Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike

Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rallyeman

Great winter bike, good value.

Posted26 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Bought this bike, for winter training, my TimeTrial bike was getting hammered in this recent wet weather. It was actually cheaper to buy this bike than try and keep my TT maintained, and took advantage of the 0%, no brainer really.
I've now fitted mudguards, and I now keep dry too.
Much more comfortable than my TT, 3/4 hours in the saddle is not a problem. I'm a very happy biker ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Baz12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

great piece of kit for the money.

Posted30 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this bike for the winter months ahead.
Fitted mudguards and a different set of pedals and all is good, use the bike for travelling to and from work which is a 22 mile round trip
Very comfortable and is an ideal entry/winter bike
Highly recommend this bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
maltloaf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Lots of bang for my buck

Posted11 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I had £1200 to spend and walked into the Cheltenham store with every intention of spending it ! After walking up and down the rows of big names looking at the frames, feeling weights and balance of a few and checking spec levels, I kept coming back to the Dolomite 4. Equipment and frame quality were the same as bikes costing at least £200-300 more.
I had a very helpful assistant (Justin) who was more than happy to discuss my needs and fitted me properly to the bike. A test ride later and I was completely sold.
I picked the bike up on Saturday and have so far covered 80 miles. I'm completely loving it and I'm loving that I've paid sub £600 for something that would have cost me around £900 with a big brand name on.
The frame feels light and extremely willing without being too twitchy. It climbs very well and it's 9.5kg is a revelation after my 12kg Claud Butler.
Top top value for money and I felt like the people at Evans Cheltenham really cared about getting me something suitable for MY needs. Top marks
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
delcmgb22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

surprisingly good

Posted05 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Went to buy a dolomite 5 but sold out awaiting 2014 delivery couldn't wait so took the 4 instead and I'm very glad I did its a terrific bit of kit and has helped me improve my experience no end
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kate14

I am loving my bike.

Posted04 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable, light and easy to ride. This is my first road bike and is suiting me perfectly. It looks great and is a pleasure to ride. I have fitted mudguards and pannier rack and swapped the saddle for the women's model, all of which has worked well. We have just returned from a 100 mile devon coast to coast cycle ride where it performed well. The only drawback is that it comes with some fairly dubious tyres....I conclude this after several punctures. I'll be investing in some better quality ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gaz1969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value

Posted08 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this as a winter trainer. Not many bikes that compare for this price. SKS narrow mudguards fit and are secure and rattle free. I swapped the tyres over for some Continental Gatorskins 700x28c. Just enough clearance for these with the mudguards. I love the retro look with the leather look saddle and bar tape. The Tiagra works great and seems as good as the 105 on my racing bike. The bike is a comfortable ride for aluminium. Will easily be up to 50 mile plus training rides. Wheels are basic but at this price it's churlish to complain. Paint and frame finish is spot on. A few hundred spent on some lighter wheels and a carbon seat post and you'd end up with a very light and fast bike for a great price. Its weight, spec & mud guard clearances are what made me choose this. The fact it rides as well as it does is great. Wheels likely to need replacing first but rest if the kit will be really durable. Not much not to like at this price. Not paying pumped up prices for a big name on the downtube makes a lot if sense!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chaseman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

A well made, strong and good-looking bike

Posted25 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A well made bike, nicely finished in plain grey/silver and with good components at this price level e.g. Shimano Tiagra. Quite light and very responsive, acceleration is quick and gearchanges smooth and precise. As Evans "own brand" you get more bike for your money than others at this price level.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oldsailor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent value in its price range.

