Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Road Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike

Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Herbie1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Excellent spec for the money

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Really comfortable position; smooth gear change; breaks excellent. Evans has certainly got this product right particularly in this price bracket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Squeezebox
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do not buy

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
This may be good spec on paper. However, be careful, the wheels in the spec sheet were not correct to those I recieved. It came with 16 spoke on the front and 20 on the rear. This type of wheel has its problems and you would do yourself a favour to make sure you are happy with these "boutique" stye wheels. Check the problems on the net before you buy the bike, and frankly I wouldnt !
All that glitters is not gold, this bike looks great....but I didnt keep it as its not really functional
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spider1010
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Smiles all round

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
My requirements were a road bike for my daily London commute to work and then fair weather weekend use and perhaps more. Upgrading from a Trek 7.5 Hybrid). I carry a laptop and clothes in each day so wanted a bike that could properly have panniers (so the frame has the attachments). I was comparing this to the Specialized Secteur Sport and for £50 more this bike far exceeds the spec of the Specialized. I hadn't heard of the Pinnacle brand before but on doing some research realised that they're Evans own brand, frames come from the same factory in Taiwan as majority of bikes and then assembled in Britain. All in all a great ride, panniers have fitted on ok for the commute and am looking forwards to covering some more miles on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outreachjoe
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great ride.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
What great value, joyous ride and all the better for having it with cycle to work scheme!
The 105 components are so smooth and though the hills in London are none existent when challenged in the rolling terrain of kent it performed admirably. Stiff and responsive it made a fat MAMIL feel like a fat MAMIL on a fast bike, but somehow it works...
The lurid colour is actually quite beautiful in the flesh, the subtle pearl finish is not rubbish as others may claim but actually quite lovely. One aesthetic point though is that the Pinnacle writing detracts from the package, just not classy enough.
I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hughesje
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

First bike for years

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought this bike to use in a one-off triathlon then to use for commuting afterwards. It was the first bike I bought for about 10 years so relied on advice of friends and colleagues who recommended this as a value bike with the best components when compared with bikes at similar prices.
Have had bike for about a month and so far am very happy with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pat1234567
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good value for money bike

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A well built and reliable bike that performs well and looks the part.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
siphotography
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Super slick ride....

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: the paint finish
I've been riding around London now for over 16 years commuting in and out of town, come rain, snow or shine.
I needed a new ride and came across this Pinnacle Dolomite 5 Racer after test riding a few brands in Evans.
As soon as I took it out on the road it felt super smooth and easy to ride. Really good riding position with some real nice little touches with components and quality finishing.
The only downside, if there is one is the paint finish. I really do love the non-gloss orange paint finish ( reminds me of a Mclaren road car) it's got a slight pearl to it, but it is a real pain to keep clean.
Riding everyday can get messy and trying to wipe it down just means you move one oily smeer to another part of the frame. It makes for long sessions of cleaning the frame. You have to make sure you're cleaning cloths are always super clean and free of oil/grease. otherwise you will be cursing and swearing a fair bit. If the paint finish could have had a semi-gloss or gloss like finish it would be so much easier.
Still a great looking bike and amazing ride. Well worth a test ride and purchase for being under the sub £1,000 mark!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
deanj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Light, comfortable all-rounder

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this as an all-round bike to use for commuting, weekend rides and sportives. I did a fair bit of research and the spec on the Dolomite 5 stacked up well compared to other bikes in this price range. Having ridden it for a few weeks now, it feels light but comfortable, the gears are smooth and the brakes are responsive. This is a very good value all-rounder.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Dolomite 5 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mw94
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really comfortable, great value for money and lightweight!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.