Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Derailleurs & Mechs or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur

Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur

All-alloy construction leads to lower weight without compromising strength and durability. Four fluorine-coated link pin bushings make this one of the slickest shifting derailleurs on the trails. High rigidity wide outer link braces the pulley body to increase pivot joint rigidity resulting in a crisp shift. Strong return spring for a positive shifting feel. Durable sealed bearing pulleys.
Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Review 1 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
martinana23
Country:Macedonia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A worthy Investment

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I've always been a fan of Shimano components but was never really able to afford the high quality stuff that they make. This XT mech manages to bridge the gap nicely between the high end XTR and the lesser SLX at a very reasonable price.
Obviously the nicest attribute about this mech is the clutch system that is incorporated into it eliminating chain slap and keeping everything taught complete with an on/off switch for when it is necessary. Shifting is smooth and the adjustments are easily made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pharmapez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

awesome mech for even greater price

Posted06 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
bought as replacement for my second bike great quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JPcapel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Good value compared with XTR, works just as well

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Purchased this to replace an XTR shadow + rear mech.
Works just as well, feels far better value when compared to XTR price.
Option of silver or black to best compliment finishing kit on your bike.
Can't fault it, works fine.
Would say the Shimano clutch mechs aren't as quiet as the equiavelent SRAM offerings, having ridden both. You get a little bit more drivechain noise from Shimano.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ffoeg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super smooth

Posted10 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, it works
I bought this for a 1x10 conversion, and promptly replaced the side plate with a OneUp RAD cage for use with a (OneUp) 42t sprocket.
The clutch mechanism greatly reduces chain slap when going over rough ground, so much so that I've never dropped the chain despite not using a chain device with a narrow/wide chainring
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spud78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

This can take on Hard trails and still deliver

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Smooth Gear change when you need it. I would recommend the product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BlackyJNR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps chain on, but does cause a bit of drag

Posted30 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My first clutch rear mech. I bust up the first one and mangled it which does make me dubious about it durability, however the replacement works well so far and keeps the chain on with my narrow wide very well.
It does drag a little when pedalling but other than that seems a good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
millerme
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

super quality item

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
super item very happy and a good smooth gear change
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iggy64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted10 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Top derailleur, works perfectly and keeps the chain in place when it's lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SamE
Country:United Kingdom

XT Is just amazing!!

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Having purchased the entire XT M785 2x10 setup including XT Brakes I've got to say that the quick, smooth and responsive gear change is just superb! Coupled with the unclutered look of my handlebars with the i spec B system has completely changed my bike on singletrack!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nigle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Quality product.

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The clutch mechanism works very well with a retainer chain ring, tested out in a two hour mtb race which was very muddy. It shifted very well over a 1 x 10 set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kona82

excellent as always

Posted22 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
had the old xt derailleur barely needed any adjustment or maintenance and so far this has been the same, snappy positive changes, no chainslap apart from the rockiest of descents. further confirmed ill always use shimano
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Groves337
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great Derailleur and easy to set up

Posted04 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to install and set up, smooth tunning and the clutch system eliminates chain slap so when fly down a rock garden theres no expensive sounding noise!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ahron75
Country:Mexico
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent upgrade

Posted20 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Outstanding, clean and quiet shift. Great price, looks and the clutch system works like a peach
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pimansuki
Country:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Very good value

Posted10 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These days the XT derailleurs are great value. Near XTR quality at a lot better price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Johnsav
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Shimano are back at the top

Posted11 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
After using SRAM for the last couple of years I've noticed their quality drop off. Recently had an almost new X9 mech fail so thought I'd give Shimano a try again.
It seems they've upped their game and are back on top. The XT mech is faultless and shifts perfectly so far. Time will tell regarding durability but for now its working lovely. The clutch system seems to work well too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
unityjon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

nice build but looks cheap

Posted08 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: looks cheap
bought this to replace a short cage Zee mech, this XT medium cage mech is very plastic looking after the aluminum details of the Zee, it performs well though and so far no issues although I'm aware it may not be as robust as the Zee its replacing, smooth shifting and easy to keep clean, hopefully i wont bash it on any rocks !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano XT M786 2013 10 Speed Shadow + Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperT
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic derailleur

Posted01 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Excellent piece of machinery.
Evans cycles had best price around
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.