Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts

Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robtefc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very Comfortable Bib Shorts

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Superb fitment, very comfortable and feel great when wearing them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
jasiog

uncomofortable pad

PostedAugust 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor quality padding. I did 30 miles ride and also used assos chamois creme, my bum got proper sored, I found out is a bottom line of LG padding(obviously a bit to late :-) ). Unbreathable braces. Bibs look good thats only one positive thing about it. For that price you can get nice Sportful Bibs with very good pad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
cyclingbaba
Country:Belgium
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit, great looks.

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These Louis Garneau Bib shorts really surprised me.
Perfect fit, excellent chamois, looking great and they feel really very comfortable, the fabric is so stretchy that it fits the legs perfectly .
And that without using silicone strips, which some other brands have in the leggings, and which I do not like at all.
Overall a great item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
KrisH10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Perfect for the amount of cycling I do

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great comfort in the shorts, recently used for 100 mile ride and perfect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
CJ1974
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Good shorts

PostedJune 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Bought a large and a bit tight around the thighs. Padding doesn't feel very plush but ok for 3 hour rides so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
GFUNK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Impressed for sure!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Reluctant to wear Lycra following my love of mtb riding this was a frightening experience. I love it but only out on the bike! Quality, entry level bib shorts and very comfortable out on the cyclocross bike. No regrets wearing Lycra now. 6ft 2 medium build and it's a great fit, teamed up with a LG jersey. Quality kit at a great price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donal
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

PostedJune 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I ride out 4 times a week and was using a different style short. I bought the bib short on recomendation from a friend and found this brand to be very comfortable. The padding is very good and would recommend the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Ashcycle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Super comfy

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have always struggled to get bib shorts that I enjoy wearing. These have a great pad and well lengthed 'bib' bits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
R11T
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Excellent product

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bib shorts fit perfectly and very comfortable on the skin when cycling. The bib certainly helps for long rides as it keeps your shorts in its place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Anonymous
Country:Czech Republic
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
LG Signature Optimum Bib Shorts are a good basic shorts with superb chamois. Unlike other reviewers, I do not find any problem wearing knee-warmers with them. On the minus side, they are weak with water and dirt repelling features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JHoskyns

Great for first time bib

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great bib, very comfy and great value for money. Definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mafiozo

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product! I recommend it. Won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
bob65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal now the sun is shining.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Very good now the weather has improved and the bib makes continual adjustment unnecessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SarkyMarki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good no frills product

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These are my first bib shorts so I have nothing to compare against.
I am 6'2" 90kg and the Xlarge fit me well.
I have worn these for a couple of 4 hour rides so far and they have worked perfectly, very comfy when on the bike, the pad is large enough to work in the saddle but small enough not to cause discomfort when off of the bike.
The ventilation compared with 'baggy' shorts is amazing, despite sweating a lot the shorts never felt wet.
Despite the lack of rubber grippers the short legs do not ride up or move when riding.
There is enough stretch to allow for 'answering the call of nature' without removing the straps.
The bibs definitely help to keep the pad in place as you ride and means there is no pressure on the stomach when on the drops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RichyFingers
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Birmingham

Comfortable shorts - odd bib!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: narrow braces
Have used these bib shorts three times now, each time between 20-50 miles. Very comfortable padding. Quality material. Comfortable leg cuffs. However, the bib 'braces' take a bit of getting used to. They are quite narrow. They don't dig in and they do their job well but the feel a bit odd across the chest to begin with. Hasn't affected my view of the product though - a good buy at a good price.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rambler77

Great bib, very comfy and great value for money

PostedJune 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great bib, very comfy and great value for money...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mustTRImore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good fit overall - padding a little uncomfortable

PostedMay 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: uncomfortable on longer rides (>3hrs)
These shorts were good value and generally fit very well, however; the padding is a little excessive at the edges and causes a little bit of irritation after 3-4hrs in the saddle - great for shorter rides though and considerably better value than some of the shorts on offer! Recommended :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flyer999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

comfortable if slightly stiff at first

PostedMay 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
made my riding experience more bearable, still slight twinge but nothing like as bad as it used to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
capthugh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Extremely comfortable

PostedMay 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Used these bib shorts for about 8 hrs of cycling so far, and they are proving to be very comfortable. I have extra large size, and at 38" waste, that is fine. Would happily recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Louis Garneau Signature Optimum Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sensible
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good shorts for the price

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I had decided to go into Evans to try on bib shorts after getting some on mail order and finding they didn't fit.
I tried on several pairs, some much more expensive, but found these were a good fit and comfortable on my shoulders. I have used them a couple of times for 30 mile rides and they are very comfortable. The pad is good and they were the right size around the legs. Others I had tried on were too loose around the bottom of the leg. I am 13st 5 Ib with a 35" waist, 5' 11" tall and large was ideal.
The only downside is that they have to be washed in cool/cold water on a delicate wash.
Also bought these when the 3 for 2 offer was on, so got the cheapest item free (a £28 pair of glove)
Very good would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.