Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Kids Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike

Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike

Quality butted aluminium frames keep the weight low, The small-block style BMX tyres for mixed-terrain riding. The bikes all use twin chain-plates to avoid derailled chains and parents with greasy-hands. Rear-only gears keep it simpler for learning the basics. Rigid forks are lighter than often-ineffective suspension and let us create a better geometry for children the BB is as low as possible and theres less weight on the hands and a more confident steering feel. Brake levers are scaled right down and matched to midi-v brakes for a powerful brake action.
Overall rating:
4.652 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
22 out of 23Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jpocally8343
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great all rounder

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought for my 6 year old, and although it was a 20" and possibly a bigger bike that he could cope with, his confidence in riding this bike made up for it. He really understood the gears, he loves it!!! best investment in a bike ! If possible, order in store, We ordered online receiving a damaged bike, having to go through the inconvenience of getting it exchanged, but the 2nd one was fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jay78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great lightweight bike with easy to use gears

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: could have more colour options
I bought this bike for my daughter. She chose it herself with some help off the Sales assistant. I would of normally gone for the suspension models but was kindly informed that this wasn't required because of the weight of my daughter. This helps because it keeps it nice and light which has certainly benefitted her when going up hills. This was the only bike in her size that had a thumb shift gear system, which now means she can change gears easily herself. Her previous bike had the grip shift which she could only do one way, so this was a must when choosing this bike.
Overall I am very pleased with this bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redshoes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
It was bought:Birmingham

Perfect for a budding cyclist

Posted21 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The staff in store were very helpful and had a lovely manner with my 8 year old son, who had his older sister, mum and granny in-tow (all of whom we're not very knowledgeable!). They arranged delivery, which was great as we received regular tracking updates and was delivered in the time frame specified. The bike itself looks great and was very easy to assembly. My son has found getting to grips with gears very easy and it is much loved. Only problem is I have to run a lot to keep up with him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orla
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First class bike

Posted07 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is excellent. I would recommend this bike to anybody. My daughter loves it. It is light and very well made. The quality is better than more well known makes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hfg33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This is just what every child dreams of!

Posted05 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great colour - not too gender specific
This is a great bike. Lightweight and easily manageable for a 5yr boy with heaps of enthusiasm despite still being below the recommended height (just had to remove the rear reflector to get the seat as low as possible) Happy parents as plenty of growing room and a pleasure to ride along side. Love the a fact the colours aren't too gender specific so it can easily be passed down to his sister (if he ever grows out of it)! Have fun if you join the gang!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Derek76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike!

Posted05 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My son loved this bike from Christmas day! It is quite light, looks great, with smooth gears and easy to reach brake levers...this is his first bike with both brakes activated from the handlebars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Naw33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike, designed for a child in mind.

Posted03 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The shop assistants were great and very helpful. I did all my research on all the top children's bikes and for the money this was far the best. 20inch wheels and a low seat for my daughter. Light weight and the gears are better than most with a push and pull lever.
Ordered online which arrived very quickly. Could not fault them or the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carol2014

Very good!

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My 7 years old son fell in love with it instantly, and whenever the weather is allowed, he always asks to go out for a ride, which has never happened before with his previous bike!
The only reason I gave 4 stars is because only after two days of the purchase, the chain came off, and I had to work hard to find out how to put it back. Although this is a common problem for bikes, it still bothered me for a while..
All in all a very good bike and I would recommend it to everyone! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HarryM6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great Bike!!!

Posted30 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Just bought this bike for my six year old. He has only just learned to ride without his stabilisers and I thought he was going to struggle with this bike due to the gears. We took him to centre parcs for his first ride and he took to t like a duck to water and absolutely no problem changing up and down through the gears.
Also looked a the Isla bike due to it light weight, but the Pinnacle is only approx. 1Kg heavier and £100 cheaper!
Great bike! No complaints!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JealousMum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Great Bike

Posted15 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
8 year old daughter loves her bike. It was well worth investing a little more for the quality, light frame, & easy to use gears. The shop adjusted the brakes so that she could reach and use them properly. She was riding the bike confidently within minutes. I wish I was small enought to ride it! I bought using click and collect, and the service in the shop when I got there was the best out of all the bike shops visited - so am very pleased that ultimately Evans then got my business!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gelatinousblob

