Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Max XL Helmet

Specialized Max XL Helmet

Overall rating:
4.536 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
53 out of 56Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Review 1 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great product

Posted10 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Great price for entry level helmet, good fit and size. No complaints
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Excellent

Posted05 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent comfortable helmet, speedy delivery to shop - perfect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

At last, a helmet that fits!

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The helmet does what it says, it's designed for larger heads and fits mine really well; feels like I'm actually wearing a helmet and not something strapped to the top of my head. The fittings and straps are well made and much more comfortable than my previous helmet, and very affordable at £30. Quality from a good name.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable
Afraid I have a big head and this is plenty big enough, with enough room for a hat underneath when needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Light weight and comfy!

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this a few weeks ago and it's brilliant. Lightweight. Snug on my massive lemon doesn't give me any bother on the long rides!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It was bought:Online

Size matters!

Posted27 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Uncomfortable
Massive!
Returned and exchanged.
----------------------------------
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Excellent fit

Posted01 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I needed an extra large helmet due to having an extra large head. Recommended in-store but not in stock, so,ordered on-line to be delivered to store. Excellent fit and good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good helmet for Big heads!

Posted11 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
If you wear a helmet you want it to protect you, if the fit is poor then it will not do its job!
I have a large head and have always had trouble finding helmets that fitted me well, usually on the maximum adjustment but still sitting a little higher on my head than I would like. I knew this Specialized XL helmet would be different as soon as I put it on as it actually covered my head rather than sitting on it and with the excellent SX dial fit enough adjustment to get a winter skullcap underneath.
If you have a problem finding a helmet large enough to fit with some adjustment? Try this one.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great helmet

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great adjustable fit. Comfortable. Not much more to say!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Lightweight and comfy

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have worn this helmet for upto 3 hours at a time and never had any issues. Plenty of adjustment to make it fit just right. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large

Great fit

Posted13 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have a pretty big head and the helmet seems to be a perfect fit and it's comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great product at great price

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Straps are great in that they do not use the adjustable clips and use the buckle as the point of strap adjustment that most other helmets use. Well vented, light and great value at the price i paid for it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Snug, Light and Good mountain Bike Style

Posted10 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Been years since I had a bike and helmet and things have definitely changed for the best if you have a large head! The dial-in system works brilliantly and the product is light to wear and doesn't move about on your head. Yes it is quite bulky but I think quite stylish for a mountain bike rider! Great protection for the back of the head. Why pay more?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Immediately comfortable.

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
As soon as I put the helmet on, it felt just right, very comfortable. The webbing is secure but comfortable. A very good price too.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

too big

Posted15 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
I bought this online, when I got it I realised it was really big so took it to my nearest store in Guildford and they changed it for a different model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product - Fits small 56" up

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, good adjustable size range
This is a quality helmet, construction feels solid and the screw adjuster for head size doesn't feel flimsy like other helmets.
The strap feels secure and comfortable, as does the helmet on a whole.
Some reviews I've read suggest this helmet feels heavy after long rides, but I honestly have to say I haven't noticed it
With a smaller head than most it's been difficult to find a helmet (adult) that fits to 56" but this does so comfortably. (Though there's not much play so obviously near the limit)
I would definitely recommend this helmet to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Cheap and looks great

Posted26 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this along side a new bike and its really great. I've been out on some long rides so far and the helmet hasn't bothered me at all. It is comfortable, light and breathable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good protection for good value

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: visor comes off too easily
I've bought the Specialized Max helmet to replace an old Specialized helmet that had lasted me seven years of daily use. So far I am very happy with the Max helmet, which I chose over the Align model because I have a large head. I would recommend it to anyone.
The only thing I would flag up - and this was also a problem with my previous Specialized helmet - is that the visor is not attached to the helmet very strongly and tends to crack or simply snag on something and before you know it, it's gone. This doesn't affect the helmet or its protection, but if the visor is meant as an integral part of it, then Specialized should make them more robust, shouldn't they?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large

Strong

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
Although the helmet is quite big in shape, it certainly protects your head well. It was only £30 and is certainly a good cheap option. The ultimate test came from when i crashed an hour into my ride and hit my head on a rock. No damage to me and the helmet was fine still.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Max XL Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Can't argue with price

Posted18 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Got this a few weeks ago. Fortunately haven't had to put it to the real test but overall it seems like it will step up to the plate if need be.
Its quite light and airy and its great value for money.
I was a bit worried that ordering it online without trying it on beforehand that it either wouldn't fit my enormous head or worse still it would exaggerate it but to my relief it actually looks pretty good and fits like a glove!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>