Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera

Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera

This essential piece of kit for any cyclist on the road is compact, light and quick and easy to use, weighing in at only 32 grams and measuring only about the size of your finger. It is equipped with continuous loop recording so the oldest video is deleted once the MicroSD card is full; it can hold up to 8 hours' footage (shot at 30 frames per second) on a 32GB memory card. Benefitting from a 135 degree lens, the high quality optics provide optimum wide angled field of vision with minimal lens distortion and maximum depth of view. Furthermore, the WDR (Wide Dynamic Range) Sensor technology offers the highest quality video in all lighting conditions, meaning excellent low light performance. Made for your protection on the roads, the RoadHawk camera has been tested in impacts of more than 60 miles per hour and is fully waterproof to 10 metres.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Review 1 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
cyclist55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very problematic

PostedMarch 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Ended up returning item. Tried to use it on 4 separate occasions and camera had mind of it's own when to record. It would record for 10 minutes after being started and then stop even though the lights were still showing as recording, then after an hour it would just start recording again. It consistently done this each time I tried to use it.
Took back and got a GoPro Hero 3+
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lovelife
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Evidence for court of law.

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: night vision poor
I live in Luton and travel in congested traffic i fell off once (my fault side wall hit tiny kerb side on ) went down like a sack of potatoes , sore knee 5 weeks on , more seriously a gentleman who came in from a part of Europe drove into me side on on a dual carriage way approaching a roundabout i was legally positioned (centre of my lane ) to move over when out of nowhere he crossed at speed and hit me dragged me along with me hitting his window as hard as possible 6/7 times we split he stopped at round about i drove up asked him politely to move over , he had mobile phone in one hand and cigarette in the other looked at me and drove off at speed .
Reason for story : No CCTV available (i checked ) the camera would of been priceless i would of charged so i bought one xx
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dmcg

I wish I could recommend

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
but I've been through 2 and both have had issues where they stopped recording randomly well within battery life, and the USB connection was really flakey, making it difficult to charge and to access pictures.
Other negatives - having to convert the videos with Handbrake in order to do anything useful with them, and lack of feedback so that you can't tell if you've switched it on when it's on your head.
Positives are the size, the mounts and the loop recording.
If it wasn't for the random switch-offs I'd live with the flaws, but as I bought it to fit and forget it's a bit of a failure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bobby61
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Product is small and lightweight.The test video looks good.The only problem I came across was setting the time.Found a video on line which made it easier.Could not find the page the user manual sent me to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philadams56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to fit, easy to use

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
delivered on time, there are so many attachments that comes in the box, that fitting it to my helmet was a doddle, The camera itself is easy to use and the videos are very easy to download.
1 tip, rename the vids BEFORE copying them to your computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LNICK
Country:Brazil
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

In fact the only viable solution as Black Box

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, really waterproof
I tried several solution but Roadhawk is the only that works well in a motorcycle over a extreme condition of weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJ90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great piece of Bike Tech

PostedJune 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, great bike tech
Fits easily to Bike Helmet with supplied connections, velco etc. You can fix to bike handlebars it you want too. Pictures clear, especially Numbers Plates for those car drivers misbehaving!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Habbers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality for such a small camera

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent quality with loads of mounting options included.
One thing to note, remember to change the rear cap for the one with holes in it if you want audio as well. The instructions don't make this clear.
Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TonyA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light weight with good quality video.

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This video camera records very good quality video at 30 fps. Great for playing back high speed descents or other incidents from the ride. For best results the light levels need to be good as low light recording results are disappointing. It is quite easy to see vehicle registration plates providing the vehicle is fairly close to you.
I have mounted on the side of my crash helmet and the camera is so light and compact you don't notice it at all.
Oddly the excellent selection of mounting accessories are not very useful for ventilated helmets. I ended up using the camera cradle and a cable tie running through two vent slots.
Recording time is about 1 hr on a fully charged battery.
The excellent file saving in 5 min segments makes finding and viewing on the PC very easy.
A great product which is highly recommended (despite the fairly high price).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poppeye
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Maybe just a dud!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
It did what it said it would do on the box. Good image, lightweight, easy to use. It did however stop working after one week. It has now been replaced and the new one works fine but time will tell if the first one was just a dud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PiaK
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great for horseback riding

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
One of the best purchases I have ever made. I use it when I go out horse back riding in desert.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good purpose made protection video camera

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Lightweight simple to operate decent quality video for recording rides and providing useful recordings of events. Loop recording useful so you don't have to download if you don't need to. If not hugely IT literate then slightly daunting to set up with TIME.ext file initially and need to reformat media card every so often. Instructions not intuitive but decent website from maker to assist. Sound quality limited and will not work in rain with waterproof cap on. Camera no use in the dark. Excellent array of fixings provided. It is good for recording daily commute rides but not really a sports recording camera if you want to show off. Recommend for protection, cost and size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ohenners
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Easily mounts on cycle helmet

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fiddly sd card slot
Great quality pictures, with a wide angle lens capturing peripheral imagery. Shows car number plates well. The kit comes with a number of different mounting options, I used the Velcro fastening on a cycle helmet, as this gave the best scope for pointing the camera in the right direction. The unit is extremely light. The micro-SD card saves space, but can be a bit fiddly to get in and out (ours flew across the kitchen never to be seen again!)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roadhawk Ride Digital Rider Protection Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rach7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

fantastic product, excellent package

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The roadhawk Ride arrived this morning promptly after ordering from Evans Cycles (thank you).
The camera itself is compact, light and looks very robust, it comes with a range of good quality mounts which will make attaching the camera easy to either bike or helmet.
After a charge and set up (which was very easy) I have used the camera and plugged it into my computer to check out the quality of the footage, considering today is dull and wet the video footage is of excellent quality, the wide angled lens is absolutely brilliant too, nothing will be missed when using this for road cycling.
The package also comes with an 8gb memory card so there is no need to by any extras before you can start using the camera.
All in all this is a fantastic product and great value for money my husband is going to love this when he opens it on christmas day! Best put it all back in the box and wrap it!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.