Great bike

Posted27 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this for my daughter and I'm very pleased with it. She loves it and I think it has transformed her riding experience. It's a good fit for her - a 7 year old, and being much lighter than her old bike helps a lot.
Components are of decent quality.
In general I would still like to see the weight of kids bikes at this price come down further and the choice of wheels / tyres seems on the fat / heavy side for what a child will do on a bike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crism

Excellent kids bike

Posted12 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My little girl loves this bike. It's lightweight, looks good. Quality components. Really easy to use gears for my 6 year old. A proper bike for a proper young cyclist
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SNOOZZZZ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great rig

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for my son's 6th birthday and you can tell the difference from the steel versions out there. He took to it really well, & had sussed out the gears within a couple of days. He loves it and can peddle twice as far as his old heavy steel bike. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sam100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Excellent Bike, my 7yr old loves it

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Really pleased with this bike, nice and light in terms of a kids bike and it now takes some effort to keep up with my daughter. The fact that it has a lever type gear shift is also good as she finds this easier than the grip shift type.
Only one small issue, the bike in the shop was spec'ed a bit different on the website, as it only had a 6 speed cassette setup instead of the stated 7 speed, and the 7 speed cassette has a smaller low cog which would have been a bit better as she can spin out even on in the smallest cog.
Not a major issue, and she doesn't care!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woodsie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Fab, easy to handle first bike with gears

Posted27 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My daughter was promised this bike provided she could learn to ride her old one without stabilisers. so after a fairly stressful weekend (for us!) she did it and we went straight to our local Evans' shop. She rode straight out with a huge smile across her face! She picked it out online and with luck the bike was in the shop, we didn't need to order it.
It has made such a difference to her riding, the bike is light and easy for her to handle, she feels confident on it and zooms up hills now. we are just starting to introduce the gears to her now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
birdbrain
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Great lightweight children's bike

Posted18 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted a bike that I could easily lift on to a roof rack. The bike is very light and looks great.
My son finds the gears clear and easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PrimaOne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent first serious bike

Posted06 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a really good first serious bike for the child who has learned to ride but outgrown the toddler style bike. It's very light for a child's bike but sturdy enough for any knocks. There are gears for challenging hills and powerful brakes. It comes in unusual and very appealing colours. We got it out of the box and ten minutes later our daughter was riding it. She loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
acorr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Lovely bike

Posted16 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought (orange and white) for my 6 year old son who is tall for his age and he adores it!
Very well made and not ridiculously heavy either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HB11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good quality bike

Posted09 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, stoked!
I bought this bike for my daughter who had grown out of her 16" bike with no gears. I wanted to buy her as light a bike as possible as this makes it easier to handle and kids don't get so tired pedaling heavy steel and unnecessary suspension around. This means we can ride for longer with less moaning! From a simple weight perspective this was the lightest bike that I found. Most kids bikes come with front suspension which I feel just adds weight and they don't make much difference to the ride enjoyment at this stage.
Another main reason for buying this bike was that it had STI gear shifters which are so much easier for small hands. My daughter tried two friends bikes with grip shifts and she really struggled changing gears. For a first time on a geared bike this is easy for her and she loves it. Good range of gear differentiations and the top gear is sufficient for her to nearly keep up with big brother on a 26 gear bike.
Comfortable ride, well built and she loves the colours, she has the white and orange /gold (as she calls it)
I'd say it's value for money. It's Aluminum, so lighter and easier to handle. Good gear range and STI shifters (only bike I found with them). It's not as cheap as you can get but for the benefits and build I'd recommend this over bigger brands.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
HarryO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

9.7kg and no short reach levers

Posted20 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, no short reach levers
This bike weighs 9.7kgs so I do not consider it a light weight kids bicycle, it also could do with short reach levers for small hands, which it does not come with.
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
james99
 
Please wait while more information about james99 is loaded.
Additional information about james99 could not be loaded.
Bralke lever spec
Posted 21 June 2014
The levers are Tektro short-reach levers, designed for children's bikes.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Slvstr
 
Please wait while more information about Slvstr is loaded.
Additional information about Slvstr could not be loaded.
Posted 11 September 2013
if it is 9.7kg, it is easily one of the lightest off the shelf bikes for kids....
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
1 2 next>>