Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer

Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer

The Garmin Edge 810 brings you high sensitivity GPS with HotFix and comprehensive, customisable ride data with full workout, training and sensor capability to give you excellent feedback on your performance. It is a robust, water-resistant yet compact and lightweight device with a bring, high resolution, sunlight readable screen with touchscreen display designed especially for riding. What's more, the new Garmin Edge 810 brings you an enhanced, ride-specific UI with new Activity Profiles for easy transition between bike and riding types. You can also get connected via smartphone with the GarminConnect Mobile App thanks to the ANT+ and Bluetooth connectivity. Further benefits include real time tracking providing accurate performance and location data as well as graphic representation of ride data, as well as instant upload and download. An hourly weather forecast will even be sent to your Edge! The Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer comes with heart rate monitor, speed and cadence sensors and microSD and is equipped with City Navigator NT, Europe and GB 1:50 OS Discoverer maps.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
somersetscott
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This does exactly what I wanted!, Great

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to use
Really functional and easy to use device. Lots of flexibility in the screen layouts.
I would definitely recommend this.
It was easy to set up.
I particularly like the training companion tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moocowmoomoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant smooth running chain all the time

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Used in all conditions - apply and make sure is dry and regulalry top up. Fantastic quite running chain
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CumbrianDynamo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant for exploring

PostedMay 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought the Edge 810 because I've just moved to a new area and I wanted to explore without having to keep stopping and check maps to make sure I was going the right way. I haven't been disappointed - routes are easy to plan and modify on Garmin Connect, and the navigation works well - I've easily followed a 40 mile route without stopping and without going wrong, and the beeps, if activated, provide ample warning before a turn.
The only minor criticism is that it can get confused right outside my house if I'm following a course and using the same road on the way out and the way back, but I've got around that by selecting a slightly different start/end point.
I haven't yet connected the cadence sensor to my bike, but I have used the heart rate sensor which it picks up quickly and seems to be pretty accurate.
Mapping using City Navigator is clear and gives enough detail, and I'm hoping to use the OS mapping once I go off road - it's not necessary for road riding.
I initially had a couple of issues with getting accurate elevation data, but once I set my home and work as fixed locations and added elevation detail to both that seems to have solved the problem.
Battery life is good, with a two hour ride using up about 20% of the total when I've got the Bluetooth on for the Live Track feature, and about 12-15% with this feature turned off.
The Live Track feature was quite important to me so I can let the other half know roughly where I am when I'm off riding on my own, but if you don't want it, I think the Edge 800 might offer better value with the same mapping functions, as there's quite a price difference between the two.
I think once I get used to the full array of features I'll find it increasingly useful, as I'm a bit of a data geek and there are so many different set up and display options, but initial impressions are overwhelmingly positive.
I was very impressed with the speed of delivery too - ordered on the Thursday before Easter, and it had arrived on the Tuesday - not at all bad for free delivery over a public holiday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimbo01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Excellent

PostedApril 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
From opening the box to setting up the Garmin its been so easy. Loads of features and the Bluetooth hasn't dropped out in terms of signals. Loads more to explore in terms of features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Joe909
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product - lots of features

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, out of date maps
This is a fully-feature cycle system - think of it more as a telemetry system than a cycle computer. The range of sensor data which is available to view after a ride will help a serious cyclist with their training - but will overwhelm many. The navigation features require a bit of learning, but it's mostly intuitive with online resources to help.
Beware, though, that the included OS map is from 2011 - so if you need accurate maps, think about an alternative product.
So, if you want to analyse your performance in detail, then this is for you. If you want to know where to go, and where you've been, then consider he Edge Touring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
willy43
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
It was bought:Online

garmin edge 810 ultimate performance GPS computer

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought this item for my daughter who is a keen biker she has given me good feed back and loves the product, she will be testing it out fully in the coming weeks with a ride to Paris.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
stratcat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Some things great, some things not so great!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: software issues
I've ummed and ahhed for ages about getting a Garmin and decided to get the 810, for the mapping and the tracking (it keeps the wife happy while I'm out alone).
While there is no real useful manual there is enough info on forums and websites to make setting up easy. I've set mine for multiple bikes and multiple activities including a setting for the turbo trainer! The recording of info from the device is brilliant and there is everything that even the most geeky number cruncher would want. The HR monitor and the cadence/speed sensor are picked up immediately as is the bluetooth link with my phone. The ability to upload routes from the web or creating your own via many of the gps web sites out there is one of the main reasons for me to buy this model. The downside is that this aspect of the software is a bit glichy. Sometimes it doesn't tell you about a turn until you've made it and on a couple of occasions the whole thing has shut down on it's own! This is the only real downside and hopefully will be addressed in a software update. It's a small issue (to me) and can be worked around anyway so doesn't massively detract from the unit.
Delivery from Evans was super fast and the price was the best I could find on the net at the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product and superb service!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Ordered 2pm Sunday and it arrived 9:30am Monday...this puts Evans at the very top of my list for service and delivery.
Having recently returned to cycling after 20+ years, I started using my iPhone 4s coupled to the Wahoo Blue HRM and SC devices. 3 weeks in and I was getting fed up with data drop outs, problematical sensor connections and fast iPhone battery drain. So I bit the bullet and ordered the full monty. OK its not cheap, but considering what the package includes and how well it works, I think Evan's price is the best out there!
I'm also a keen touring motorcyclist (on and off road) and the benefit of being able to move both the NT Europe and GB Discover microSD cards between this and my other Garmin adds great value.
As a stanadlone unit, I cant fault the product. Its light, it does everything I'll ever need and more to the point, it works flawlessy with the included HRM and SC sensors. The price was keen and the product delivers....enough said!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smartydk
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, rubber ports?
Only managed to use a few times to date but so far so good. Very clever device and auto upload to Garmin Connect at the end of a ride very impressive. Basically records all the training data that you could want effortlessly. Having used car sat-nav extensively was sceptical about how effective this unit might be from a navigation point of view but am impressed thus far - definitely need the City Navigator maps which are rather confusingly titled in that they incorporate all rural mapping also. Works well with gloves which getting more & more important this time of year. Only negative I see thus far is that the rubber caps on the SD card & charging port seem flimsy, but only time will tell on this. All in all expensive but happy so far
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 810 Ultimate Performance GPS Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Matt73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Mis-sold

PostedJune 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I bought this product a few weeks ago, it is exactly the same as the model below, other than the inclusion of 1:50K OS mapping (something I was keen to have).
There is only 1 Micro-SD card slot within the unit, so you can only use either the Navigator mapping, or OS mapping, not both as you might, as I did, have assumed that they were complimentary. So I have one set of mapping that is totally defunct.
It also seems impossible to activate turn by turn navigation directions, which is a pain on routes you download; as it is very difficult to make out on the base mapping. The resolution is very poor if you are used to using smart-phones.
I like the data and real-time connection - useful so other people, including the mrs can keep tabs on you. not much of benefit over the 800..
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.