Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Road Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for BMC Granfondo GF02 105 Compact 2013 Road Bike

BMC Granfondo GF02 105 Compact 2013 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(4 reviews) 4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 4 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4 out of 4(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for BMC Granfondo GF02 105 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Review 1 for BMC Granfondo GF02 105 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BSD123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Great Bike!!

PostedMay 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: medium weight
Very nimble bike. Having owned a Boardman in the past, I was pleasantly suprised how well the bike rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for BMC Granfondo GF02 105 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Great First Road Bike

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first road bke, after doing the Ride London 100 on my Hybrid, which I bought with commuting in mind a few years ago, but found myself riding in more and more sportives and going out more regularly at the weekend.
It was a bit wierd test riding the road bikes as they all felt alien to me, however, after taking this one for a spin several times, I took the plunge and bought it.
I don't have much to compare it with as I have not ridden road bikes previously, but compared to my Hybrid, it's light, has great exelleration, corners like a dream and is so much more comfortable than I expected. It's stiff where it needs to be and comfortable over some of the more uneven road surfaces, due to it's clever frame design. The Shimano 205 set is much smoother than I'm used to and I find going down hill so much faster and a lot more fun!
I am loving this bike at the moment and would strongly recomend it to anyone who is looking to put in some long miles or regular sportives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BMC Granfondo GF02 105 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Longworth64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great bike

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: 11-32 cassette
This is a lovely bike, its great to ride, comfortable, light and responsive. The compact chainset gives a range of gears ideal for sportive riding. I did however change the cassette, the one that came with the bike was 11-32 and went up in two teeth steps. I swapped it for a 11-25, which has a closer ratio yet still has a good enough range of gears. That's a minor point and small price to pay as I cannot fault anything else. Would highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BMC Granfondo GF02 105 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stillgoing
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

DOES WHAT IT SAYS, IMPRESSIVE

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, light enough
Previously I have riden mostly steel race bikes which I love. I am used to the comfort, poise and reliability of steel. I have been injured and I am easing back into long steady rides. Curtesy of Evans (Sheffield) I test rode a modern steel bike (at an equialent price) alongside this machine. I choose the GF02. I was surprised I was so impressed.
The aluminium frame equals steel for comfort but it is lighter and puts the power down far better, so in a (brief) sprint I went further and faster. The real pleasure (for me) is taking the GF02 a good distance on Britains worst road surfaces. Its comfort is remarkable and it really does transfer all my (minimal) leg power to the rear wheel. At the risk of repeating Evans' blurb, the GF02 feels very rigid laterally but exceptionaly compliant and smooth going up and down (the bumps), if you follow me. I have happily riden almost in the gutter as the need arises, so confident am I of the smooth ride.
The 105 kit is excellent.
This bike continues to surpass my expectations and brings a broad smile to my face every time I ride it. However it does have one drawback, it is not quick or punchy in steering around things and diving down a pothole causes resounding LOUD twangs. But since I'm not mixing it with traffic anymore I don't really notice this aspect of the changed geometry.
To finish, this is a very very nice bike for getting round, and back with minimal discomfort.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.