Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike

Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike

Quality butted aluminium frames keep the weight low, The small-block style BMX tyres for mixed-terrain riding. The bikes all use twin chain-plates to avoid derailled chains and parents with greasy-hands. Rear-only gears keep it simpler for learning the basics. Rigid forks are lighter than often-ineffective suspension and let us create a better geometry for children the BB is as low as possible and theres less weight on the hands and a more confident steering feel. Brake levers are scaled right down and matched to midi-v brakes for a powerful brake action.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SNOOZZZZ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great rig

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for my son's 6th birthday and you can tell the difference from the steel versions out there. He took to it really well, & had sussed out the gears within a couple of days. He loves it and can peddle twice as far as his old heavy steel bike. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sam100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Excellent Bike, my 7yr old loves it

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Really pleased with this bike, nice and light in terms of a kids bike and it now takes some effort to keep up with my daughter. The fact that it has a lever type gear shift is also good as she finds this easier than the grip shift type.
Only one small issue, the bike in the shop was spec'ed a bit different on the website, as it only had a 6 speed cassette setup instead of the stated 7 speed, and the 7 speed cassette has a smaller low cog which would have been a bit better as she can spin out even on in the smallest cog.
Not a major issue, and she doesn't care!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woodsie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Fab, easy to handle first bike with gears

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My daughter was promised this bike provided she could learn to ride her old one without stabilisers. so after a fairly stressful weekend (for us!) she did it and we went straight to our local Evans' shop. She rode straight out with a huge smile across her face! She picked it out online and with luck the bike was in the shop, we didn't need to order it.
It has made such a difference to her riding, the bike is light and easy for her to handle, she feels confident on it and zooms up hills now. we are just starting to introduce the gears to her now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
birdbrain
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Great lightweight children's bike

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted a bike that I could easily lift on to a roof rack. The bike is very light and looks great.
My son finds the gears clear and easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PrimaOne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent first serious bike

PostedMay 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a really good first serious bike for the child who has learned to ride but outgrown the toddler style bike. It's very light for a child's bike but sturdy enough for any knocks. There are gears for challenging hills and powerful brakes. It comes in unusual and very appealing colours. We got it out of the box and ten minutes later our daughter was riding it. She loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
acorr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Lovely bike

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought (orange and white) for my 6 year old son who is tall for his age and he adores it!
Very well made and not ridiculously heavy either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HB11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good quality bike

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, stoked!
I bought this bike for my daughter who had grown out of her 16" bike with no gears. I wanted to buy her as light a bike as possible as this makes it easier to handle and kids don't get so tired pedaling heavy steel and unnecessary suspension around. This means we can ride for longer with less moaning! From a simple weight perspective this was the lightest bike that I found. Most kids bikes come with front suspension which I feel just adds weight and they don't make much difference to the ride enjoyment at this stage.
Another main reason for buying this bike was that it had STI gear shifters which are so much easier for small hands. My daughter tried two friends bikes with grip shifts and she really struggled changing gears. For a first time on a geared bike this is easy for her and she loves it. Good range of gear differentiations and the top gear is sufficient for her to nearly keep up with big brother on a 26 gear bike.
Comfortable ride, well built and she loves the colours, she has the white and orange /gold (as she calls it)
I'd say it's value for money. It's Aluminum, so lighter and easier to handle. Good gear range and STI shifters (only bike I found with them). It's not as cheap as you can get but for the benefits and build I'd recommend this over bigger brands.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
HarryO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

9.7kg and no short reach levers

PostedJune 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, no short reach levers
This bike weighs 9.7kgs so I do not consider it a light weight kids bicycle, it also could do with short reach levers for small hands, which it does not come with.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
james99
 
Please wait while more information about james99 is loaded.
Additional information about james99 could not be loaded.
Bralke lever spec
Posted June 21, 2014
The levers are Tektro short-reach levers, designed for children's bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Slvstr
 
Please wait while more information about Slvstr is loaded.
Additional information about Slvstr could not be loaded.
Posted September 11, 2013
if it is 9.7kg, it is easily one of the lightest off the shelf bikes for kids....
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 9 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zoeli
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

wonderful bike

PostedJune 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
bought this bike for my 7 years old son and he is very enjoy to ride it . fresh color and super light weight, easy use gears as well, and most important is that the bike has been installed before delivery! love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality kids bike

PostedJune 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very pleased with this bike and glad that Pinnacle have started producing kids bikes again.
This is a very well made bike, it's got the same quality components and same quality frame production as the pinnacle adult bikes - it's just been shrunk in the wash. The bike is really light, especially compared to many other kids bikes out there that seem to be made with pig iron. While more expensive than some other kids bikes, the Ash provides great value for money in my opinion and I'm confident a bike of this quality will be suitable fit to hand down to my younger daughter in due course and will hold it's value when it comes time to sell.
The result of a light bike with good components is a very enjoyable ride for my daughter, she loves her 'Ash' and also loves the orange colour - this was her first 'non-pink' bike, so was a bit of a gamble but totally paid off.
I would highly recommend this bike to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pinnacle Ash 20 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sander5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Excellent bike for kids

PostedMay 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Making the change from my smaller bike without gears to this new one with 7 gears was without any problem.
It has great geometry and is very easy going. It is not too heavy but very robust. Gears work super.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.