Posted17 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
From search of all your bikes in price range £650 to £900, I chose the Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2012 as best buy but found it sold out when it came to ordering. Although spec for 2013 model was slightly lower (gearset in particular), I had decided that Shimano Tiagra was the minimum acceptable and this bike met all other requirements. Very pleased with the results.
This is my first decent new bike for many years, chosen after giving up sailing dinghies and taking up biking again after many years, aided and abetted by my elder son who is a mountain bike enthusiast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tex21a
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike, but will need initial alterations

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: poor tyres, poor assembly
I bought this bike as a first road bike following two years of commuting back and forth to work on a 25 year old mountain bike. So in that sense I don't have great experience in terms of comparing it to other road bikes. I did however put a fair amount of thought into the purchase considering the price and read a lot of reviews before committing to purchase.
In essence I wanted a road bike that I could fit mudguards to and a pannier rack if necessary and the Pinnacle Dolomite certainly fits that bill. It is fairly light and the tiagra gears shift nicely. In general it has been pleasant to ride and has certainly improved my commute.
There are a couple of issues that are worth raising however. The tyres supplied (Kenda Kriteriums) are not up to scratch if you intend to use the bike on city roads. I'd had a puncture in both within 20 miles and quickly got rid of them for a pair of Continental Gatorskins. An additional cost I wasn't really anticipating. The pedals supplied are also not the best and I replaced them with a pair of Shimano M540's. I ordered the bike online and it also arrived in a fairly poor state. The brake blocks were loose, as were the gear cables so there was plenty of tinkering before it was anywhere near roadworthy.
The £100 of free accessories was a nice touch, but the SKS mudguards I ordered arrived without the metal brackets and the fittings. I therefore had to take them back to a shop. The computer I ordered also arrived in a poor state. The box had been opened and the parts were loose in a plastic bag.
So, all in all it is a good bike. Fine for commuting, as a winter trainer or even some light touring. But, the tyres aren't good and nor are the pedals. Evans also need to sort out their online assembly and delivery process!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Dolomite 4 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boggaboo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great first road bike

Posted06 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this as my first road bike, to be used for winter training and triathlons in the summer. Went for this as a good all rounder, and a decent price for a bike that includes the full tiagra gear set. Very pleased with it having racked up my first couple of hundred miles, so time for a review:
Wasn't sure about the 'gloss silver' finish when I ordered, but it actually looks brilliant - not so much glossy but almost looks like a stainless steel type finish. In fact I much prefer it to some of the gaudy colour combinations you get on some of the Fuji/Trek/Specialized's etc. A very smart looking bike with nothing but silver and black components - and the gloss finish makes it really easy to clean.
The weight is down under 9.5kgs, which is a revelation coming from a chunky old mountain bike. The frame feels sturdy, and gives a fairly smooth ride, no signs of any vibration or noise so far, so I think its a well built bike.
The gear changes with the tiagra are smooth, with the exception of the odd clunky change when climbing, generally effortless and smooth though.
I'm having a bit of an issue with the chain rubbing on the front derailluer when in the top gears, but from chatting with the staff at Evans, it seems its probably me being a bit of a rubbish newbie. I'll get it checked at the 6 week service, might just need a tweak.
Good comfy riding position, tyres and wheels seem quality (rode over some glass last week but no marks or damage to tyres at all), standard pedals are good for now, but might need changing at some point.
Only a couple of small gripes:
1. the space in the middle of the frame is actually very small. I bought the medium size, and its very tight to fit anything more than 1 bottle cage in. No room for me to fix my D-lock, and barely space for a second bottle cage (if I were to fit one). I can live with this, but worth noting.
2. At this price, the visible welds are a bit of a shame. I'm not that bothered about aesthetics, but it looks a tad cheap compared to other bikes in the price range.
On that subject - I had the deal including £100 free accessories, which made it really worthwhile for me as I needed a lot of kit, but not sure I'd pay the full £750 for this if that deal wasn't available. Especially when a bike like the Specialized Allez Sport is £725 for example. On the other hand though, I don't know how great the difference is between Sora and Tiagra in reality.
Full marks for the staff at Evans, good advice and service, and gave me a free bike fit when collecting. Overall very pleased with my purchase.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.