Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike

Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike

The key up grade to the M3L has been the replacement of the U bar with a riser bar which gives an upright ride, and excellent control. The Brompton M3L 2012 Folding Bike is the all-rounder in the range and remains the most popular Brompton, as much at home in the city as on a country lane, and with plenty of room for luggage at the front. The key M Type is the M3L (also available as M3L-X EV181400) - it is the classic Brompton, featuring a Brompton specific light weight Sturmey Archer 3-speed hub and all the fundamental advantages of the Brompton design.
Overall rating:
4.955 / 5
5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Review 1 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brbrblacksheep
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Fulham

Rides well, folds compact, looks fantastic.

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great bike, surprisingly fast and very easy to fold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclingSean
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Brilliant!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is a fantastic bike. After looking for a good folding commuting bike and looking at other brands I opted for the Brompton. I tried out the test model in the shop first and instantly fell in love with how nimble it is. It folds to a very small size and easily slides under my desk at work. None of the other brands of folding bikes could fold this small. Folding is easy and after a couple of goes you soon find yourself becoming quite fast at doing it. The 3 gears are fine for my commute which only has 3 hills to get over. If hills are something you may struggle with then I would suggest going for a model with more gears.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anastasia25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:St Paul's

Surprisingly sturdy and fast

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I got this Brompton bike in orange a few weeks ago to make my commute from south to north London a bit nicer. From the start I felt that it is the perfect bike for me because it's so light, easy to use, super quick to fold/unfold and perfect for taking on trains.
The speed surprised me - if you get going it can go pretty fast. Obviously it's slower than a road bike but for those who are not particularly into fast fast cycling on crazy London roads it's the perfect speed range. Very easy to switch gears as well, even when you stand still! That means you can have a head start at traffic lights on all the other cyclists who have to get going first before they can switch gears.
It's is still quite heavy if you are carrying it up and down stairs in folded state, so can be a bit difficult during peak hours. Also people may get upset if you try to squeeze into a packed train carriage during rush hour with the bike. It's important to time yourself to aim for less busy trains and know where exactly on the train is best to stand/stick your bike into when you board.
Overall it's a very enjoyable experience - both during the week for commuting and at the weekend for pleasure.
I would recommend orange because it makes you very visible on the road! and it's just a great summery colour.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Midgetip
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Victoria

Really great folds beautifully

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this to be able to fit in car easily and carry easily, it meets all my requirements, space saving in the car and rides very well too. Far better than I had anticipated. My friends are looking with envy and not doubt one or too will have a play and come along to see you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gohabsgo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

This bike is fantastic!!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I would highly recommend this bike to any commuters! It is so easy to get about and the way it folds up in less than a minute is truly fantastic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
e2ecr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tiny neat bike

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, folds quickly, space saver
Sadly this is the second Brompton I have now owned - first one was stolen - both AWESOME!
I purchased the M3L again as it does exactly what it says on the tin for commuting. It is very easy to fold up and unfold into a "full size bike". Racing for the train and getting onto a pack carriage is always easy - no sighs from other commuters when you put this bike on the train as it takes as much space as a standing person.
In the rain it handles beautifully and the mud guards work perfectly. I average about 55km a day on the Brompton and the ride is brilliant. Very fast from a standing start and corners smoothly.
A negative point would be the carrying of the folded bike for long periods and the weight. HOWEVER - if you spend more then you'll get a lighter frame. Plus in my opinion the Brompton was not built purely for carrying, although the way it folds does create a neat tiny bike to pick up. It is the best folding bike on the market. Build quality is the best by miles.
Highly recommended if you are planning on buying a folding bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jose77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Excellent service and bike

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The staff was very knowledgeable and advice us on the perfect bike, which turned out to be the right fit for me.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JBS66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

it's great

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to fold once you've done it a couple of times. Looks great, and a really good ride. Ratio of gears is excellent and you can really shift on it if you want to.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windsorrose
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Rathbone Place

This bike is amazing

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Don't buy cheaper version of a fold up don't buy anywhere else other than evans they have the best customer service fact! You won't be disappointed with this bike I love it! We live in a town house no garden shed and we store this under the kitchen table!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
over65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great bikes we bought two and we are very pleased

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike ride well, fold really small and so are easy to transport and store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stentiford
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Brilliantly engineered and very convenient.

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, british.
Cons: Heavy, weight heavier than expected but not an issue.
This bike is a joy to ride and has put the fun back in my cycling. Feel like a kid again on my first bike. It is also, to my eyes, a thing of engineering beauty. I bought it with the three gears and that has proved okay in the last few weeks. I can carry all my photographic gear in the 'C' bag and there is still plenty of space. Would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
caineo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

BROMPTON M3L

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable, just great
First of all I picked the orange coloured bike
The amount of people who said nice bike to me
They didnt know how easy it was to unfold and get cycling how light in weight it was and after cycling how easy to fold up and put in the boot of my car I.cycle around with a big grin on my face knowing I have the best folding bike one can buy .
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ceejay
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

love it!

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
bought for my wife who wanted a bike that she could put in the car.She absolutely loves it and likes to show off her prowess in assembling it in front of friends and work colleagues.A wonderful piece of equipment,both practical and beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Susie2bikes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Loving it!

