Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors

SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors

Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Review 1 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fletchy2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist

Good way to prevent frame wear

Posted03 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easily clip onto cables and have so far remained in place!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pastilli
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great cable protector

Posted11 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great cable protector, highly recommended. Tight fit on the cable and looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warlord
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

Posted23 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does their simpke job perfectly. They stay in place well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nevica
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality Product

Posted23 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
These frame protectors are supplied in high quality packaging. The protectors themselves work well without any lateral cable slippage but some rotational slippage which isn't a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nommie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value and easy to fit

Posted05 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought the black frame protectors to use with black cables and a matt black frame and they blend in well. They are easy to fit and give great protection in the areas where there is normally friction between the control cables and the frame. I have used patches in the past and these a far superior.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spwsec
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted04 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Product was as expected and service from Evans was fantastic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Player13
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

not cheap but they do the job

Posted07 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
It stops the outer cable from rubbing the paint off, as well as damping the sound while riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lycralad3953
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great alternative to stick on frame protectors.

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to use, just prise open with fingers and clip onto cables protecting your frame from cable rub. I bought the black version, which you can hardly see when clipped onto black cables.
Will be buying some more for my other bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VAN36
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Protect your frame color with this lightweight product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DracoBlaster
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

Posted08 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
I am 100% satisfied with the purchase. Recommend .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ghop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not fit for purpose

Posted06 August 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, not fit for purpose
I bought a packet of these - begrudgingly as I felt that they were far too expensive. When they arrived they did not fit more than half way around the diameter of the cable!
The item has been returned in favour of some insulating tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
S2RP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the package

Posted09 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: relatively expensive for 4 small pieces of rubber
Bought this to protect my new Cervelo from cable rub. Most of the cables are internally routed bar one. I used one on this section plus one more on one of the cables which comes over the stem (Cervelo thing) to protect the Garmin.
The red colour is a nice feature as it complements the other red stripes on the frame and nice on the black.
The protector however does not wrap all the way around the cable, so there is a tiny gap between the openings of the protector. Not a big issue but make sure you rotate as required so you get the full protection against your frame.
The rubber is also thicker/harder on each end. Too soon to say whether it will have an adverse effect on the frame. Rest of the protector is soft and sits nicely on the frame.
Also like most accessories in the bike industry, it is relatively expensive for what is essentially 4 bits of rubber.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.