Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Brompton S2L Folding Bike

Brompton S2L Folding Bike

For many, the Brompton S2L 2013 Folding Bike is the prettiest Brompton, and it is the lightest. The grips are lower and further forward than on the M Type, giving a sporty riding position which complements the positive feel of these bikes. Brompton's derailleur system turns a single-speed into a nimble 2-speed bike without the weight of a gear hub; the result is a light bike that can handle most journeys. The key S Type is the S2L (also available as S2L-X).
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Review 1 for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Brilliant Bike

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
In about 22 days of owning the bike I have done 63 miles. The bike has brought back the fun in commuting to work. I thanks Evans for recommending me this product. I stepped into Evans Chiswick hoping to book a Dahon because Brommies are so expensive, but I was asked to test drive and make the decision myself. One test drive and I was convinced why so many go for the brompton compared to the other folders even though it's expensive.
The next question was S2L or S3L. I was convinced I need a straight handle on the test drive but took a while to decide between the two. I went in for the S2L because it was much lighter and on the S3L I never used the last gear.
So far I am not disappointed with my purchase and I hope will not be for a long time :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CG81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Brompton's - amazing

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great piece of kit. i use it every day to get from home to the station and London bridge to work. It folds quickly and easiliy, is pretty light weight and faster than most other bikes out there! What more could you ask for?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eamonn1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Worth every penny

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Took the bike out for a test ride being skeptical that it would move my ample frame at sufficient speed, noting the small dimensions of the bike and only having two gears. I was shocked at the sustaiable speed you can get from this bike.
After two weeks do not know how I survived without it. The folding took a few times to get the swing right. (Brompton have a video on youtube) after watching this with their expanation on why you do things in a set order all fell into place. Can do in under 15 seconds now.
I bought for commuting but have found use bike more than car now.
Sporty straight handlebars make this look good and folds up for storage indoors.
I join the Brompton convoy with pride from the station each night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TonyVac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Light, comfortable and looks good.

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very light folding bike. Folds down easily and compact enough to take on trains for commuting. Comfortable ride and the two speed is sufficient for riding in London. Gear shift is smooth and quick. Looks good with straight handlebars and the colour makes it stand out. Bromptons are expensive but the fold and weight make it the market leader. Also, it's handmade in Britain and very sturdy so will keep it's value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joffanan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Just what I expected...

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
As a rail commuter into London I've long coveted a folding bike, especially when I was riding around on my Boris bike looking for an empty docking station each morning/evening. I finally took the plunge and bought this one. I'm only a few weeks in but I’m very happy with the bike. Although it feels like riding a child's bike at first the lightweight but sturdy frame does the job well and I’m now folding and unfolding like a pro! I would certainly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ken47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Excellent bike, love my new Brompton

PostedMay 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I brought the Brompton S2L 2013 and I wish I had got the bike sooner, it’s a joy to ride and I was amazed how 2 speed gears work extremely well the settings are prefect. The build quality is great too; its durability and the folding and unfolding are effortless.
I use the Brompton for commuting and the ease of folding/unfolding, its small size when folded, light weight & ease to carry makes it great for commuting.
The only negative is the price but I will get it back after a year of not using the public transport so it will be money well spent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
connonorama

PostedApril 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've had a Brompton before, but this one is great. The flat handlebars and updated brake levers make it a much more enjoyable ride. Two gears is all you really need and I manage fine cycling 5 miles each way. I great commuter bike.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scaale
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Best option for Cities

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
It is perfect, rides smooth, easy and quick to fold and unfold.
The only detail I would suggest to work on is the weight reduction which is difficult to do maintaining the unbelievable cycling stability of this product that has a so small wheel.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brompton S2L Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clstorey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

perfect bike for the city

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
super fast folding, great handling on the road once you get used to it (10 mins max), light enough to easily carry on to the train/tube - not the cheapest but worth it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.