Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit

FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit

Overall rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
12 out of 15Would you recommend this product to a friend?80%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Review 1 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect tool kit for an amature mechanic.

Posted15 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I picked up this tool kit when it was on sale and I haven't been disappointed, it offers great value to an amature bike mechanic like myself. The tools themselves seem well engineered and so far everything I have used has performed well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tools

Posted09 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This tool kit is just right for our Lands end John o goats ride . Good product at the right price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Really good tools for servicing your own bike

Posted17 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Really good and easy set of tools to use on your own bike.
Could do with an 11 speed chain splitter given that most cassettes are now 11 speed with the appropriate chains. This only minor though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

everything you need

Posted22 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great product in general, chain breaker broke though on first use sadly so be careful of the soft metal that holds links in place she using it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Useful starter kit

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, good starter
I was going change a cassette and needed a chain whip and lockring tool. It didn't cost much more to buy this whole set, so was a no brainer.
Useful tools, won't do everything you need to do with a bike but covers a good range of jobs. Not sure some items are needed but not a massive problem.
Anyone who is more serious about bike maintenance should probably get a better set.
Having said all that, would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and cheerful but does the job

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this tool set so that i could service everything on my bike such as replace the bearings in the wheels, change the bottom bracket etc. The tools managed the job quite well. The only criticism i can suggest is similar to the other reviews and that is that the cone spanners are a little weak and flex a little when tightening the cones. This can be avoided by applying gentle pressure and being careful to rotate the cone spanners if you detect a bit of flexion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Holland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great toolkit

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
bought this toolkit because it is versatile, has about every too i need for maintaining my bike and it is affordable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Its OK forhome repairs

Posted18 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: not suitable for constant use.
Not saying they''re the best quality, I use Snap on and various high quality tools at work, not in that class, but only use occasionally.
Used the BB tool and was stiff and got it off without bruising the nut, so fine. Everything else is OK.
If you're planning on being a bike mechanic save up for some Park tools, but this is fine for the odd job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

poor quality tools; they break easily

Posted11 May 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, all round garbage, better ways to waste money, breaks easily
I bought this set to do my own maintenance and needed to change my cassette to a new wheel. The chain whip broke everytime I attempted to take off the cassette of the old wheel. The only useful tool was the chain rivet tool which is need to fix the chain whip when the links go flying off...DO NOT BUY THIS CHEAP AND NASTY SET!!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything you need and more to maintain your bike

Posted20 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Neatly packaged with all the tools needed to self maintain any bike
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

There is a reason this is the cheapest 'advanced'

Posted21 November 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Disappointed, it will do for most routine maintenance and some more special jobs but you can get more elsewhere.
I am not happy with the finish for many tools spanners are rubbish and the swappable handles have flimsy connectors.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted28 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this for the office - it's got nearly everything you need, but could do with a 13mm spanner too
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

great item

Posted29 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
everything you need for your bike maintenance great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

Posted06 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy, Expensive
I bought this with the intention of fixing my other half's bike.
It contains nothing you need to fix the most common bike faults. Not only this, but the allen keys are a pain to get our of their holder and to put back in.
I resorted to smashing the keys out on the concrete to get them out. A blinding omission from this kit is an adjustable spanner.
The spanners supplied aren't small enough to get something as simple as a pannier onto a bike and the metal is so flimsy and thin that they're easy to break.
This kit is all style and no substance.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Advanced Mechanic 32 Piece Tool Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent and good value for money

Posted06 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I recommend this product for those who are just starting out in bicycle repairs like myself, and who is on a budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.