Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle

Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle

Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle
Review 1 for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnotherSmudger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Saddle, Great Price

PostedMay 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this for my Boardman Hybrid before our LEJOG run - I needed all the help I could get!
Did my first ever 100 mile run on it yesterday and I can still walk! I'm pleased I made the switch and feel it is a worthwhile upgrade from the standard item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hanksy01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy and well made

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought this saddle on the basis of reviews and awards it has received. It is undoubtedly a lot more comfortable than the factory fit on my Giant. Seems well made (but only a 150 miles old at time of this review) and superb value. Only reason gets four not five stars is that it hasn't completely blown me away as I thought I might be based on the reviews, that said you won't be disappointed....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
makko
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best saddle ever!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the most comfy saddle i've had so far, plus its cheap as chips!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LanceRomance
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

You wouldn't know it was there

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have 4 bikes three with charge saddles, 2x "Spoons" and 1x "Knife". All three have replaced a variety of big name saddles that cost the earth in the quest for a comfortable perch, and this brings me to what I like most about the "spoon" it is so understated that I forget it's there.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jnex26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Saddle

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
even if your into grinning and bearing it, just buy one of these saddles, they are comfortable on long and short hauls.
when fitting you really need to try out other positions this saddle had a slightly different profile to my old velo and needed adjusting in it's position.
Can't say must for longevity but at this price it was a steal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brad23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Relatively light, inexpensive and durable. Ticks all the boxes for the price.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wurzelino
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Better than this? You'll pay a lot more.

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: prone to scuffs etc.
The venerable Spoon has long been a favourite of magazine journos. I agree. I've got about a million of them. One on my racer, one on my tourer, one on my crosser, one on my MTB ... yes, I know I need another bike, don't I?
I've never had an issue with durability per se, as another reviewer has reported. Having said that, the thin covering will scuff if you lean it on a rough surface; and I've rubbed the logo off on my brown model. But, hey, this is not a dear piece of kit, people.
It has an upturned rear, so if you roadies prefer a dead flat perch this is not for you. The saddle has around 70mm of fore and aft adjustment on its cro mo rails.
Now, saddles are a fiercely individual choice. What's perfect for me might be a bag of nails for you, so I'm tentative about saying how comfy this seat is. All I can say is it's pretty much the best blend of comfort, support and light weight I've found ... at any price. I road from Cornwall to London on this saddle, and I commute on it every day, so I speak having racked up some serious mileage on it.
And best of all, Charge is a Somerset company!
So look, in summary: it's awesome but saddles are all about the individual. Try one - they ain't dear.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Charge 2013 Spoon Saddle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hankki
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shape, poor durability

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality, poor durability
I am very happy about the shape of the saddle, it fits my anatomy perfectly. Easy to get out of, too. I would happily recommend this based on the shape and functionality.
However, I am very, very unhappy with the durability. It took me two weeks' worth of easy riding (mainly commuting) ro rub through the cover layer (leather imitation) at the side of the saddle's nose, wearing only regular tights and over shorts from a quality brand. I did certainly not crash, that's for sure.
Overall, disappointed. With cover material improvement this would become my favorite seat based on the comfort and bang for buck.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.