Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike

Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike

Quality butted aluminium frames keep the weight low, The small-block style BMX tyres for mixed-terrain riding. The bikes all use twin chain-plates to avoid derailled chains and parents with greasy-hands. Rear-only gears keep it simpler for learning the basics. Rigid forks are lighter than often-ineffective suspension and let us create a better geometry for children the BB is as low as possible and theres less weight on the hands and a more confident steering feel. Brake levers are scaled right down and matched to midi-v brakes for a powerful brake action.
Overall rating:
4.944 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
George12345

Great bike

Posted04 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Overall a great bike and recommended. Red and white looks great in the flesh and better than web photos. The Islabike is better (we came from an Islabike and considered another) but not £125 better (after Evans 10% discount on list) . This bike is light enough, only maybe 1kg heavier than Islabike and is very well finished and looks great. If you don't care about the money then buy the Islabike, but this is better than anything else for £225 and we are very happy with it. Nothing i would fault it for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kitch29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Lightweight bike.....ideal for my autistic son!

Posted10 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
We had been previously looking at the Isla bike range, as we wanted a simple and lightweight bike......but found them a little expensive. The Pinnacle range is very similar & more of an ideal price, especially as I got a further 10% off through my work benefit scheme! The brightness & colour of the bike is fantastic too......very happy with our purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Herbert21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Best mainstream childrens bike available

Posted21 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought 2 of these for my twin sons 9th birthday presents as they had grown well out of their 18" bikes. I'd looked at the cheaper Halfords options and also Frog bikes too but settled on these as rate Pinnacle for making high quality, intelligently designed bikes.
They are simply fantastic. The design is spot on - lightweight, good geometry for growing children, no pointless extras like cheap suspension forks. The finish is amazing - they look brilliant in both the orange and the white and have a better paint job than my £1000 Specialized 29er. And for £250 I think represent superb value.
Can't recommend them enough and neither can Harry or Euan.
(Great service from Holborn as usual too)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stonesy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

perfect, light bike for a child.

Posted15 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for my daughter and although height wise she is not quite at the required height for a 24" bike she is able to ride this easily. The bike is very light making it easy for her to balance on it and it is very well made so hopefully we will get a good few years of riding out of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

lightweight, simple, enjoyable bike for kids

Posted14 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no kickstand
Compared to other bikes for kids, this is a really light one, which is so important for kids! Also the reasonable number of gears is convincing, too! Kids don't need more than that!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hlern
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfekt bike for kids

Posted01 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no mud guards
Fairly light for a kids bike. Good components. Great look too.
Only thing missing are mud guards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
waylaid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish, lightweight bike

Posted26 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: brake lever length
Wanted to get my daughter a new cycle that would be a step up from her heavy old bike. The red and white Aspen is very stylish and I couldn't believe how light it was when I collected it from the shop. My daughter finds the gears very easy to change and can now cycle uphill a lot easier. Wheels are a good width so suitable for on and off road.
The only slight quibble I have is that the brake levers are a little longer than the grips so get scratched easily if the bike is put down without care.
The bike is fairly expensive but with the light weight and build quality I'd say it is good value compared to the competition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NickWhe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great lightweight childrens bike

Posted16 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
There seem to be very few children's bikes on the market which emphasise light weight and simplicity, and strangely you have to pay more money for less unnecessary features (like 21 gears or suspension). The Aspen is a good option for £100 less than other suitable bikes we'd identified, and so far we (and more importantly our 8 year old daughter) are very happy with it. It is noticeably lighter than her old 20" bike, the brakes and gear shifter are easy to use and all the kit seems of good quality. It's a good looker too. Overall a great purchase, and the Evans staff were very helpful too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LAN123
Country:United Kingdom

Well made bike

Posted10 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
We bought this bicycle for our son's 10th birthday. The frame size is good for his height (140cm) - large enough for some growing room but not unwieldy and difficult to control. The fittings seem well-made and so far all is well with the bike. We are happy with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gangof5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Posted13 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
My Daughters first 'real' bike. A good looking a well built bike that I'm sure will last a number of years. Just enough gears to get a youngster used to them.
I'm also convinced this will last long enough to be passed down through my other two younger children.
10/10, very pleased with this purchase
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RSwt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Fantastic bike.

Posted31 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this for my 8 year old daughter.
She wanted the white and red version and it looks stunning in real life, really glossy finish and a deep red. Finished off with quality wheels and decent components.
She isn't the most confident rider so wanted a lightweight bike without a silly number of gears or the added weight of suspension. This bike fits the bill perfectly.
Can't speak highly of this bike enough. It looks and feels like it was built by cycling enthusiasts and not by accountants looking to save money (as often seems the case).
So basically if your child like the look of it go for it. It's worth spending the extra over a cheaper bike to buy this one and it's not worth spending the extra on the overly priced competition, you won't get better.
Only thing to mention is this bike is slightly smaller bike than some 24inch wheeled bikes so best to sit on one before purchasing. Of course this dose make it more suitable for smaller riders as well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Molly69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

Posted26 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After a lot of research decided that this was the right bike within a price range for our 8 year old. The bike is very good quality and light weight which has encouraged cycling. Confidence has been built due to this, and feel that we made the right decision compared to his friends bikes which are extremely heavy for children to ride. I am very please with excellent service.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Micmay12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love it!

Posted16 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
We bought this for our 11 year old daughter's second bike. Firstly, the delivery service was faultless - excellent communication and swift. The bike - compared to her last, is amazingly light, the 7 gears are very easy to use and are more than ample. We cycle a lot and we're extremely happy with this purchase. Worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
docrghj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good all rounder

Posted23 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought the bike for my 8 year olds brithday. Excellent build quality , light weight frame and easily managed gear change.
Would recommed as a good bridge between child and adult bikes, reasonable value for money with comparable bikes from other manufacturers.
Service and in store collection excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Lightweight

Posted27 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight bike easy to use gears. The low weight has allowed my child to jump up from 16" wheel and cope easily. Happy child
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Briatolmikee

Good bike to rival islabike.

Posted23 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was looking for some time for a 24" wheel bike for my quick growing 7 year old daughter. I was looking at Isla for sometime but Then found this and i'm very impressed. It ticks all the boxes as it Is lighter than kids mountain bikes from the big brands and the frame also sits lower so easier to get on/off. It has only 7 gears which are push button not twist so easy to use and no suspension which personally I don't think kids really need and doesn't really work as they are so small. Good bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ken07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Smart bike - clean, simple and classic!

Posted27 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Comparing this to the other 24" bikes available for the same price, you can get the chunky frame and front fork suspension. However, if you want a bike that is good looking, sleek & classical in appearance & stands out from the crowd this is the one!
Doesn't seem to have much that could go wrong on it either which is always a bonus for a kid's bike.
Love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pinnacle Aspen 6 Speed 24 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FlyingDutchman

Posted10 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
A really good and robust kids bike. Nice and simple, no suspension to go wrong, gears were easy to use. It's a matter of choice but I prefer cantilever brakes, much easier to set up/adjust. I had it delivered and it was really easy to put together too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.