Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cables or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors

SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors

Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
23 out of 24Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Review 1 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Almost perfect

Posted25 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: bigger please
Just a little narrow, can't quite wrap all the way around the cable, otherwise excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for protecting your frame

Posted08 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not a lot more to say, they do a pretty good job at stopping your frame getting scratches from cable rub. I have them on my road bike and mountain bike and they look better than the electrical tape I was using!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

works as they should

Posted06 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
excellent product as always from sram does what it says on the packet but sorry cant get too excited about frame protectors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but effective

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Does what it says on the tin. Protects both the outer cable and frame from rubbing damage which can slowly erode not only the finish of the frame, but the frame itself.
Split down one side and slightly hyperbolic in shape. These attach to the cables without fuss and follow the profile of the frame neatly.
Perhaps one downside of the split design is that they do not initially feel very secure on the cable. However with a little rotating and adjustment, they seem to adhere sufficiently. For extra security, a small dab of adhesive could be placed on the inner surface for extra durability.
Overall an excellent addition for prolonging the life of your frame and components. Just a shame they're no longer available in red!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product!!

Posted28 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This product is great for stopping your cables rubbing through the paint work on your bike. I would highly recommend these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Pricey but does the job

Posted22 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Easily snaps onto cables & looks good. No more cable rash but very little product for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good and subtle protectors

Posted19 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A little expensive I think but it fits the purpose. Easy to put on and adjust, it protects my frame and blend in nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do the job

Posted17 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These fit both 4mm gear & 5mm brake cables. Reasonable value when compared to comparable products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Protects your bike's paint from rubbing cables

Posted24 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Simple design that's easy to fit. Stays in place unlike similar items from other suppliers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great if not the cheapest solution to cable rub

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The SRAM outer cable frame protectors are an excellent investment to protect your frame from cable rub. Easy to fit and a neat looking product.
Only negative is that they are expensive for what you get, even though they are performing a useful role.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice product but overpriced

Posted11 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: do work, better than alternatives
Cons: Expensive
Nice way to protect your bike frame rather than have stick on frame protectors but found that they tend to turn round and fall off in use. Used a blob of glue to hold them in place.
They work but very expensive for 4 small rubber tubes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stops cable rub

Posted24 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Does what it says. Expensive for what they are but couldn't find alternative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist

Good way to prevent frame wear

Posted03 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easily clip onto cables and have so far remained in place!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great cable protector

Posted11 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great cable protector, highly recommended. Tight fit on the cable and looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

Posted23 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does their simpke job perfectly. They stay in place well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality Product

Posted23 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
These frame protectors are supplied in high quality packaging. The protectors themselves work well without any lateral cable slippage but some rotational slippage which isn't a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value and easy to fit

Posted05 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought the black frame protectors to use with black cables and a matt black frame and they blend in well. They are easy to fit and give great protection in the areas where there is normally friction between the control cables and the frame. I have used patches in the past and these a far superior.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted04 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Product was as expected and service from Evans was fantastic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

not cheap but they do the job

Posted07 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
It stops the outer cable from rubbing the paint off, as well as damping the sound while riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SRAM Outer Cable Frame Protectors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great alternative to stick on frame protectors.

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to use, just prise open with fingers and clip onto cables protecting your frame from cable rub. I bought the black version, which you can hardly see when clipped onto black cables.
Will be buying some more for my other bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>