Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike

Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DavieGravy27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great commuter

Posted01 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was impressed by how light this bike was in the shop, and thought it was a quality bike at a good price.
I have used it every day for my journey to work and I am blown away by how fast it covers ground compared to my old MTB. I was a little concerned at first with only having 8 gears, but I have found it to be quite adequate, and not missed the front mech at all.
Overall, a good quality bike, fun to ride, and a bargain price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FatAds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Good hybrid bike for the price, sturdy & reliable

Posted25 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
I wanted a hybrid bike for a 5 mile work commute, didn't really know what I was looking for but I knew I didn't want a head-down road bike (spent 15 years MTB'ing so a roadie was a little too different). The staff were very good and respected my budget restrictions without pushing too much for a higher value sale, Zach was knowledgeable and helpful.
So far it has performed well, I am impressed with how fast and easy it is to keep the speed up, even uphill. I didn't know how much difference to expect between this and a MTB but it's another world. What would have been a grueling effort on the Hardrock is a relatively laid back ride on the Neon.
This is the base model I believe, so only has an 8 speed gearing, however the gears are set up well and it actually ends up being more than enough for a daily commute, I was pleasantly surprised - I only end up using gears 4 to 8, for a country lane ride up and over various hills and a railway bridge. Gear changes are quick and very smooth, almost feels like there's a clutch somewhere! Much smoother than the MTB I have, although maybe that needs a service...
Quick tyres, I've been on country lane paths with the usual Autumn debris of twigs, thorns etc and they have held up well, no punctures yet, and the V-brakes are more than enough for an office commuter. However if you're a serious cycling enthusiast I think you would want a higher spec model, but for a starter or a plain old commute it's a great budget bike that does the job better than I expected.
Cons; the saddle seems very hard, it's pretty harsh but could be because I'm not used to it I suppose. The ride is very hard too, but I assume that's just how a rigid framed bike with thin tyres is - Maybe I've been spoiled buy the fat tyres and suspension of a MTB. The ride just seems overly harsh on country lanes (which in the UK = potholes and cracks galore)
Apart from that - I would definitely recommend this bike if you're starting out commuting or taking weekend rides. Much easier on the road than a MTB, and a decent price too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Redparaman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Light and cuts a good pace.

Posted08 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased after years of not cycling. Used about town. Only short journeys. Good range of gears. I like the Matt finish and colour combo. It stands out. Light frame and cuts a good pace. Price was good and parts seem of a good quality. No complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Droidski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal commuting bike if you don't need many gears

Posted08 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I bought this about a month ago during the 20% off Pinnacle bikes promotion to replace my ageing Specialized HardRock with slick tyres that I had been using.
As I live in pan flat Peterborough I specifically wanted a single chainring setup and so far the gearing seems spot on; I haven't had to use the largest sprocket yet but it's there when the vicious fenland head winds call for it.
The bike is pretty light and responsive and I'm very happy with it so far. The only thing I'd change possibly is fit wider tyres for the winter but so far the 28mm rubber fitted hasn't let me down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
franklin
Country:France
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Simple and satisfies

Posted19 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The bike is ultra light, somewhere around 10kg. The gears are enough for a London commute. I do 5 miles each way and I have a couple of bridges where I definitely need the 1st gear. I rarely get to use the hardest gear.
Would give 5 star if it would be slightly cheaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jess11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted15 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Extremely pleased with this bike. Fantastically light weight which I wasn't expecting. It's a sleek design and very agile - well suited to city riding.
I made a slight alteration to the handlebars, cutting them down by about 6cm in width as they were quite wide.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kambuh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Light fast & simple

Posted08 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Nice bike, very light and comfortable to cycle everyday. Simple, minimal design does not attract thieves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Welshywolf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great for the price!

Posted08 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First time buyer since childhood. And I couldn't be more pleased with this purchase and the staff at Evans' Deansgate. Took it to Wales this weekend and had a great time cycling around the countryside.
Good value and looks fantastic!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jackie2700

Lightweight

Posted06 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: 8-speed, uncomfortable saddle
I like the look and weight of this bike. Have only ridden a few times now but seems suitable for my daily commute - particularly as the bike is so light. I am not a huge fan of the saddle as it seems a bit narrow and hard. The handlebars were a bit wide but Evans cut these down free of charge. Am wondering if 8-speeds are enough or if the Neon 2 at 16-speeds would have been better (although aesthetically, I am not a fine of the blue finish on the Neon 2).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Neon 1 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bingleyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Good value, light and responsive

Posted27 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I chose this because it seemed v good value. It may not have the greatest components but the simple eight speed gears have a good range and are fine for commuting in London. It is light and rides well, is responsive and its understated looks hoepfully will deter thieves
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.