Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit

FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit

Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Review 1 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pulling2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

spot on tool kit

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
It's ideal for any cyclist who works on their own bike. All do their jobs well and you get the decent case too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonDD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great Value

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a great toolkit for the money. I bought it to use while replacing my full drive train, no problems at all.
I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who uses their bike regularly and likes to do things themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Welshcyclist86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great starter set

Posted12 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Great set of tools for the home mechanic and plenty of scope to build from!
The only issue ive had is the pin on the chain tool has come loose, its still usable and ive had the set nearly a year and half.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
thebadger66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent basic kit

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, reasonable content
I'm no expert at maintenance but try to do the simple stuff to save time and a bit of money/hassle where possible.
Compared to buying individual tools which might cost £15+ each (like a chain whip) it made sense to get a fair few pieces for £55 for the longer term. Used so far for swapping in some new wheels / cassette, adjusting brakes, changing tyres, seat post. All fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dibs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

good basic kit

Posted17 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
just starting to try and look after my bikes myself and I have found this set to be the perfect tool kit. Good sturdy box and each piece held in securely.
I feel confident that the tools will match up to their task as the quality feel vey good
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
genesisfan1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good value for DIY mechanics

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Everything worked decent enough for me as I stripped my MTB and put it back together with a new group set. Spanners seemed a bit pathetic and dont think they will stand a true test of time, also no cable cutters meant I also needed to fork out for some park ones (which are excellent). All in all good quality for the money (especially when compared to other budget options i've used which have been shocking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SeaJones
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A decent entry level basic kit

Posted04 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I got this toolkit because buying the tools I was going to need individually for refurbing my old bike for a friend would prove very expensive. It's good in the main, and has some nice bits, like a long armed pedal spanner which was great for removing old, rusted on pedals.
The chain tool broke on it's first use, but I don't think this makes the kit not worth buying. Every other tool I've used from this kit has been great, and the chain tool is worth buying seperately.
Worth noting that I haven't approached Evans about the chain tool yet, but I expect that they'll be their usual helpful selves about it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maastopyorailij

Worth of money

Posted25 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: packaging
Product packaging was not superb, some parts fall of the case too easily, but still worth of money.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
abaconrunner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comprehensive range of tools

Posted30 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
All the tools you could ever want for home use. Might benefit from some basic instructions for the more complex items for the less competent of us, but good quality and neat storage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Home Mechanic 23 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TobiasE
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist

Great buy!

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Almost every tool you'll ever need...
Quite bulky case (optional).
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.