Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit

FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit

Overall rating:
4.087 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
19 out of 23Would you recommend this product to a friend?83%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Review 1 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worth the money covers all aparts

Posted11 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: n/a
Worth the money, the tools are of a high standard, the help guide covers how the tools are used or need to be used.
Would recommend to anyone else thinking of the kit and wanting to do self maintaence at home or whilst on tour etc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Has more than I need to service my bike.....

Posted09 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I wanted a concise set of tools that gave me collective value for my money. Tools that I could actually use without duplicating what I already had (which, other than a multi-tool) was very few)
This ticked my boxes...
Some of the toolkits I saw claimed huge numbers of 'tools' that constituted their Toolkit. 44 pieces? yes with the individual puncture repair patches I'd agree....What they offered also did not offer the quality I was seeking either.
I've already serviced my hubs & bearings (the reason why I bought it in the first place) and now I have some tools I am planning to change by BB in the next couple of weeks.
Already, I'm thinking about changing my Freewheel in Spring together after all of the winter riding not forgetting my Chain & Cassette.
So yes, I'm very happy with my purchase.
IMO a good starter set of tools, for what I paid £52 (on sale) I'm happy with the quantity & quality of the tools individually and collectively.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The alloy material is easily breakable

Posted04 January 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I used the chain rivet extractor once to remove the chain. The tool broke at the time of putting the chain back.
The other tools seem to have the same weak alloy. I had difficulties to remove the wheels of a bicycle rim 26 with the key number 15. The tool dusts, I had to use other tools (which were not in the kit).
I would not recommend the purchase of this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Good kit, with everything you need..

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
A good sturdy box that keeps everything in its place. It's got everything in it to service my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Superb starter kit

Posted06 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: heavyish
I bought this kit for a bicycle tour that I will be starting next year. We looked through a whole range of kits varying in cost, but decided on this one as it is so versatile, has everything you need in one cleverly designed kit, and all the tools are of good quality.
So far I have only used it in the garage for simple jobs but the tools have a ll worked magnificently. The true test of their quality will come when we set off for Africa next year and have to use these in the middle of nowhere. For now though, I shall test them as much as I can to expose any weaknesses. None so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Edinburgh

Everything you need

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This tool kit has everything you need for intermediate bike maintenance. The tools look great and all sit securely in the tool box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well Equipped

Posted27 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, versatile
This toolkit has a wide range of components to provide competent coverage across all aspects of bike maintainance. It's modular handle system offers the versatile and easy switching of tools, and all of the parts are arranged within the case in a helpful and neat way. It is finished by being in a rugged, compact case which has an ergonomic carrying handle. Certainly worth buying!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Very comprehensive selection of tools

Posted14 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Very comprehensive selection of tools for home maintenance, each with their own space in compact carry case. Well made .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect tool kit for an amature mechanic.

Posted15 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I picked up this tool kit when it was on sale and I haven't been disappointed, it offers great value to an amature bike mechanic like myself. The tools themselves seem well engineered and so far everything I have used has performed well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tools

Posted09 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This tool kit is just right for our Lands end John o goats ride . Good product at the right price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Really good tools for servicing your own bike

Posted17 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Really good and easy set of tools to use on your own bike.
Could do with an 11 speed chain splitter given that most cassettes are now 11 speed with the appropriate chains. This only minor though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

everything you need

Posted22 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great product in general, chain breaker broke though on first use sadly so be careful of the soft metal that holds links in place she using it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Useful starter kit

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, good starter
I was going change a cassette and needed a chain whip and lockring tool. It didn't cost much more to buy this whole set, so was a no brainer.
Useful tools, won't do everything you need to do with a bike but covers a good range of jobs. Not sure some items are needed but not a massive problem.
Anyone who is more serious about bike maintenance should probably get a better set.
Having said all that, would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and cheerful but does the job

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this tool set so that i could service everything on my bike such as replace the bearings in the wheels, change the bottom bracket etc. The tools managed the job quite well. The only criticism i can suggest is similar to the other reviews and that is that the cone spanners are a little weak and flex a little when tightening the cones. This can be avoided by applying gentle pressure and being careful to rotate the cone spanners if you detect a bit of flexion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Holland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great toolkit

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
bought this toolkit because it is versatile, has about every too i need for maintaining my bike and it is affordable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Its OK forhome repairs

Posted18 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: not suitable for constant use.
Not saying they''re the best quality, I use Snap on and various high quality tools at work, not in that class, but only use occasionally.
Used the BB tool and was stiff and got it off without bruising the nut, so fine. Everything else is OK.
If you're planning on being a bike mechanic save up for some Park tools, but this is fine for the odd job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

poor quality tools; they break easily

Posted11 May 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, all round garbage, better ways to waste money, breaks easily
I bought this set to do my own maintenance and needed to change my cassette to a new wheel. The chain whip broke everytime I attempted to take off the cassette of the old wheel. The only useful tool was the chain rivet tool which is need to fix the chain whip when the links go flying off...DO NOT BUY THIS CHEAP AND NASTY SET!!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything you need and more to maintain your bike

Posted20 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Neatly packaged with all the tools needed to self maintain any bike
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

There is a reason this is the cheapest 'advanced'

Posted21 November 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Disappointed, it will do for most routine maintenance and some more special jobs but you can get more elsewhere.
I am not happy with the finish for many tools spanners are rubbish and the swappable handles have flimsy connectors.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted28 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this for the office - it's got nearly everything you need, but could do with a 13mm spanner too
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>