PostedJune 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, great fun
I looked longingly at these for some time and then decided I was daft to wait any longer. And I was right to get on with it. It took no time at all to get used to the ride - and a good job because my first journey was in the rush hour in central London. After 10 days of commuting with it, it feels part of me and as much so as my hybrid. I've also learned how to carry it - I'm 5ft 3 (and not a woman who goes to the gym) but after a few days, the relevant muscles are now strong enough to cope easily and the day one bruises have faded. The easy-wheels are helpful and the bag block and bag essential for me. Great fun and, oddly, I feel part of a Brompton community too. I'm also quite proud to be a two bike person. How did that happen?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Amazing folding bike!!!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I just bought this bike 4 weeks ago and, after a few rides, I realized how fast it is in traffic, to fold it, to avoid obstacles - and it also takes little space at home. In flat surfaces and low climbings, you can't go wrong with this bike. Mine is orange, absolutely gorgeous!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spwm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Folding Bike Ever!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was using an entry level hybrid bike before this Brompton and I can say that the ride quality of Brompton is as good as a hybrid bike. I am used to 16 inch wheels and I think they don't cause a problem as long as you avoid pot holes!
It is high quality, perfectly designed and reliable bike. You can feel the quality and the perfect design as soon as you take it from the shop!
I am planning to buy the eazy wheels, C bag and the bag frame clip as my next step in Brompton world!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
csterhamdave

great test ride considering purchase

PostedApril 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Had a test ride to scope whether the brompton lived up to the hype! All in all very pleased, but the wheeks either side of the saddle were a bit in the way and the gear shifters take some getting used to. The brakes were surprisingly good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BoltonWanderer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Perfect ofr days out

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, fit in the mini
After a great deal of consideration we opted for what we considered to be the expensive option. We bought two of these to enjoy coast and countryside now that we're retired. We looked at other makes but were advised that we wouldn't be disappointed by Brompton.
They were right, the fold is simple and sticks together even under pressure. Both my wife and I, now retired, soon got the hang of it. Most importantly we like a mini adventure and with the rear seats down both bikes fitted a treat. One will fit without the parcel shelf, stood up, for single outings. My wife loves hers and we soon made friends on the prom at Lytham. Staff at Evans did a grear job in reassuring us they would be just right for what we needed. They were right. Thank you
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roo2609
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Pricey, but very special

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, very clever
I spent nearly twelve months researching a budget folding bike. I wanted a bike for short trips to the local shops, etc and occasional commutes to work but I wanted the convenience of a folding bike.
For a longtime, I was put off Brompton - I felt the design was perhaps a little traditional or old fashioned and being nearly double the price of an entry-level Dahon or Tern.
The more I researched into Brompton, the more I liked. It's British and it is very, very clever. I like the fact that many components are specially made for it and everything is retro-fit. So if you had a twenty year old Brompton, you could bring it up to 2013 spec. This is important to me because I'm hoping to be riding my Brompton for the next twenty years.
Bromptons are expensive (when compared to Dahons and Terns) but they fold smaller and they won't loose there value (secondhand Bromptons still fetch over £500+ on eBay). They are very well built.
I bought a white M3L. Evans found me one in four days rather than other independent retailers where delivery was 10 - 14 weeks. The upgrades for the 2013 spec are an improvement. My only real criticism is that I didn't test a bike and consider getting a different ratio on the gears. The standard ratio is good for a wide range of cycling. However, for city riding I would suggest having a lower ratio but then you are getting into a bespoke setup.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MichaelP
Northampton
 
Please wait while more information about MichaelP is loaded.
Additional information about MichaelP could not be loaded.
Outstanding Value for Money!
Posted May 23, 2013
I use mine every day to commute 7 miles each way, not too many Hills so 3 speed hub okay, however will up-grade to 8 speed SA before the summers out.
Bought myself a Carradice city bag for the front block, full it up every day, I think a bit of weight on the front end makes the ride even more stable,. Took mine on a business trip to Scotland last month, parked the car and rode to the station, popped it in its cover bag, up to Edinburgh on the train, and saved myself a £24 taxi fare.
If you invest in a Brompton and look after it you should not be disappointed! And by the way Evans Cycles are pretty good too!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Brompton M3L 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kilfane
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Nice Color, Light-weight and Smooth

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, smooth gear shift, great for overseas travelling
I live in Singapore and bought this home while in London. I managed to bring it along with me through 1 train ride and 3 flights before it arrived safely home with me. I must say it is very portable.
I rode it once in Ireland and once back here and both times it performed great. No problems with shifting the gears and does well with slopes with gentle incline. The wheels are sturdy and able to handle stones and bits and pieces of debris and twigs on the road. Overall the ride is smooth.
The B-bag is a must have if you intend to bring the Brompton overseas. Due to the fact that the Brompton is foldable, the ground staff at the airport have no qualms to treat it like any other piece of regular luggage. I paid 40 euros to transport it as sports equipment during 1 of my flight segment as the ground staff assured me that it will be handled with care and even told me to collect it from the odd-size baggage. And to my horror when I arrived at my destination it was slid off the regular luggage collection belt. The loud thud of my Brompton on the conveyor belt was almost like a dagger stabbing my heart. So please at least invest in a B-bag to transport your Brompton around. And also at home the B-bag doubles as a good dust-cover protection.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>