Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Kids Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike

Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike

Pinnacle's simple aim with children's bikes is to make riding easy and fun. Our 16" bike uses a lightweight butted aluminium frame with aluminium rims to keep things light - for the smaller rider, or a carrying parent! Quality bearings in hubs, cranks and headset to give trouble-free use and make this a worthy hand-over to a younger brother or sister
Overall rating:
4.963 / 5
5
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 27Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crispos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Good size for our 5 year old, nice and light,

Posted02 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
We brought this bike for our 5 year old son who can already ride from our nearest store in Brighton. The brakes are amazing, ergonomically the bike is easy for him to control and because the frame is aluminium it is very manageable weight wise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Calico
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

Posted30 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I shopped long and hard for my sons next bike after numerous problems with his starter bike. While the koto was more money than I wanted to spend, I don't regret the purchase at all - it was worth every penny.
My son had struggled and never learned how to ride his 12" bike and as a result of the difficulties, now didn't want to learn. I wanted a bike that was light, good quality components and on which the geometry mirrored that of an adult bike - the koto ticked all the boxes and within 15 mins of getting on the bike, my son was off and cycling unassisted!!
First class service, advice and delivery from Evans made this a perfect purchase :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mosh1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Fantastic first proper bike

Posted28 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Within two days, after using a balance bike before, my five year old daughter was riding this bike without stablisers. Perfect size and dimensions for children, not just a scaled down ratio design of an adult bike. Absolutely brilliant, I am now looking forward to a summer cycling with my daughter; who even insisted that we bring the bike inside the house so she could see it. Birthday present and she loves it. Evans' staff (Maidstone) were excellent and well set up by the in-store mechanic (only niggle - a day late in being able to collect it). Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olirob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Norwich

Light, fast, and easily manoeuvrable.

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
My 5-year old loves this bike. She has learnt to ride unassisted in just a week or so. A really well thought out design with easy to reach brakes. It is lightweight and fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andre292
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Wonderful set up for my 5 year old

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Perfect weight and ergonomics for my 5 year old boy. Really well made and crafted bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreggioF
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Spitalfields

Really nice light straight forward kids' bike

Posted30 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: the orange colour - go the blue & white
We bought this in April 2015 for our 4 year old son and we're really pleased with it. The bike is really light compared to most kids' 16 inch bikes due to the alloy frame - it's only very slightly heavier than the Hoy we have. I think weight is a big factor in the ridability as a first bike.
The componentry is all excellent quality (largely consistent with the Hoy and other premium bikes such as the Islabikes), with things like the smaller break levers that kids can actually reach. It's a real cut above most of what's out there, without being as pricey as the Islabikes, etc.
We also liked the fact that it's just a straight forward well-built bike for kids - not a character-themed monstrosity. (We went the white and blue, which looks great - I really don't like the orange colour of the other option having seen it in person).
The frame design is slightly different to the Hoy 16" - the seat doesn't seem to go quite as low on the Pinnacle if your child is on the smaller end.
This is a great wee bike - well-made and good value for the price when compared against the alternatives. Would definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SpeedyGodzilla
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great kids bike

Posted15 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Aside from the very cool Maserati orange colour, our 5 yr old son is loving this big step up into grown up cycling with the new bike. It has a very sturdy feel to it and great chunky grown up brake handles. Very sturdy construction.
Stabilisers are still on for a while as he gets used to everything but they look to be very straight forward to remove and I had no trouble adjusting the heights of both of them so that his back wheel didn't get stuck on our wonky pavements.
Very happy all round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turnsey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Quality brakes

Posted10 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
My daughter is coming up 6 her previous bike was from argos which I paid around £90 for but it just proved to be too heavy it just sapped the energy out of her trying to pedal it due to the weight which was beginning to put her off cycling I purchased this one at Xmas for her and as soon as she got on it she was away.i feel it was well worth paying the extra as now she is enjoying cycling so much more.The service I recieved from Evans was 2nd to none as my work colleague advised me it would be ALL the staff at the preston branch could not do enough for us I would definately recommend Evans to anyone
Martin
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wigmorevet15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well designed bike. Great value.

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I spent a lot of time researching bikes which reflected quality, design and price, and Evans have succeeded with the Pinnacle Koto.
I'm an experienced cyclist, so my requirements were specific:
Low centre of gravity.
Lightweight.
Quality components.
Proper bearings in wheels, headset and bottom bracket.
Sensible frame dimensions, which allowed for rider growth.
Evans have cracked it!
All boxes ticked, well Done!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
krisb78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Well made and well thought out.

