Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Genesis Day 01 Alfine 8 2013 Cyclocross Bike

Genesis Day 01 Alfine 8 2013 Cyclocross Bike

Genesis is very much a rider's brand. Everyone who is involved with this brand rides bikes and they're an important part of their lifestyles. For Genesis people, cycling is about freedom and escape, it's about slowing down and noticing the world that's going on around you, and it's also about good times with friends and happy memories.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(2 reviews) 2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 2 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
2 out of 2(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Genesis Day 01 Alfine 8 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Review 1 for Genesis Day 01 Alfine 8 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclocrosser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Get to the places where 23c tyres won't get you to

Posted12 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
This isn't a bike for the fient hearted - it's robust, solid, bomb proof but also light (for all its bits and steel) and quick. I also have a carbon road bike but often am reluctant to use it in the colder weather, and of course stick to the road on it. But with this I can have more trail freedom and surface choice and get to places where £2000 carbon and 23c tyres just can't get me too.
It's not cheap, but you get a lot for your money.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Genesis Day 01 Alfine 8 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mick39
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Superb all rounder

Posted06 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, beats mtb on singletrack
Having purchased this bike about 3 weeks or 200 miles ago, I have now got to know it pretty well. I use it mainly for commuting by the river and canal and is much quicker than my old fully rigid mtb, over 3 mins quicker so far for a 9 mile commute.
Fit and finish are exceptional, attention to detail is brilliant, fully encased gear and brake cables, full eyes for mudguards/rack etc
The BB5 brakes are brilliant, after reading some very mixed reviews, I find them excellent for what I need them to do.
Now the alfine 8. The only IGH i have used was on my Raleigh Chopper some 28 years ago but the Alfine is massively different and so much better, smooth changes, silent geartrain, straight chainline- beuatiful.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.