Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Road Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Gabbro 2 2013 Women's Road Bike

Pinnacle Gabbro 2 2013 Women's Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(3 reviews) 3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 3 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
3 out of 3(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Gabbro 2 2013 Women's Road Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Gabbro 2 2013 Women's Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BizSH
Country:United Kingdom
Gender:Female

Made me excited about cycling again

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good bike to transition into road bikes
I got this bike after doing a LOT of research about the right bike for me. I've been borrowing my mum's hybrid bike for a while, but the city I live in is very hilly and the bike I was borrowing was very heavy and difficult to cycle. I have a disability that affects my mobility and also means I have chronic fatigue and it's really important for me to build exercise into my daily routine and I wanted to have a bike that was easy to get out and about on instead of sitting gathering dust like my mum's was because it was so difficult to ride. I also knew I needed a bike that removed a lot of the physical and mental blocks that stopped me from getting on it in the first place, so I really had a lot of expectations for a new bike. I originally was looking at the Gabbro 3 but I don't think the differences between the two of these (for my purposes as a non-sportive cycler) were worth the £200 difference in price. I test rode this around the centre of town as I thought if I didn't feel comfortable on it in the environment I was least comfortable with (city centre/urban) it wasn't the right bike for me. I was also worried about the drop handlebars, as I thought that being so low down would be nerve-wracking.
However, the bike rides like a dream and the gears are all pitched at the right level for a mix of (steep) hills and flat road, so I don't feel I'd need more than the gears here. My mum's bike had 21 gears and I only ever used the top 3 as the rest were useless for the environment I was in, so definitely test ride any bike you're thinking of! Riding it also feels so much more natural to me and so fluid, in comparison to the more upright bike I was using before. This was a real surprise to me. However I know that everyone has a different riding style so trying out different postures / handlebars is a good idea until you find the one that feels most comfortable for you.
Main good points:
1) Incredibly lightweight, easy to carry and maneuver
2) Gears are easy to change while riding
3) Pedaling is easy and not at all stiff
4) Has all the right fittings for attaching racks etc. and has reflectors already attached on front, back and wheels.
5) Vain, I know, but it looks and feels great.
6) Foot straps mean you can get a lot more power from your pedal with little extra output.
7) Can really see a positive difference with a women-specific frame
Bad(ish) points: (or ones I had to get used to)
1) You need to have your hands on the top of the handlebars to change gear, but on the bottom to brake. You can only brake moderately when you have your hands around the gearing area, which can be a little stressful when you need to do a lot of fiddling with gearing and brakes.
2) I am still getting used to the footstraps, as when you stop at traffic lights you have to take your foot out then put it back in when you get going, which has been hard for me to get the hang of.
3) As with most ladies' bikes, even though the saddle is for women, I still had to get a gel pad as it was too uncomfortable on its own.
Those bad points can all be overcome, by changing the pedals or the gearing/handlebars if needs be. Overall, I would recommend this bike to anyone. Considering most entry-level road bikes that women's cycling websites recommend start at around £700, it's great value for money and wonderful to ride. I hardly ever cycled before but now ride every day and am a bit disappointed when I can't ride somewhere. My confidence has also vastly improved, but I think that's more to do with the large amount of research I did in finding the right bike for me. This is definitely it!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Gabbro 2 2013 Women's Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rose7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Fulham

Great bike

PostedMay 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my first road bike and it's brilliant! Fully recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Gabbro 2 2013 Women's Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyclistCommuter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Great first road bike so far!

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I've only had it for a few days but have loved it so far! It seems easy to ride for a first time road biker, light and seems like a pretty good deal. Not so sure that the white saddle and handle bars will stay white for long but look good at the moment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.