Posted19 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Very good kids' bike. It's well thought out and put together, with features that you would generally only find on a good quality adults' bike (mini v-brakes, a-headset stem, good tyres).
It's of a much higher standard than most other kids' bikes, on a par with the Islabikes brand. It's lightweight and a good fit with an alloy frame (as opposed to very heavy steel frames commonly found on kids' bikes).
It's not cheap but you get what you pay for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Excellent quality, light, perfect

Posted09 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this for my 5 year old daughter and the quality is excellent, much better than bikes only £20 cheaper.
it may be quite a bit to spend but its worth it and it will hopefully hold its value when she moves up again.
would definitely recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meurig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great, lightweight "proper" bike

Posted06 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My daughter had learned to ride on an standard big box retailer bike that was as pink as any girls bike could be. At 6 years old she wanted something a bit more like a "real" bike for Christmas.
Santa did his research and whilst the choice has increased dramatically for a decent quality bike for youngsters that won't be too heavy for them to pedal any distance, mostly you pay through the nose for them.
Then, after a visit to my local Evans cycle shop, initially to look at the "Hoy" equivalent to the Pinnacle Koto for my daughter I was drawn to the Koto. Almost the same weight as the How, much cheaper and great looking.
I thought about it for a day then ordered it online for pick up from my local shop.
On pickup it was fully built and safety checked and was wheeled over still in it's stabilizers.. I immediately had them removed. Seriously, get them a balance bike when young to enable them to ride straight away. Do away with Stabilizers altogether.
Christmas morning came and she was thrilled with the bike. Then the first ride proved the lightweight and good quality components at a decent price definitely make the Pinnacle Koto a bargain. At the moment it is down to £153 but we paid £180 and I don't think the higher price is a bad price given the quality of the bike itself.
Thrilled with the purchase and great service from Evans.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SEWeber
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

Fab first proper bike

Posted29 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Lovely lightweight little bike. Really well built and easy to ride. Bought this because I saw a girl riding it in the park and looked so easy to manage. Present for my girls 4th birthday. She has outgrown her balance bike and this looks perfect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Benmiestergener
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stunning Bike

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is fantastic, lightweight and very easy to ride - my 5 & 6 year old daughters love this bike - so good we have 2 of them (different colours). The quality of build is second to none - I wish these were around when I was a kid! So much better than the traditional glitzy bikes with baskets etc. Can't recommend this bike enough. I have recommended this bike to all my friends with children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woko27

Brilliant little bike

Posted20 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The picture doesn't do it justice. This is a very cool bike. It matches my sons long blonde hair!!!
Well built and the paint job is fantastic.
We also have a specialised Hotrock, the pinnacle is slightly longer than it.
Don't buy cheap bikes for your kids, this is worth every penny.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Lightweight Bike

Posted04 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Bought this bike for my son and its excellent. The bike is lightweight so not heavy for my son to handle. Some real thought put into this bike with the bottom bracket being low so creating a good riding position. Really is an excellent bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kargo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good bike and great service!

Posted21 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I was looking for a good quality first proper bike for my son and can't fault this one. Even though there are loads of cheaper bikes out there none are built to this spec. and all are much heavier which is a main concern for a small rider. The advice and service in Bristol was excellent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Earnie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Quality

Posted09 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought two of these bikes for my twins and the quality is fantastic. Worth paying the extra money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paul199
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike but disappointing service from Evans

Posted27 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
My daughter loves this bike. The pictures don't do it justice and it's very well made indeedL solidly put together (feels like it will last a long time) and very comfortable for her to ride.
However, we ordered this online and the 15mm flat spanner promised in the user guide was not supplied, and the stabilisers provided were not assembled. As I didn't have a flat spanner this left my daughter very disappointed for a couple of days until I could get to a bicycle shop .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pinnacle Koto 16 Inch Kids Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
trendypaul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Quality kids bike

Posted15 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Although it seems expensive compared to some of the cheaper offerings in some car based bike shops this bike feels like a proper bike. Sized to last a decent time, the components all seem to be of good quality and fitted well. Time will tell but my daughter is enjoying this, her first bike with pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>