, but by and large very good kit. Traded up to avoid the syncing issue I'd experienced (810 syncs wirelessly). Concluded the 810 is not worth the extra cash. Has real difficulty re-calculating routes / finding original route at later point if you depart from planned route and is prone to mystery crashes. The Garmin Connect forum is full of people reporting serious software glitches. Will be great once they get ironed out but until then I'd stick with the 800.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigrdw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great bit of kit

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Being a techy myself I love gadgets and this is a great gadget for every cyclist. You can customise it allot to what information you want to view or be alerted to whilst riding. I love the fact you can plan routes on Garmin connect showing you the distance and elevation and then send it to the device which will send you around the route. This device also works very well with Strava which has more users than Garmin Connect. The Live track function when used with a Bluetooth smart phone is also very useful and good fun to show your friends what routes you are taking live as you are on your ride. Only complaint is it is allot of money but you do get allot of functions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
4ndyC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great training tool

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
When I 1st tried this out I was close to returning it to the store. Compared to a modern smart phone the touch screen is unresponsive and the resolution is a bit rubbish. However, once you get used to using it and get the set-up how you want it, it is great. I've never used a heart rate monitor before so initially I was wearing it for a bit of fun, just to see what results it would throw out, but since then I've read up on how to use it properly as part of a training schedule and the heart rate monitor paired to the Garmin is becomes a really powerful tool with its upfront display of the heart rate zones/bpm.
I've just completed a coast to coast tour and the mapping was useful at times. It works well when you're on track or close to being on track. When you have to pan about the maps it becomes slow and unresponsive, which is just an added frustration at a point when you're already angry because you've got yourself lost or badly off track. Smartphones work much quicker in these scenarios, but are often not as handy to get to. The Garmin will offer to recalculate a route for you to get you back on to a preplanned route, but it does depend on how well you set your route up in the 1st place. If like me you did it badly, it can take an awful long time to come up with the answers. I think with time I'll get used to the mapping, but my instant impression was that that it was adequate and nothing better.
The battery life is excellent (compared to smartphones). After a 9 hour ride the Garmin was still going strong when my friends iPhone had long since died.
I would consider whether you really need the mapping services and think about getting a 510. I think, with hindsight, I would get a 510, but I do really like the unit and am glad I have one.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Roadie64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Can't imagine riding without it!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Historically I've never been too obsessed about gadgets but having bought this a few months ago I cannot imagine going out for a ride without it. Whether its just a local trip or cycling across France it has been a great navigational aid and recorder of activity.
Easy to use and easy to see, even in bright sunlight I have only a few minor criticisms. It does not display distance from destination and for some reason the display has recently changed from showing speed to showing calories - I haven't been able to change this back which is frustrating.
Despite this I would definitely recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kiter25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

great training tool

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, features
Cons: Expensive
this is a great tool for training and navagating new routes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bradkop1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best bit of cycling kit ever!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Where do I start.
The Edge 810 is simply outstanding. It's so intuitive, and the set up options to suit the user's preferences are amazing.
I have the Euro mapping which is really good for B roads, as well as the A's. It will even route along cycle tracks. Defining your own route via Garmin connect website is also really easy.
For me personally, the best part of the 810 vs the 800, is the bluetooth connectivity. All you need to do is download the Garmin app on your phone (I have an iphone), and all of the data transfers direct between the phone and the unit. This means sending routes to your unit (via the phone app) only takes around 10 seconds, and your'e away! When you've finshed a ride, you can see as soon as you've stopped, all of your stats at the touch of a button on your app. There is also a livetrack option, which allows your friends, family or fellow riders to see where you are during your ride. If you're a Dad like me with two young kids, this feature helps them to get involved whilst being at home, wondering where you are.
Finally it's a great motivator. You learn so much about your performance and health. Not to mention exploring new routes you never knew existed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zorosugly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to set up and set off!,

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Searched, googled , hunted for a good GPS system and the 810 did not let down. Really easy to set up and once you've had a play around whilst the soaps are on TV you'll soon get the hang of it. Battery life excellent even for the longest days in the saddle, and the data capture is great for those (of us) slightly obsessed with power/cadence/heart rate info. Price a little on the steep side but why pay £100 less for something you'll be disappointed with?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bankers65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Covers all the cycling features you will need.

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent features, neat and compact, great interaction with web based Garmin Connect.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Once adjusted, terrific addition to training

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, great spec
Cons: fiddly, not intuitive
This is a premium product and is of a very high quality but is not easy to set up. The magnet for the rear wheel is difficult to fit on a rear wheel spoke and get the clearance on the Garmin module on the chain stay. I ended up using the magnet from my Polar monitor the Garmin 810 was meant to replace. Got there in the end and it's now terrific and really does encourage you to train and ride more. The Garmin Connect web platform is brilliant - designing and uploading courses in particular. It's really prompted me to find new routes I would never have tried for fear of getting lost. A lot of money, but just about worth it I think. As others have mentioned elsewhere, for the money, you might have expected a better display - so don't expect the quality you might already have from your iPhone App.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roger99

Well worth upgrading to from an earlier model

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Upgrade from Edge 305
faster locating position, near instantaneous. Better battery life,
Al round a far better product not that the 305 was a bad product.
The ability to upload the rides etc onto Garmin connect for later viewing etc directly via a smartphone is a great idea.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all rounder

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to use, simple & clear with excellent features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 810 Road Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Razmatron
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Endless functionality

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Once you have given the instructions a good read and got used to the user interfaces this computer is very easy to use. The cadence sensor is easy to fit, and the heart rate monitor is the most comfortable I have worn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.