Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Scott Trail Boa Shoe

Scott Trail Boa Shoe

Overall rating:
4.619 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Review 1 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DorisKnockwurst
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

fragile

Posted23 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Cons: Poor quality
Happy on receipt - innovative fastening; fits well.
But <50 miles offroad the tread covering the right spd ripped off, and to a greater extent than the design intent. Left sole is still intact!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
springer64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Fantastic multi-purpose shoe at a great price

Posted19 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Putting aside the usual things that big feet also bring, finding shoes to fit is a complete pain in the, er, foot. Particularly so in a niche product like cycling shoes! Bought the bike, bought the pedals and now wanted something that would do for longish road trips, a bit of country track riding and a comfortable walk to the cafe/pub at the end of it. Step forward the Scott Boa Trail! Only two big sizes left, ordered both as I hover between the two and came away a very happy camper. Great fit, terrific lacing system and Evans even cut the sole for me to reveal the cleat fittings. Huge saving on the RRP - thoroughly recommend these shoes to any fellow Bigfoots looking for an all-purpose SPD shoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craighat85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Out and out brilliant for the price

Posted07 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good firm sole, boa lacing system works perfect. Look cool and at the sale price are a must have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Muddyjuddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice shoe, but a bit narrow

Posted29 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
These are good quality shoes, that look the part and should perform well. I didn't get to try them though, as they were a little too narrow for my feet and had to return them. The boa system is nice - it allows you to turn the dial to do up the shoe to the perfect tightness. I did wonder how tough the boa dial and plastic cable is and how long it would last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whiskysoup
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what you expect

Posted09 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Simple pair of bike shoes that take a recessed SPD cleat. They fit, are comfortable to wear on and off the bike and the fixing mechanism is a new one to me - not sure how long the little plastic wires are going to last. So far so good. My only gripe and the reason why they get 4 stars is that the recess size means that a new cleat stands ever so slightly proud and I sound like Fred Astaire when I walk on any shiny hard surfaces like marble or floor tiles or concrete. Not a problem with my old worn cleats nor with my old shimano shoes. But not really a big problem here either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thewootts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

really confortable, disc lace system works a treat

Posted14 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
What a great trail shoe! So far seem pretty weather resistant. The disc lace system reminds me of the old puma disc trainers so far they have worked flawlessly they are really easy to adjust and get on and off especially when caked in mud. My only concern is that i might hit one of the discs and break it. Overall a quality shoe at a fantastic price. Would highly recommend.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fungster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Good summer commute shoe!

Posted09 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Use as commuting shoes. Very comfy, light and easy to use. Boa system is convenient and feels solid and durable. Ventilation is good which is great for the summer temps.but I think these may be a bit too lightweight for winter commuting. I'm a size 7 with narrowish feet and these are a good fit with socks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cembom4u
Country:Turkey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Comfortable Shoes

Posted05 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this shoes ten days ago and used three days, 150 km, with flat pedals. Now I'm glad for purchase this shoes. It fits me perfect. BOA system is also excellent. But I did not try it with clipless pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peterkezzi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Like the boa fastening

Posted03 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The shoes came quickly are a good fit and are good quality for the reasonable price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hannu
Country:Finland
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really nice shoes

Posted01 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I really like the BOA lacing, the fit, the looks and how the shoes perform in communting and in the occasional week-end tours (I am not into "serious" biking). Too bad that this shoe is discontinued but may be there is a replacement.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MiBo
Country:Italy
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I love these shoes

Posted29 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really comfortable, the "boa" closure adapts perfectly to the foot shape.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lee76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

fantastic

Posted17 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
perfect fit ,comfortable ,well happy as they don't come up small
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alpineninja
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reasonably light weight technical trail shoe

Posted06 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
High quality Swiss product with sophisticated latest generation BOA - superbly comfortable due to easy micro-adjustability.
The sole is quite flexible with enough stiffness in the forefoot area to increase pedal efficiency & distribute pressure points evenly.
Where this shoe really shines though is on technical trails, where the flexibility aids manoeuvrability.
So whilst these are no race shose they're a great compromise those who pedal up as well as tackle the rough on the way down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trekmad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great value for money

Posted03 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not water resistant, tricky to exopose spd holes in sole
Excellent shoes for the money. a bit tricky to get the spd holes exposed by use of stanley knife and plyers but once past that challenge they are great fit with the boa and really comfy. fit is as per normal shoe size. dont go bigger. also wear shoe covers in the wet as not at all waterproof but flip side is great ventilation should we ever see warm weather again!?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
logic1903
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A top notch purchase

Posted29 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These are my first pair of cycling shoes and I am truly impressed by them. I've used them both for spinning and for some off road cycling and they work a treat in both situations.
The shoes are a good weight, not so light they are flimsy and not so heavy that they are uncomfortable. The fasteners use the 'boa lacing system' which means that slide your feet in, turn the dial a few turns until you get the tightness that your after and your sorted. Undoing them is just a case of lifting the dial away from the shoe. Couldn't be simpler especially if you've got cycling gloves or such on.
The shoes appear to be nice and durable and based on my experiences over the past couple of weeks of ownership I wouldn't hesitate to buy another pair when these wear out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tonto1916
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit

Posted27 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Tried several shoes and these are the best I have had. Fit well and comfortable.
Use for road work when don't want to use cleats
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JonnoT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and warm

Posted26 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: cleats stick out
Bought these as a shoe which I could use for touring and every day cycling. They are extremely comfortable and feel great while riding.
They are not the best for walking as the cleats do touch the ground each step so do be careful on tiled and wooden floors!!
The Boa system is fantastic! It is easily used even with thick winter neoprene gloves on. It is also handy if like me you always need to tighten your shoes after riding a few miles as you can do this without stopping.
If the cleats were slightly more embedded in the sole they would be absolutely perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very comfortable shoe

Posted10 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am a very lazy person,the boa dialed system is very convenience and found that it has a life guarantee, the shoe itself is very lightweight and comfortable, great value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mollieitem
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

love it

Posted21 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, perfect mechanics
versatile and rigid. the tie system is PERFECT, unlock and you can easily slide out of the shoes.
Size is generous so recommend to get half down if your shoe size are halves i.e. 45.5 choose 45
The efficiency sole is sturdy yet comfortable enough to walk in and hard enough to kick someone on the face!
only down is the installing process of cleats. You will need a plyer and maybe a box cutter to cut on the template and somehow use force to 'peel' out the centre bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scott Trail Boa Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MicV
Country:Australia

Shoes work as expected

Posted19 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I've been happy with these shoes on my MTB bike so far. They seem comfortable from the first ride. The Boa system doesn't look flimsy either which is important in terms of them not getting broken.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>