Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Echelon II Helmet

Specialized Echelon II Helmet

Overall rating:
4.705 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 156 reviews
5 Stars
111
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
155 out of 156(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Review 1 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Echelon II - Good looking and comfortable helmet

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having had a few incidents on the road I never ride without a helmet. I got the yellow Echelon II which looks fabulous and feels very comfortable. The straps are really easy to use and due to the Y splitter they do not need fiddly adjustment for the ears. I also like the hi-vis reflectors and the hi-viz strap material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NG28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

great commuting accessory

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive, cannot adjust straps
Flouro anything is a good idea in London and this really stands out. My football size head means I needed a large which makes it a very mushroom like helmet but it is comfortable. only con is that the position of the chinstrap cannot be adjusted fore & aft (so that it sits on your jaw) so you should try before buying tio ensure you're happy with the fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
dotboy0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Great Helmet!

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I would recommend this helmet as its comfortable and fits perfectly around the head. I picked this helmet as it was one of the smaller looking ones and it was good value. Would recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Chryssa7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Comfortable, good value, trustworthy helmet

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Feels comfortable, not too warm, not too heavy. The only thing that is a bit uncomfortable is the straps, they lack padding (but one can buy this extra) and so they are bit uncomfortable if tightly secured. Other than that it looks and feels nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
55north
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light and visible

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Fits nicely, sits low on head. Hi visibility. The Y under the ear is fixed, it fits me and makes straps less fiddly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YoungChris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect helmet.

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
One of the best priced & best looking helmets available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
faulks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Beautifully snug fit for a comfortable ride

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having never worn Specialized before I'm really impressed with the fit and weight of the Echelon II helmet. Tried on lots of others that were considerably more expensive but this is by far the best fit and weight for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Symba21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great colour and comfort

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this helmet as the bright yellow would be seen in any light and the comfort makes it worthwhile for longer rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redlamp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just felt right.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: reduced in sale by quite a lot a week after.
Wanted to up grade for a new helmet.
Tried several and narrowed it down to various makes and models those that don't cause a mushroom head.
The Echelon was the least expensive of the ones tried but the most comfortable. Even tried the next model up in the specialized range but that didn't feel just right.
I chose the Echelon II based on it had the features I wanted i.e light weight, seemingly good ventilation but most importantly it was the most comfortable and the best fit compared to other more expensive helmets.
Been using it now for over 150 miles still very happy. can not comment on crash test results.
Comfortable fit, light, good ventilation and looks smart.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
78aircooled
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good lid, good price

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
A decent helmet for the price. Not as 'good looking' as some others. I guess it's what matters to you. It looks good enough and protects my hair ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Chris1990
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great Helmet

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
A great fitting helmet
Well ventilated and resonably priced
Easy to adjust to fit
Took me a few rides to get the fitting just right
.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cupquack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Small head approved

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This helmet is tough and fits even the smallest of heads. The adjustible band at the back is most useful for a tighter and more comfortable fit. The high-vis colour is also a plus - no helmet cover needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Dubber31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet at a great price!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this to replace my specialized Max helmet as I have a big head but didn't realise quite how big the Max was!!
Much sleeker design that the more expensive Propero in my opinion and fairly light for a cheaper helmet. Would highly recommend!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CrankTurner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Lightweight, comfortable and well designed.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
My 59cm head was within range of both medium and large sizes so I went to the Manchester Chill Factore store and tried on both sizes. Although the cradle of both fitted me well, the shell of the large size was clearly too big so I bought the medium, which I'm really pleased with. I got the hi-viz yellow as I commute to work most days. The helmet is light and well ventilated, and the inside is well padded. The dial allows you to quickly adjust the cradle to fit your head and the chin strap is also easily adjustable, with the side straps fitted snugly under my ears. I would recommend this helmet to anyone wanting a decent helmet for a reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Adagiophil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Good helmet, fits well with easy adjustments

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
A great fitting helmet that is well ventilated and came in at a great price compared to its rivals.....
The straps are simple to adjust and do not get in the way.
Once it is set on my head there is no movement during my rides and stays comfortable throughout.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Wrighty82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Lightweight and comfortable

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I found the helmet very comfortable and lightweight I barely notice that I am wearing it whilst riding great helmet for the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jamesd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Replacement helmet after bike accident. Great fit, good value for money and really useful having the high viz yellow colour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robtefc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very Nice Fitting Helmet

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good fit, very comfortable and ventilation is top notch. Easily adjustable when fitting and also nice and light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sleeveroller
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Comfortable helmet

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Glad I paid a little extra to get the helmet with different sizes rather than one of the cheaper one size fits all ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Echelon II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Raymonda
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

A great upgrade to the original Echelon helmet

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, very high-viz
Cons: not enough adjustment of the straps
After owning the original Echelon helmet in grey for several years without incident and being perfectly happy with it. I decided that since I wanted a High-Viz lid for commuting I would go for a tried and tested model.
It must be stated that this is marginally better as it has a slightly higher front, which looks sleeker without compromising protection.
On the downside the straps are not as adjustable as they were, but I noticed this on several helmets I looked at. Having a very small head you do notice the difference and it can be trickier to get a perfect fit.
However it still feels secure once set up properly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>