Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs

Nuun Active Hydration Tabs

Nuun contains 720mg of sodium per litre of water, the right amount that research from the American College of Sports Medicine recommends for optimal hydration. Just drop a tab into water, wait 60 seconds and you have a light refreshing drink that stimulates the thirst mechanism to help you recover faster, be more alert and ready to face the day. And if you are thinking about your calorie intake, Nuun has no sugar, so by replacing a sports drink on your daily commute you will save over 50,000 calories - the equivalent of 7kg of fat - a year. Available in a variety of flavours, there are Nuun Active Hydration Tabs for every taste and at 50p a bottle it's a simple way to be healthier, enjoy your ride and stay on top of your day. Please note that Kona Cola and Lemon Tea flavours contain caffeine.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Review 1 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Narf92
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Fulham

Great for long distance rides

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very tasty, not too sweet and no sweet sticky taste in the back of the throat like some sports drinks. Much more portable than other hydration drinks which is why I carry it for longer rides. Also no sugar so can avoid the "sugar low" that often follows drinking standard sports drinks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very effective

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've tried various other lower cost hydration tablets and always come back to these
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
marinmad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All good

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
theses are expensive compared to most but the quality is hopefully better and come highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morvy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Tasty

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Have used NUUN tablets for several years now and really like all the flavours. Used them recently during a 24 hr MTB event and they kept me hydrated and free from cramp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoadMTB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Tastes Great No Cramps!

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The taste is good, no cramps or excessive dry mouth even after a long ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bodders205
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Stops cramp

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I am a fit cyclist but suffer from cramp sometimes after a stop to eat even when skiing, this seems to relieve the problem if you sweat heavily during periods of hard work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
deedee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Not too sure of the taste

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to use and easy to store but not too sure on the overall taste. Tried several flavours but still not sure on this make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poorhorseowner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to drink non acidic product

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I've been using these for a good few months as I suffer from acid reflux and these are around ph neutral so don't make me like vomit like most elecrolyte drinks. Definately superb for short rides, although I prefer Torq's vanilla for longer rides where I need calorie intake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GingeP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Delicious and effective.

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
These tablets are very good, I have been using them since I have been trying to lose weight.
If you want to effectively hydrate without taking on a lot of calories they are ideal. They have also been effective at preventing cramp.
On the flavour - these particular ones are grape, the flavour is like the purple american grape - concord grape I think.
It is not to everyone's taste but I like it, they are obviously not as sweet as a normal grape flavoured drink but it is pleasant.
They certainly taste a lot better than normal rehydration sachets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nunowoolmez
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tasty hydration

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: good taste
Bought the Kona cola & Strawberry lemonade flavours & was pleasantly suprised! Wasn't sure what to expect at all, so it was a relief to find the flavours were very tasty. Just pop a couple in a 750ml or just 1 in a 500ml & you are in business, fully hydrated for an hour or more. If it is just hydration you are after, these are just the ticket, if it is hydration & carbs, then these are not for you, they are hydration only. The little tube is perfect for jersey pockets, or you can just take a some out & put in a self seal bag & pop them in a saddle bag like i do, sorted!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective refreshment

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
A big part of serious cycling is putting up with discomfort but, while I'm suffering my way over the Cols (ahem...), I like my food and drink to be pain free. I like almost all of the Nuun flavours I've tried (the Strawberry Lemonade is a bit sickly in my opinion). It makes a nice change from plain water - its sugar free and non-sticky - so it lets me keep track of my food/sugar intake and doesn't need rinsing away with pure water afterwards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RoelofK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good taste, rehydrates well

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, effective
First time I've used this, and will definitely use it again. It rehydrates well, and tastes good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dwightb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good taste, helped in heat

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these for the Etape du Tour this summer. I found they tasted decent, and were gentle on the stomach. Seemed to help with the heat too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jova54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good taste, refreshing,

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this product to help with hydration during training for a 60 mile bike and the ride itself.
The taste of the resulting mix is very palatable and encourages more hydration compared with other products that can be a bit bitter or bland.
The mix is very refreshing and helped renew essential minerals to reduce the on-set of cramping and muscle fatique.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LB44
Country:United Kingdom

Good taste

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good flavour and less sugary than the average sports drink - a good alternative
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tom2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Taste very different from other NUNN

PostedApril 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Been using these for a while, never tried the berry flavour, very surprising and make an nice addition to mix it up a bit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enzo123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great in cycle recovery

PostedApril 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This product really works, I feel fresh even after 50 miles!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nuun Active Hydration Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, effective
You tend to pay for what you get in this world and this is true with Nuun Hydration products. More expensive than High 5 Zero (litre for litre) but I found Nuun significantly more effective in hot climates or on long rides.
Some say Nuun tastes like chemicals. Any rehydrant is going to taste a little odd, but I found Nuun paletable even on 5-6 hour rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.