Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cameras or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Contour Roam 2 Camera

Contour Roam 2 Camera

Whether snorkeling, snowboarding, or tearing up single track, the ContourROAM2 is ready for any adventure. It?s compatible with every Contour mount giving you unlimited angles. The 270 degree rotating lens means no matter where the camera is mounted, you?ll always get the perfect, level shot. The ContourROAM2 sheds bulk by working underwater without an extra case. Plus, you'll get the correct angle any time with the built-in laser level. To top it off, Contour hasbumped up the frames per second to 60 when shooting at 720p, meaning you can now get that smooth video quality you?ve come to expect from Contour cameras. This camera pairs well with the Contour Profile Mount (EV145875) and Contour Flat Rotating Mount (EV145873).
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Review 1 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MattJack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Great action Cam

Posted24 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'd recommend this camera as it is light, easy to mount and captures great footage.
Pros
- Great build quality
- Great quality video at 1080p
- Waterproof
- Can view footage on a TV or mobile phone without converting (Using USB/Micro SD slot)
Cons
- Water on lens from rain blurs image considerably
- Can't delete / amend footage without a PC
- No way to tell when the battery is fully charged, red light stays on
- StoryTeller software slows down the PC considerably
- LEDs showing battery power are not accurate and goes from Green to Red in a matter of minutes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pd77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use

Posted16 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This camera is excellent and the build quality is great. Plus contours web site is running again now so you can download the storyteller software to view your videos. The quality of the video footage is perfect in day light, but you can still make out car number plates if needed on the commute home on these dark nights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simmo22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent picture quality & features; a tad heavy

Posted09 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, picture quality (number plates easily readable), audio feedback (on/off), laser level, battery life, weatherproof
Cons: Heavy, noise reduction not great
Really pleased with this - I bought it as a replacement for a Muvi atom and it is far superior. I'm using it with the vented helmet mount for road cycling.
The attention to detail is good - it has all the features I wanted: you have audio feedback when you turn it on and off so you know what it's doing without having to look at it; and it has a laser level so that you can check alignment after you've put it on your helmet and put the helmet on your head. Battery life was another consideration and this is good.
It's a bit heavy - not ridiculously but it takes a bit of care to get the mount attached to your helmet securely. Noise reduction is not as good as the Muvi but it's fine.
Software is quite nice - you can easily extricate your videos from the camera; but it seems to only want to share 15 second clips. Location sharing is quite US-oriented. Short snippet of video at http://contour.com/stories/file0004--5436
Considering the price of this and its competitors I think it's reasonable value for money - you get what you pay for.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
secretag
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple no frills video camera

Posted07 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The HD Contour Roam 2 camera is a no frills straight forward video camera that you can take with anywhere for with just a switch on and off function. Pay more if you like to control the camera via smart phone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eyeflare

So easy to use

Posted19 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I'm using this for my commute mostly. Call me paranoid but after one taxi tried to undertake me in the bus lane at speed...! I felt I needed something to at least show some proof after I'm scraped off the road.
Good battery life, very good image quality even on low quality setting and at night.
Super easy to use with the big slider for on and off, so works well with gloved hands.
You'll need to buy the vented helmet mount as well though, as the options included aren't sturdy enough.
Not exactly cheap, but quality does seem to be very high.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rtty1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing product!

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The contour Roam 2 camera is amazing! It comes with a 4gb Micro SD card which on the lowest setting will get your 2hrs of recording! I record all my rides in the lowest setting, which is still very good; everything is clear.
The camera itself is very light and comes with a nice little bracket which just stick on the side of my helmet.
The camera chargers up every time you plug it in your PC and charges quite quickly too.
I would recommend you buy this product.. not very expensive and I would say better than a go pro.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DefWolf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smashing camera

Posted16 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
After receiving contour Roam 2 from Evanscycles, i gave it a test run to see the quality of the video before i was due to go skiing in France. Tbh i was pleased with the quality and also the built of the camera. Its feel light and solid. The switch button at top of camera is suitable for gloves. Some cameras have push button which is annoying if you wear ski gloves! So that's a big plus for me. But i lost it in the skiing accident which snapped the camera off its mount. and never to be seen again. It would be useful if there is some sort of device that would make the camera beep to show its location. I missed it badly cos of all the runs i've got on it. I would buy the camera again. No doubt about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orangemishy2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great design & great accessories

Posted30 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
easy to use, good quality videos and comes in a nice choice of colours. good range of accessories, very clever pole mount for winter sports, easy to use and rugged enough to take some (unintentional) abuse.
like the fact that the camera is waterproof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surfergal31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great camera, Excellent quality and easy to use

Posted26 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this camera after deciding whether to get the newer contour GPS HD and am glad i went for the cheaper option.
The quality of the footage is excellent wth good sound, i thought there may be alot of wind noise but it was barely noticeable.
Perfect for skiiers/snowboarders, swipe it across to turn it on, no need to take your gloves off and its recording.
I only had one problem which occured once where the screen was dirty so all my days footage came out with a splodge on it but thats my own fault for not cleaning it after stacking it head first!!!
Overall would definately recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
victorngr

Easy to use - great video quality

Posted26 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
First time using this camera, feel so easy to use. Just snap in to clip, and snap on the record button. Using my samsung s3 phone via usb cable, i can watch my recorded video and edit it...it's very simple. Also have use it in rain condition without no problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Best one on the market.

Posted13 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
So good thus cam, video quality is unreal! Design is beautiful, sleek and looks great! Would never have a go pro, iv put a clip of mine on YouTube using the contour roam2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGxTV81qq0k
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JessP90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product at excellent price!

Posted01 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This new camera from the contour range has provided endless amounts of fun....Would definatly recommend this product especially for those who love a good bargain :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ufcgsp1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted31 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, versatile
From Ireland...Great mobile camere with the possibility of time lapse, and the added standard tripod mount makes this possible, 60fps makes it great for slow motion, the new colour range makes it a nice touch, have the original contour which is still a great 1080p cam, but this one is much easier to use and will last longer as there is no stand by, it records when the button is slid forward after 2 secs, nice quality attachments aswell although they are sold seperately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Contour Roam 2 Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NeapsTatties
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Robust, effective, efficient

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, waterproof
Cons: setting changes on the hill needs multiple msds
Whilst lacking the refinements of the Contour 2+, this is more than up to the job for capturing heady exploits. A few quick suggestions:
- If your laptop struggles to play the video back, upgrade your Codecs as suggested by Contour support
-To change camera settings on the fly, carry additional micro SD cards, each one set to the format required. Note that removing a micro SD card needs long fingernails to push the card in so it pops out.
- Native footage is now in .MP4 format not .mov but can be loaded straight into an IPad with an apple camera kit and micro to SD card converter.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.