Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Echelon Helmet

Specialized Echelon Helmet

Overall rating:
4.716 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 127 reviews
5 Stars
92
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
126 out of 127(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Review 1 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TORR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Decent for the price

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This helmet is ok for the price, but it is heavier than the old helmet that it replaced, and the ventilation is not as good as I would expect. Whilst it has lots of ventilation slots they don't give as much as you would expect as the slots taper as they get closer to your head, so there isn't as much as you'd expect. I find that standing at traffic lights I start to overheat, and you really need to be moving to get it cooling.
The straps are comfortable though, and the cradle that sits on your head is also comfortable and easy to adjust. I have the neon yellow helmet for my commute and it really does stand out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JarJarBinks
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Helmet

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After searching for a safe helmet, I chose Specialized because it ticked all the boxes in safety. Furthermore, I have a very large cranium and this is one of the few helmets out there that actually fits (and if your head is not that big you can tighten it to fit). Aesthetically it's really simple and smooth (and not looking like it's from an alien world like most cycling helmets).
Oh and it's light. Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LankyRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Simple and effective

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
First time I've bought a Specialized helmet; not sure if it is standard design or a development, however the fitting is far simpler than any other helmet I've tried; simply a pair of "Y" straps that sit over your ears in the usual fashion but only with adjustment at the chin strap clip.
No messing about with trying to balance the straps to fit properly, it just does, simply adjust the ratcheted dial on the back of the head band and you're away.
No messing with foam pads to adjust the fit to skull circumference either.
Air flow seems good although not used in anger yet.
Only adverse comment I might have is that the foam headband at the brow might prove to be a bit thin and could compress to nothing useful over time. Sweat bands stuck on with Velcro for ease of removal and washing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Evo1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lid

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
This is comfy and cool to wear when cycling highly recommend the product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
LundbergDK
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cheap but still good looking and very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
CymruRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Such a Difference

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I popped in to the Cardiff branch to pick up a web order and, as I have a weakness for buying stuff, purchased the Specialized Echalon helmet. My old helmet was ok, but I was finding that the more I cycled, the more I was overheating.
This helmet instantly improved airflow over my head, cooling me down as I rode.
I would definitely recommend this particular helmet, as it fits really well (big head!) and vents excellently.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tperry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

really comfortable

PostedMay 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
really comfortable light weight helmet that looks great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
aidydrum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Good Points Bad Points

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Product is superb. I have an 'oversized' head and the tightener system is more robust and comfortable than previous helmets. At £50 I thought it expensive on purchase, but have since softened my opinion given the quality of the product. The bad point is actually borne in the Brighton shop; I had booked a white finished helmet, which was actually taken off the shelf and put for collection (for when my bike arrived). When I came to collect my bike (2days later) I was told that I would have to order a white helmet as the one already booked had been sold. I ended up getting a red and white helmet, which admittedly is growing on me- but as I'm sure you can imagine- its not what I wanted!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JL11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Solid, comfortable and good fit - reasonable price

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Impromptu purchase of a new helmet (courtesy of tram tracks in Manchester bringing my previous helmet an early demise), so picked up Specialzed Echelon Helmet.
Great comfortable fit, good airflow and feels solid. Was on offer at the time too - would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JarnoSe
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very comfortable and fits nicely. Good ventilation. Easy to adjust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
FrankO22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Looks and feels the part.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As a 64+ year old returning to cycling I felt I needed this protection. The 'Echelon' feels good quality, fits well and isn't obtrusive in any way. Reasonably priced and, more importantly, I don't look like a mushroom ! Very happy with purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Superk25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Very good helmet!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great helmet light weight, looks great and fits great! Amazing value of money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Andygalv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Light and comfy

PostedMay 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A light and comfortable helmet, great airflow to keep my noggin cool while cycling. Hopefully I won't have to test how well it performs under impact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
badger40
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shaped well, fits well, comfortable, good price

PostedMay 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I always find specialized accesories are well made and this is no exception. Very comfy fit. Good padding. And well shapped. Not the usual mushroom head look. good choice for a helmet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mealir
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good quality and ventilation

PostedMay 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this for myself but found it heavy and somewhat uncomfortable. I was about to return it when my husband tried it on and loved it! So, I guess it's all about preference and previous experience (I used to have a Giro helmet and he used to have a Canyon helmet)... Overall I have to admit that the quality and ventilation is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
CrimsonEth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable Helmet

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Spent a while looking at helmets and trying them on, this one just seemed to have the edge on comfort. It fits perfectly and looks good. Unlike my other helmet this one is well ventilated and keeps my head nice and cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Sianmarie21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fab!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great hat for the price,Lightweight & Lets the air get to your head. Would recommend this to any riders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richard321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A wonderful lightweight,comfortable , sharp looking
helmet. Rode with it today for a 50 mile ride.
It was so comfortable that it felt like i wasn't wearing
a helmet. And i was impressed to find out that it
is a SNELL approved helmet. Alot of motorcycle
helmets aren't even SNELL approved. That I know
of only really good helmets are SNELL approved.
Very impressive for a bicycle helmet. This helmet
is a great value at a great price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
scooter749
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Good helmet at a unbeatable price

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
As iv come to expect from Specialized this helmet is brilliant. Relatively light, easily adjustable and looks good too. If you have to be colour coordinated there's some thing for all with a number of colour options. The Echelon my have a entry level price but has all the bells and whistles of a more expensive helmet. I can't recommend more strongly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Echelon Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BenTen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good helmet, good price.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
The only comparison I have is with my fox mtb helmet so may be a bit unfair to compare.
This helmet doesn't feel heavy on the head and I never feel too hot and stuffy like I do on my fox flux.
Great buy, looks alright. I always feel like helmets look huge on my head whereas looks good on other people.
Great helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>